We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real treat of a cottage to stay”
Barton House - Farm House Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barton House - Farm House Kitchen
Garden Room dining room 
ample space for 20 plus to sit and celibrate Outdoor Spa at Barton House overlooking the meadow and front lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Barton House - Farm House Kitchen
Garden Room dining room 
ample space for 20 plus to sit and celibrate
Outdoor Spa at Barton House overlooking the meadow and front lake
Barton House from the lake  (sleeps 8) all cottages within 100m of each other
Barton House Dining Room
Barton House Lounge.. 4 sofas big 42'' TV and with conservatory attached.
Cartwheel Cottage from the courtyard (Sleeps 4 plus 1)
Cartwheel Cottage Lounge and diner with original floorboards and fireplace and cosy wood burner
Cartwheel Cottage. Master bedroom
Grooms Lodge (Sleeps 4)
Canoeing on our front lake 
Sessions can be tailored to suite the group ..
Grooms Lodge. Master Bedroom
The Games room can be cleared for dancing and or seating
The Health Suite -Spa, Sauna  wet room with shower and toilet.
Expand the sleeping capacity with hiring one of our lovely bell tents in the orchard
Whitechapel - snuggled in the trees
Our Coarse lake - pristine Carp and tench fishing in a peaceful location
Whitechapel Cottages, North Devon
Visiting Cycling Weekly staff explore a lane near Tarr Steps on Exmoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
South Molton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
993mhk
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real treat of a cottage to stay”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We shared a short break pre Christmas holiday here with our daughter and family, who have holidayed here several times.
Cartwheel Cottage was delightful, so comfortable, with a log burner, that was so efficient, warm and easy..
A great location for walking, either locally around the cottage surroundings, or exploring the delights of Exmoor itself which is close by.
The cottage had everything provided, the birds and wildlife were a joy to see. We loved every minute of our short break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2016
Great to see you again ..and Happy New Year !
Look forward to seeing you again in the Near Future
Needless to say the Kids enjoyed the chocolate..thanks
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanthas...
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic Hen Party Retreat”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

All three cottages at Whitechapel, have a wonderful vibe, they are quirky, cosy, and have a loved and homely feel. The scenery is stunning, we were lucky to have autumn colours but every season will give a beautiful back ground.
Chris gave us a giggle on the lake in his canoes, he was charming and patient even though we were hopeless. He really was exceptionally helpful but also left us to it, you don't need a man hanging around a hen party after all!
The spa was a bit rustic but great as was the games barn, a little cold though. (It was October so can be forgiven)
Everyone talked about returning with their families one day, it really is a treasure.
My only advice is to take spare toilet rolls, lots of girls require lots of toilet paper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thanks Sam and all for looking after the cottages .. Sorry forgot to drop loo rolls over, you did ask! .. and Yes indeed .. will look at getting an Infra red heater for the Games Barn- been on my list for a while ..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newwhite
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location, perfect party house in rural heaven!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I only have good things to say about our stay in Whitechapel Cottages. The accommodation had everything a large group needs. Plenty of space and Chris couldn't do enough for us. The hot tub was great and the games room brilliant for bad weather. The setting is stunning and I can recommend having a canoeing outing on the lake, such fun!!

The outside space is brilliant too, loved every minute!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
HI ! I really enjoyed paddling about on the lake too .. good memories of you capsizing. Hope to see you all again in the not too distant future.
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolmaransstad, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Hope you had an easy journey back to SA -
Many thanks and hope to see you again
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
topcat619...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idellic spot in the heart of the countryside”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Went there for a stag do. We hired out all 3 properties from the Fri to the Mon, with 15 of us in the group. We went kayaking, used the Jacuzzi and sauna daily, played pool/ping pong/fuseball plenty. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay we had BBQ's and used the firepit as well as utilising the fields around us to play sport and games in. Not your typical stag do but immense experience enjoyed by all that went.

Would definitely go back, the place is suitable for all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The freedom, peace and quiet
Liked least: Little or no internet signals (4G, 3G, G, H, E or WiFi)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is the first time we have stayed at whitechapel cottages after being recommended to us by a friend who said it was fantastic, and she was right. Chris the owner couldn't have been more accommodating, from the welcome tea and biscuits to the personal tour of the grounds, the canoeing and kayaking and of course the fountain of knowledge of things to see and do. We stayed in grooms lodge with its own secluded BBQ area and private garden. The lodge was clean, comfortable and functional. The hot tub and sauna were also an extra bonus which we used often. As there are only three rental property's on site, it never felt crowded even though all the property's were full. This place is a real find and we will be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Narrow entrance road, we have a wide car
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing