We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 South Molton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from Headgate Farm,sad to leave.
Great place ,homely. lovely welcome. Best nights sleep we have ever had when away from home.
Great bathroom with Jacuzzi bathtub and everything supplied.
The hosts were so obliging,and we were shown round the farm and pet all their pets.
A truly wonderful break
Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We just returned from 3 nights at Headgate Farm. A lovely B&B warm and welcoming. Fluffy towels, molten brown products, hair dryer and straighteners, fab and enormous bed with great linen. Lovely and peaceful. Great cooked breakfast made to order and at a time to suit you.
Lovely and close to the coast for walking.
Definitely try the Royal Oak at Withypool amazing food!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tinkerbell216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here one night on our way from London to Cornwall. It was perfection - I was wish we could have stayed all week. The room was wonderful, snug but couldn't have been more comfortable. I don't think I have ever slept in a more comfortable bed! We had the room with the Jacuzzi bathtub which was incredible. The breakfast was the best of our week long trip - fresh, local ingredients, not greasy in the slightest. The owner is beyond lovely and full of fantastic suggestions and wonderful tips for the local area and Exmoor. We'll definitely be visiting again and recommend you do too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingeTrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Warm welcome, beautiful fresh room overlooking fields, gorgeous bathroom with the luxury of a jacuzzi bath and bathrobes, fast broadband, delicious breakfast - what more could you ask for? Farm animals? Yes - got that too. Well worth a stay. A place to re-charge batteries.

Sat nav couldn't find the place though - it's in the middle of nowhere! Also, I couldn't pick up 3G for my phone for much of the area so we had to call Judy for directions. I'd recommend you print off instructions rather than trying to find it with satnav and iPhone!

The bed's q soft - normally I'd say wonderful but I've done my back in so the bed wasn't great for me. The soft thick carpet was a comfortable bed though! That's my problem though not the bed's so no criticism.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other room but the one we stayed in had a Jacuzzi bath and was gorgeous.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosieJosieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Upon arrival, Judy (the host) could not have been more welcoming and helpful. It was love at first sight when entering our room. A comfy bed with large windows overlooking the moors, a spacious bathroom with Molton Brown products and for a touch of luxury bath robes. Breakfast is freshly cooked using local ingredients and is available at anytime you request. Headgate Farm is the best B&B we have ever stayed in and we would recommend this to anyone. Thank you for such a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My girlfriend and I haven't been away before, and we were initially a little unsure of the B&B etiquette, but we needn't have worried, as Judy and Henry made us feel completely at home. Nothing was too much trouble, and we never felt silly for asking questions which might have seemed obvious to anyone else! Their extensive local knowledge enabled us to choose exactly what we wanted to do, instead of being limited to what was available on the internet or in brochures. The room, bed, and bathroom were all perfect, and it was a pleasure to come home to! Breakfast was an absolute feast, with full english/cereal/yoghurt/toast options available (I think we tried just about everything there was!). The surrounding area is stunning, with a mix of farmland and moorland, so we were never short of walks to go on, and we really enjoyed driving round the country lanes, stopping off wherever we felt like it.

Places we would recommend: The Bridge Inn at Dulverton (amazing food, and a lovely local atmosphere), and the walks around Simonsbath (gorgeous wooded areas).

Tim & Bethan.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Judy and Henry were most welcoming and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble, the room was clean and the bed very comfy. Great bath with plenty of hot water. We spent some time in the guest lounge, Judy lit the fire for us and it was warm and cosy.

Great location from which to explore the area and the perfect spot to rest up after a day of hiking/walking.

Loved the farm and enjoyed feeding the pig.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Molton hotels
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Jubilee Inn
The Jubilee Inn
#4 of 21 in South Molton
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chancery House B&B
Chancery House B&B
#17 of 21 in South Molton
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 21 in South Molton
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sampson Barton Guest House
Sampson Barton Guest House
#1 of 21 in South Molton
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blindwell Bunkhouse
Blindwell Bunkhouse
#7 of 9 in South Molton
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Headgate, Headgate Cross,Twitchen | South Molton, Devon, South Molton EX36 3LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Price Range: £86 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headgate Farm deluxe bed and breakfast on the foot hills of Exmoor. A typically English B&B on a working farm, serving sumptuous breakfasts (late breakfast option) with price per room not per person rate, situated on the Devon and Somerset border. Early Check In and Late Check Out available by prior arrangement. Log fire. Top quality beds with extravagant duvets and pillows, stacks of fluffy towels and Molton Brown/White Company products. The hosts have a wealth of knowledge of what makes Exmoor special. Their farm is close to the moors with all its attractions, ideal for walking, cycling, fishing, shooting and horse riding within a designated Dark Sky Reserve. It takes approximately 20 minutes to walk through fields and woodland to reach the moors, where the views are breathtaking and the peace and quiet amazing.The farm although in a very secluded area is just a five minute drive to the nearest village, with a shop and post office that sells nearly everything, together with two public houses and a church, the town of South Molton is 6 miles, Barnstaple and Tiverton 18 miles and the stunning North Devon sandy beaches approximately 25 miles. Junction 27 of the M5 motorway is a 30 minute drive away.There are many local eateries and Judy and Henry will be happy to book a table for you to dine out at your preferred destination. We offer luxury en-suite rooms with full sized baths and power showers, flat wide screen TVs and DVD players and really comfortable beds with all quality white cotton bed linen, where you can laze away your days if you so wish. Beautiful views from the bedrooms over open fields, where sheep and horses graze and there is plenty of wildlife to see.A full English Breakfast is included in the price and all our food is locally sourced where possible and beautifully cooked. Any special dietry requirements are catered for providing this is ordered at least 48 hours in advance.Character dining room with beamed ceiling, inglenook fireplace, with wood fire. Lounge area with TV and DVD player overlooking the garden.Free Wi fi connectionPrivate parking and extensive gardens with small wildlife ponds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing