We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Appledore Barn - East Trayne Cottages living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Appledore Barn - East Trayne Cottages living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
South Molton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Himanshu...
Chertsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb accomodation”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay in Appledore Barn, East Trayne Holiday Cottages. The place is very nicely located in town of south molton which comes with best of both he worlds even though you are secluded from all the hustle bustle and traffic of the town at the same time, you are not far from the local Sainsburys for essentials (5mins drive) and other places of interest.

We were expecting the cottage to be descent based on the other reviews but the level of hospitality, warm service, attention to details and an effort to make sure that the personalised need of the customers are met to the fullest was beyond what we had seen so far. It was impeccable. Hats off to Richard and Adele Poole for providing such service.

The cottage was fully equipped and one won't need anything else to bring from home. The welcome back was very well thought of, comprising of basic essentials like bread, butter, milk, sausages, pork, jam, marmalade along with other local produce like plums, cherry tomatoes was very delicious and was devoured by all of us, especially the home made plum cake by Adele, a great gesture.

Even for days when one doesn't want to venture outside due to bad weather, there is enough on the cottage to entertain, be it free wifi, smart TV, collection of DVDs along with a DVD player, Board games and collection of books to read. In case one fancies cooking, the kitchen is also fully equipped with all your needs. It had it all.

The 11 acre of farm provided enough for our 2 kids to to roam around in the presence of sheep, lambs, pigs (Pinky & porky), Chicken and a very playful dog. Not to forget Zoro, one of the lambs. You always wake up to the beautiful site of open moors and big blue sky(when its not raining).

There are enough places of interest around it, Big Sheep, Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur park and near by Quince Honey Farm.

Its a 5 star review for the lovely couple who were always available at a call to make sure that you are happy with your stay. We cant recommend this place highly enough and would definitely be going again, hopefully in better weather.

A big well done to the owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you here and hope to welcome you back here soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgieha...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appledore Barn”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

If you’re thinking of booking Appledore Barn, think no longer! I stayed here with my Mum and children aged 11 & 8. Adele & Richard are very friendly & welcoming. The surroundings are gorgeous and peaceful. My children loved seeing the piggies everyday and we got to meet the tiny lambs which was a lovely treat. In the evenings we played board games and watched DVD’s with the cozy log burner on. The cottage is fantastic, we were so impressed with the high quality decor, you can see Adele & Richard have put their heart & soul into it. On arrival we had our welcome hamper and boy it’s the best hamper filled with homemade & West Country goods! The lemon drizzle cake was superb! Appledore barn is the perfect location to go off and explore north Devon and after a long day of venturing out we got home to Adele’s homemade cooking. I highly recommend the Eaton mess cheesecake! Thank you Adele it was the perfect stay & Stanley our pooch had the best time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L699CSchr...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great 'Minimoon'”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We were back for our second stay, this time for a few nights immediately after our wedding for a 'minimoon'. Once again we could not fault our stay. Adele and Richard were great hosts again, they left the fridge stocked with bubbles and local beers. They had left fresh eggs as well as sausage and bacon for breakfast. There was even a cake left for us.
Once again we would highly recommend any of the cottages at East Trayne Holiday Cottages.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thanks Chris - glad you both had a great time. Many congratulations again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonkarl...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Appledore cottage”
Reviewed 15 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Just back from an amazing weekend stay at this cottage, everything abput it was lovely the location, cottage, owners cant reccomend enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debevans3...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning cottage”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a fantastic week at Appledore Barn cottage, beautiful views and cottage itself would be hard to beat, everything was perfect and although the weather wasn't great all the time, the cottage was a beautiful and cozy base to come back to after exploring the gorgeous north Devon during the days. Adele & Richard were very kind and friendly and our children enjoyed meeting the animals on the farm and our dogs loved the freedom of the surrounding fields, would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you. Hope that we see you back here again..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preetigou...
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Classic and Cherishing”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It's one of the best stays we had in this year. We really loved the character of Appledore barn with its original walls and interior. We felt that Owners of this place put their heart and soul to refurbish this place to a very high standards keeping the original features of the barn. It's really luxurious and we were really spoilt with the complimentary basket of food and drinks. Adele's scrumptious lemon drizzle cake was a special touch for our stay. Our kids loved egg collection and scratching Pinky and Perky (special 4 legged porcine residents of the barn!). This place is serene and so special with amazing sights of fields and country side. It's a great British country side that anyone can imagine and we would love to go back there next year if Lemon cake is guaranteed once again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Hi Preeti, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you back next year and Lemon Cake will definitely be on the menu!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSFC76
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly owners, wonderview views, peaceful location”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Appledore Barn is a wonderful 'upside' down cottage. The accomodation has been arranged to make the most of the views and sunsets. Adele and Richard were very friendly and let us help move the sheep into a neighbouring field. The Welcome pack was exceptional. We also pre-ordered a BBQ pack which was amazing as Adele included loads of salads to go with it and a lovely Eton Mess Cheesecake! Little touches like mints/jelly beans in the bedrooms went above and beyond. We would stay again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you so much and we would be delighted for you to come back again. We might have got our shepherding sorted out by then!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing