We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Collaven Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Collaven Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Sourton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mid Glamorgan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is one amazing place. The building itself is just beautiful, set in stunning gardens. The greeting we received was so welcoming, the room (no. 2) was spacious with a lovely view. A lovely touch to have complimentary bottles of water in the room; don't know why more hotels don't do this. The evening meal was stunning, as was the service and being able to enjoy an after dinner drink in the lounge was so relaxing; I nearly didn't bother going to bed, the sofa was so comfortable! There is a separate bar which again is very welcoming. It is a very old building but all rooms are beautifully furnished. It's just a pity we were only there for the night, but fully intend to return (hopefully with a large cheque if I win the lottery so I can actually buy this place!). Breakfast was lovely, cooked fresh to order, plus cereals/fruit, etc brought to your table; no having to serve yourself anything. Service was prompt but everything was cooked to perfection. I cannot receommend this place highly enough. So convenient for visiting all parts of Devon & Cornwall. We had hired a boom trike from Okehampton (about 10 minutes away) from motorcycles2hire.co.uk which was so much fun and I would highly recommend both the company and the trike (although you need to be aware no hairspray is up to the job of keeping your hair in place on this machine!!). We had a blast both on the trike and at this gem of a hotel. Book it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebnMartMidGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
56
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is set in lovely grounds kept immaculately. Our room was well equipped with tea making facilities and bottled water. The bathroom had lovely white fluffy towels and the whole hotel was kept clean to a high standard. Although not a great selection on the dinner menu it was very well cooked and all the vegetables were home grown. The young waitress who served us was very friendly and did a grand job. The lounge and bar area were a bit dated and we did feel that we were imposing on their time having to ring a bell every time we wanted bar service. However it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HobbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Having discovered that most of the local B&Bs were already booked I tried the Collaven Manor Hotel. We were offered a very good deal for three nights dinner, bed and breakfast which was perfect as we hate wandering around looking for food having just settled into our accommodation. The room was large and comfortable, spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds. The food was varied and excellent. The service was very personal - the staff remembered our likes and dislikes from one meal to the next. This is rare. I think that Private Eye would describe it as "small but perfectly formed" ! We will certainly return when we want to be in that part of the world.

Room Tip: Can recommend Room 3 if you want twin beds and plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabra1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

After a disastrous start to our trip at a nearby B&B we found Collaven Manor. We were welcomed by the hosts and told our dog was welcome. Since this was a very late booking as we'd left the Knole Farm B&B after the owner went ballistic about something that waas entirely her fault and not ours, we were grateful for the warm welcome and the no hassels attitude. Our room was small but well formed with comfy beds and a beautiful outlook over the garden. We had dinner just down the road at a lovely inn then returned to Collaven and turned in for the night. What a lovely peaceful place. And a delicious breakfast, everyone smiling and beding over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. I recommend Collaven Manor to anyone wanting a relaxing night's sleep in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel may be small, but it feels spacious, and oozes the charm and quality of a baronial hall. The rooms were spotless and well-appointed and the public rooms pleasant and comfortable. The menu was varied and tempting, and the food quality excellent. We felt really welcomed by the owners and staff, and were able to relax in a peaceful location.

One regret: we didn't stay longer! But we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

no double bed 2 singles zipped together,uncomfortable nights sleep, I complained but no offer to change rooms or bed,but got email on my return home saying id be upgraded next time I return...no good to me now im home and would certainly not go back...rude hostess ,doors locked at 11 musky room however breakfast good ,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazdano7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne,Dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I can only agree with previous reviewers, this hotel is an absolute gem. It's situated very conveniently near the A30 but just far enough to be utterly peaceful and isolated from noise, with beautiful grounds and moorland views. The atmosphere is welcoming and tranquil, public rooms and bedrooms very comfortable, tastefully decorated and furnished, and the dinners and breakfasts are truly excellent.The owners are delightful, very friendly but in an unobtrusive way. We found Collaven Manor as an overnight stop on our way to and from Cornwall, but we can't wait to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We had rooms 2 & 3 both of which were very spacious with newly fitted bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tozandrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sourton
5.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
16.2 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
4.4 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#9 of 27 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collaven Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collaven Manor Hotel

Property: Collaven Manor Hotel
Address: Collaven Manor A386, Sourton EX20 4HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sourton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Collaven Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your Collaven Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collaven Manor Hotel Sourton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing