We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 3-night mini-moon break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 South Molton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect 3-night mini-moon break!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 3 night mini-moon following our wedding in October of last year. It was absolutely fabulous. Nikki and Jamie are the perfect hosts and our king-size room was absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast was the highlight of the day, with the best local sausages we have ever tasted and eggs fresh from the chooks in the garden. You will not stay in a more welcoming, luxurious B&B so don't wait - GET BOOKING NOW! :-) And take Nikki's advice on where to eat, she never gets it wrong! Thank you N & J! Love Kirsty & Lee xxx

Room Tip: We loved the Luxury King room - so light, beautifully decorated and HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
105
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Recently returned from 3 nights in Nikki and Jamie's lovely B&B - they are such friendly, natural hosts. The breakfasts are super - eggs couldn't be fresher than straight from the girls in the garden! And it is an ideal base for touring North Devon. I wish we could have stayed longer - although my legs probably couldn't have coped with another day of walking the wonderful coastline! Many thanks to Nikki, Jamie and Cassie - we will look forward to staying at Ashley House again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themeparkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Room very tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean with en suite to the same high standard. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Fantastic breakfast with fresh eggs from their chickens and locally sourced bacon and sausages. You will not be disappointed if you stay at Ashley House - Very convenient for local villages and Exmoor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The owner met us in our car at the gate and parked it for us.My husband was on crutches,having had a recent knee replacement,Our luggage was carried to our room,,conveniently situated on the ground floor,We were staying there to attend a dinner in the Town Hall;s Assembly Rooms.This was within easy walking distance in the town square,which was a comfortable distance for my husband to walk on crutches.The room and bed were very clean and comfortable.We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast--could have anything we liked--,and the owner was so friendly.He carried our luggage back to the car,and drove it out for me,for which I was very grateful.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is very good if you are disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marclif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were slightly skeptical about the fantastic reviews that this hotel had, but having now stayed there we understand why. We travel a lot and this is the best B&B either of us have ever stayed in.

Location: about 45 minutes from the beaches of Croyde and Saunton, it's a bit in the middle of nowhere, and a perfect haven away from everything else. It's extremely quiet and embedded in a small quaint village which had a lovely market on Saturday. We found ourselves eating in the wonderful pubs in the nearby villages (recommended by the owners) and using it as a base to explore the beaches and coast during the day.

The B&B: Was perfect. The guest rooms are in a house that is attached to where the owners live, so you do not feel like you have to be particularly quiet or that you have anybody watching over you. There is a nice little car park in the grounds with secure electronic gates, the garden was beautiful with some hens who laid our morning eggs. The B&B and it's ground were picturesque and luxurious. The room was the deluxe room and it was beautiful, spacious, nice view over the garden and had everything you could want. Everything was of great quality - the toiletries, the tea/coffee/hot chocolate... and it was impeccably clean. Also, the internet was proper high-speed internet, which will make a huge difference to those who need to get some work done or want to get a good film to watch before bed. And finally, there were just lovely thoughtful touches everywhere, like a communal fridge for guests to use for their wine and actual milk in a flask in the rooms ... and heaters that worked and made the room nice and cosy.

The owners: Were just lovely, extremely knowledgeable and helped in planning our trips. They created a really relaxed atmosphere and nothing was too much of a bother for them.

The food: The breakfast was wonderful, with a wide array of jams, cereals and fruit salad. There was no set menu, we were just told that they had every element of a full English and we could have any combination of it in any way we wanted.... the meats were locally sourced and according to my partner were the most delicious sausages in the world. As a veggie there were countless yummy options for me too.

We would love to stay there again and would highly recommend it to anybody else.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tainturier86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

From the first greeting at the gate, the owners were very friendly, as was the house dog! Rooms are lovely. Grounds are also really nice and they even have their own chicken coop! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squashedfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After visiting friends in Cornwall we had a 3 night stay in Ashley House, South Moulton. We have stayed at many B & B's on our travels and some have been plusher, some with larger rooms, a lot of them more expensive, but none more friendly. Extremely clean and elegant rooms. Breakfast is excellent and last but not least, Cassie, the retriever, is absolutely beautiful. So Nicki and Jamie we wish you every success because you deserve it.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment, as these rooms are sure to go quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poochybloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molton
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
89 reviews
9.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
11.8 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
560 reviews
7.2 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 22 in South Molton
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 Paradise Lawn, South Molton EX36 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, boutique Bed & Breakfast in the beautiful market town of South Molton, Devon.Set in the heart of the historic market town of South Molton, Ashley House Bed and Breakfast offers guests luxury accommodation whilst being perfectly situated to explore the beautiful countryside of North Devon and Mid Devon, Exmoor and Dartmoor National Parks and the beautiful North Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ashley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley House Bed And Breakfast South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing