We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northam House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Molton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northam House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 22 South Molton B&B and Inns
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked a two night stay at Northam House so that we could attend a Golden Wedding Celebration near South Molton. The room was lovely, had a really comfortable bed, two easy chairs, lovely bathroom & shower room. Our hosts were smashing people & just the way you want them to be - friendly & helpful. Breakfasts were delicious. South Molton has a lot to offer - the shops & market were great.
We would definitely stay again when we are in the area & thank you Isobel & Mike for a lovely break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Me and my husband had a wonderful stay, room and service were excellent and the owners were friendly . An excellent choice for breakfast with the comfort of an open fire in the colder months.The property really has some amazing features ..would definitely stay again its a real treat .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

scrupulous attention to details - fine sheets, comfy bed, interesting and idiosyncratic but tasteful decor, very clean indeed. Enjoyed their choice pieces of modern furniture and Isabel's [?] Mother's original paintings. Splendid huge luxy shower room. Hosts also interesting and idiosyncratic! Also very helpful indeed and flexible and they cook a fantastic breakfast which they let you eat in peace and relaxation. Great pride obviously taken to get things just right.

Room Tip: we had double on first floor looking onto East St, but not at all noisy. Didn't look at garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epicureanartisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Travelled to South Molton with husband and another couple for a friends wedding.
Welcomed by the lovely Mike and immediately it became obvious that nothing was too much trouble.
Shown to our lovely rooms - clean, tidy and most of all comfy!
The following morning we were treated to what can only be described as a scrumptious breakfast by Mike and Isobel.
Great people, lovely property, a pleasure to stay.
(Bo and Maggie are great dogs too!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boedaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just got back from a lovely two night stay at Northam House after attending a friends wedding. We have a very warm welcome from the hosts and their lovely dogs Maggie and Bo. This place is full of character and it felt like nothing was to much trouble. I spent time playing with both of the dogs and for me it makes the stay more pleasurable and they were right little characters.

Mike was very helpful it providing recomendations and pointing us all in the right direction for food and drink on the first evening. I got the impression that anything you required they would do their upmost to provide it for you.

We stayed in the double room with seperate bathroom. The bedroom was nice and the bed very very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities within the room, along with water and fresh milk. It was no hassle for us having the bathroom seperate, it was all of 6 steps away and a bathrobe was provided. Trust me it was worth it as the shower was to die for!

Breakfast was delicious both mornings we had a wide variety of cereal, toast, jam, maramalade, juice, coffee, tea, grapefruit and a hot breakfast to choose from. It was just what you needed to start the day off.

Highly recommend this B&B, it's well worth the money and will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

my mum had been here before last year and was keen to take me there.
the house and its hosts isabell and mike were so lovaly and frendly.we felt so welcome and part of there family.
the rooms were excellent ,breakfast brilliant with nothing being to much trouble ,so much so that mike even went to the trouble of making mum and i coddled eggs ,do try them they are lovaly
and isabells home made jam
all in all i would most certanly be going back .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pudding30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

After a very tiring days cycling the hills (mountains of Devon my greeting from Mike & Isabel could not have been warmer.
The accommodation is excellent and my room, bed and shower were spot on.
What made my stay extra special was that Mike was genuinely interested in my ride and helped me with some road tips for the next day, he also insisted on making me breakfast even though I was leaving much earlier than I could have reasonably expected any host do this.
The lovely Isabel said she would wrap me up "a piece cake" to take with me the following morning, she lied-she actually wrapped me "cake" enough to keep me going for the next two days! Would definitely stay here again, lovely genuinely friendly hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank strofiwimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Molton hotels
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 22 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 22 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sampson Barton Guest House
Sampson Barton Guest House
#2 of 22 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
6.5 mi away
Blindwell Bunkhouse
Blindwell Bunkhouse
#4 of 9 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 22 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northam House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northam House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Northam House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 115 East Street, South Molton EX36 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northam House is a small, family run bed and breakfast offering comfort in spacious rooms with character and charm. It's an architecturally interesting town house, listed and dating from the 17th century. South Molton is a busy market town. It was built up around the wool trade. There are buildings of historical interest dating from medieval times. The town is within easy reach of the North Devon coast and Exmoor. Isabel and Mike welcome you to their home for a relaxed Bed & Breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northam House Bed And Breakfast South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing