We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money.”
Review of The North Gate Inn

The North Gate Inn
Ranked #10 of 27 Restaurants in South Molton
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
devon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We called in here on Monday for lunch, it was brilliant, as always. We visit often as we know you get good service good food and good value. What more can one want! Lovely.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devonFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    27
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
st marys bay, romney marsh
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nearly walked out but!”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Upon entering we were promptly shown to a table by the manager and waited and waited to have our order taken. We were just about to get up and leave when the manager asked if we had had our order taken. A welcome apology from him and im glad we didnt leave. Carvery was excellent, tasty meat and a wide selection of veg, yorkshire, mini sausages and mini onions, all fresh, delicious and a rarerity, HOT.

Desert was also good and Value was excellent. We will be back!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollyarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Carvery”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Visited a couple of years ago & had a very good Sunday carvery so thought we would repeat the experience to see if it was as good. Yes it was! Choice of 3 meats, about 12 different veg (plus potatoes) & lovely little extras - honey/mustard chiploatas & something with tiny silverskin onions. Meat was a lovely flavour (I had turkey & pork) & all the veg was beautifully cooked - nothing was overcooked or soggy & it was all fresh. I have been to other places where the veg has clearly been sitting on the hotplate for hours on end, but this was fantastic (& it was 2.30 in the afternoon). Service is excellent & the staff are very friendly. Would definitely go more often if I lived closer!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roobear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable.”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Have been here a few times over the last year or so. Normally when, as a couple or a group we fancy a simple, well presented and top value meal in the evening, or am not in the mood to do my own roast on a sunday. The food is fresh, well cooked and of great portion size. I have had the gammon here a couple of times as an example, and it is always a well sourced good cut of meat. The carvary is unlike any ive seen. If you have just a small scoop of everything on offer, you will need two of the large plates you are given. and it is all good food, with lots of little extras like the honey mustard sausages, not just bowls of soggy veg like so many other places. If i was gonna stick the boot in anywhere, all i can say is the lay out, when it is busy becomes a little like foodhall/canteen ish, and as a result a little noisey. And you will always have a local farmer or two, who think they own the place.
The service is always prompt and efficiant, sometimes without a smile mind, and the bar well stocked. If your passing pop in for a great meal, or book for a carvary experiance of a lifetime.
I will add, the owner/matredee is a true gent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jasio1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surroundings and excellent food”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Restaurant first visited in summer 2007 first rate carvery pleasant atmosphere competitive priced meals.Visited again in June 2011 and was surprised to find the then chef was now the owner. Our meal was ordered from the very good and well priced menu, the staff were courteous and very attentive. Again the food was excellent and well presented,it made a very enjoyable break on our journey from Salisbury to Barnstaple.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Telstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The North Gate Inn also viewed

Filleigh, South Molton
South Molton, Devon
 
South Molton, Devon
South Molton, Devon
 

Been to The North Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing