We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Collaven Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Sourton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My partner and I stayed Collaven for 3 nights a few weeks ago, and we couldn't have had a lovelier stay. We'd chosen the room to stay in after viewing the pictures on line, and it was even nicer than the picture showed. We had thought we would find local pubs to eat at in the evenings, however after eating in the hotel on our first night (at short notice to them after telling them we wouldn't be dining in) we decided to eat in for all 3 evenings of our stay. The food was delicious, all cooked in-house by Jane. A different menu each evening, but all with enough variety of meat, fish, and vegetarian food, for all courses. The best food I've had in a hotel ever. As this is a small hotel (just 8 guest rooms) and our stay was mid week outside of summer holidays, the dining room only had 1 or 2 other guests dining, which meant very little atmosphere, so not ideal for guests who want more than a quiet dinner. The background music was the perfect choice for such a setting, but could have been played slightly louder as we did find ourselves talking at almost a whisper so that the other diners wouldn't hear our conversations. The lights could also have been dimmed more, which we took the liberty to do ourselves one night! Prices weren't cheap, but the quality and taste of the food made it worth paying more than a local pub would possibly have cost. Breakfasts (included in the cost of the nights stay) were very good too, good portions and perfectly cooked. My only moan here would be about the coffee - filter coffee, which wasn't hot enough for the first cup from the pot we were given, let alone a second. Service from Jeff and Jane (who wasn't Jeff's wife but we think an employee) was first class at all times, very friendly and accommodating. The house was beatifully kept, and again the pictures online didn't do it justice, it was more charming than the picures showed. The room and bathroom were clean, spacious, and looked after. Excellent location for a base stay, we visited several other towns / villages over the 4 days (Bude, Clovelly, Dartmoor, Woolocombe plus others). Overall a wonderful stay, and highly recommended for couples wanting to stay in a country-house hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the stone wall and poster bed, was beautiful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londongirl745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
58
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had planed to go for a walking weekend on the Dartmoor with my boyfriend. We stayed in the collaven manor for 2 nights in room one which was very comfortable. We had amazing food especially the desserts and the cheese which my boyfriend still cant get over. There was great hospitality by the staff. Would definitely go back. We loved the gardens too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosettestunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lizard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

What a beautiful old building, the chap that welcomed us was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and superb hospitalty in the room. We only stayed one night but loved it. The breakfast was really very good. Was given directions to local pub for food, the Fox and Hounds and had a lovely meal. The only not nice thing about it was the breakfast waitress was not very friendly at all, gave the impression she did not really want us there and was quite stern, shame as we expect politeness and friendliness as a paying customer. But we had a giggle about her afterwards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shush42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Glamorgan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is one amazing place. The building itself is just beautiful, set in stunning gardens. The greeting we received was so welcoming, the room (no. 2) was spacious with a lovely view. A lovely touch to have complimentary bottles of water in the room; don't know why more hotels don't do this. The evening meal was stunning, as was the service and being able to enjoy an after dinner drink in the lounge was so relaxing; I nearly didn't bother going to bed, the sofa was so comfortable! There is a separate bar which again is very welcoming. It is a very old building but all rooms are beautifully furnished. It's just a pity we were only there for the night, but fully intend to return (hopefully with a large cheque if I win the lottery so I can actually buy this place!). Breakfast was lovely, cooked fresh to order, plus cereals/fruit, etc brought to your table; no having to serve yourself anything. Service was prompt but everything was cooked to perfection. I cannot receommend this place highly enough. So convenient for visiting all parts of Devon & Cornwall. We had hired a boom trike from Okehampton (about 10 minutes away) from motorcycles2hire.co.uk which was so much fun and I would highly recommend both the company and the trike (although you need to be aware no hairspray is up to the job of keeping your hair in place on this machine!!). We had a blast both on the trike and at this gem of a hotel. Book it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebnMartMidGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is set in lovely grounds kept immaculately. Our room was well equipped with tea making facilities and bottled water. The bathroom had lovely white fluffy towels and the whole hotel was kept clean to a high standard. Although not a great selection on the dinner menu it was very well cooked and all the vegetables were home grown. The young waitress who served us was very friendly and did a grand job. The lounge and bar area were a bit dated and we did feel that we were imposing on their time having to ring a bell every time we wanted bar service. However it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Having discovered that most of the local B&Bs were already booked I tried the Collaven Manor Hotel. We were offered a very good deal for three nights dinner, bed and breakfast which was perfect as we hate wandering around looking for food having just settled into our accommodation. The room was large and comfortable, spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds. The food was varied and excellent. The service was very personal - the staff remembered our likes and dislikes from one meal to the next. This is rare. I think that Private Eye would describe it as "small but perfectly formed" ! We will certainly return when we want to be in that part of the world.

Room Tip: Can recommend Room 3 if you want twin beds and plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabra1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After a disastrous start to our trip at a nearby B&B we found Collaven Manor. We were welcomed by the hosts and told our dog was welcome. Since this was a very late booking as we'd left the Knole Farm B&B after the owner went ballistic about something that waas entirely her fault and not ours, we were grateful for the warm welcome and the no hassels attitude. Our room was small but well formed with comfy beds and a beautiful outlook over the garden. We had dinner just down the road at a lovely inn then returned to Collaven and turned in for the night. What a lovely peaceful place. And a delicious breakfast, everyone smiling and beding over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. I recommend Collaven Manor to anyone wanting a relaxing night's sleep in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sourton
5.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
4.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lydford House Hotel
Lydford House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lydford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collaven Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collaven Manor Hotel

Property: Collaven Manor Hotel
Address: Collaven Manor A386, Sourton EX20 4HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sourton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Collaven Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Collaven Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collaven Manor Hotel Sourton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing