We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of The Coaching Inn

The Coaching Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Molton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coaching Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 South Molton B&B and Inns
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed in the coaching inn for a week while attending a wedding, and the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend the coaching inn to anyone and I will certainly be staying there again. Best b&b I have stayed in for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitesox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    12
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
16
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Seven muddy men on muddy mountain bikes made very welcome by landlady Jayne her family and team. A thoroughly enjoyable evening with good pub food and well kept real ales.
An impromptu unplugged session with our ukuleles was well received and the Taylor's Reserve Port given in appreciation was excellent!
Thankyou

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinstrelCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Staying in south molton for the night I had a stroll round the little town square and come across the coaching inn pub ,I could see people were having food so popped in to check the place out .the bar is very well stocked with a large chose of ales and I noticed a food menu chaulked on a board next to the bar . We I asked the bar maid she brought me a menu over and she said you either order from this or have something from the wall boards. The pricing is very reasonable and the food was very nice indeed. I had a chat with janet the bar maid she was helpful and told me about the inn which has 12 on- suite bedrooms for hire at a out standing value of £35 b&b very large free car park to rear of premises, I told Janet I might stay on my next stay in the area but I like a early start has I have to travel upto Leeds in west yorkshire she said no problem that they could prepair something to take with me in the morn (sandwich/ drink) which would be great for me . Didn't see any tv in the place just a nice bit of back ground music

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yorke_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

we have been visiting South Molton for the past 4-5 years or so 3-4 times a year - we have always stayed at the Coaching Inn - Jayne, Jill, Jean and the team have always made us very welcome and the standards of the pub and B&B (no it's not a hotel previous reviewers so don't expect hotel quality linen - not that the linen is poor it is well laundered , pressed and the beds are comfortable) have been good - and over the years since these guys have taken over there have been marked "improvements" - upgrading of TVs in the rooms etc - the food has always been good and staff friendly - always willing to go that extra mile - we will be back and back and back - that's a promise not a threaat!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Called in on a Friday lunchtime and had fantastic homemade steak & kidney pie. Owner very helpful in setting up my wifi and arrangements for me to spend some time "remote working". Very good atmosphere and B&B price is great value for the middle of town. Much improved from a few years ago. Looking forward to staying there when I get the chance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Although there is plenty of space inside and out and the staff are friendly. The rooms felt like I had just walked into a random persons own bedroom. The bed linen was low budget, thin and in a variety of garish designs. The rooms felt as if they were not properly aired, and that the staff were not able to cope with their allotted tasks.

I would not visit here again

Room Tip: There is little to chose from in the way of accommodation in the town, it is better than other plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Upon checking around the town -the hotels are a little overpriced for what you get...This Inn was comfortable and quiet..one the small window panes was missing and covered with saran wrap (cling plastic wrap)....making the room cooler-this was December.....The room was clean and the shower was very adequate...The family who own the pub work hard to please the customer.....Full English brekky was good.....real ale on tap but the dinner food was just passable....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roofingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molton
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
92 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 22 in South Molton
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belgrave Bed  & Breakfast
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 22 in South Molton
50 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sampson Barton Guest House
Sampson Barton Guest House
#2 of 22 in South Molton
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chancery House B&B
Chancery House B&B
#14 of 22 in South Molton
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coaching Inn

Property: The Coaching Inn
Address: Queen Street, South Molton EX36 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in South Molton
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Coaching Inn South Molton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing