We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best reception ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blackcock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Molton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blackcock Inn
Ranked #8 of 22 South Molton B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best reception ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Happened across the pub when we were looking for a campsite in early Jan this year. Ended up staying three nights as opposed to the one and then going home. Such a welcome and so accommodating. I will be going back there very soon and have recommended it to anyone that is a fan of North Devon without the inflated prices!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    12
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff and Tania are the best people I've ever come across, the food and company is amazing. If your ever in need they are always there to help. Very welcoming. Recommend to everyone!! Vibe at the pub is fantastic! Never disappointed with the service given.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a fantastic place this pub is , great food lovely atmosphere and friendly locals . Although this time we didn't actually stay we did eat and spent 3 great evenings at the pub !
The pub it's self was warm clean and inviting and there is a good campsite next door . We will defiantly be staying there on our next trip in may ! Book with confidence ......

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 143lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our local for a week while on holiday in the area, really friendly welcome from all the staff, lovely meals in the bar and great entertainment for our three year old in the games room, (skittles was his favourite). Would encourage anyone in the area to give it a try, you wont be dissapointed.
There is also a great looking play area outside which could be great for summer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank scott l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortehoe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Tania and the team made us feel very welcome for lunch today. The Black Cock Inn really should be listed in the Devon Fine Dining awards. We had the most fantastic slow cooked beef and fish and chips, truly outstanding - thank you Tania and Ryan, we thoroughly enjoyed and will be back soon - you are doing an amazing job :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieTidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Although we were the only couple on site , well it was 22nd November we had a warm welcome, the public House The Black Cock was brill , good food, great atmosphere and fantastic band on the Friday night, a young lad decided to serenade us Saturday night, he was brill , unexpectedly , well done young man.
The site had just been taken over so is a bit tired but I'm sure when we return in the summer it will have been redone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here last weekend having been recommended by the owners of the local shooting ground. Atmosphere in the pub itself wonderful, full of colourful local characters who were friendly and amusing. Coming to Exmoor is a unique experience, time stands still here, the surroundings remain unspoilt and if you enjoy the countryside there is nowhere quite like "gods own country".

The Black Cock team, all locals from what I gather with the lively landlady at the helm, could not do enough to ensure our stay was a comfortable one. There was a bit if a cold snap so we asked for the heating to be turned up a notch in our room which is was straight away with an apology for the chill.

The food was great, freshly cooked and plenty of it. Delivered by the charming Matthew with a smile. Breakfast was delicious. I'm not into bacon and eggs (my husband is) but asked for porridge (not on the menu) which was cooked just as I asked for it and they even managed to dig out an accompanying banana. Marvellous.

If you want urban chic and faceless service then don't bother with the Black Cock, in fact, don't bother with Exmoor full stop. But if you appreciate a lovely country pub with a good friendly welcome and excellent food then this is for you.

We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landlady747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Molton hotels
5.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 22 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.1 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 22 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sampson Barton Guest House
Sampson Barton Guest House
#2 of 22 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 22 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blindwell Bunkhouse
Blindwell Bunkhouse
#4 of 9 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackcock Inn

Property: The Blackcock Inn
Address: Molland, South Molton EX36 3NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blackcock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Blackcock Hotel South Molton
The Blackcock Inn South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing