We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great play area n cafe”
Review of Quince Honey Farm

Quince Honey Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get a Buzz from your holiday and take a trip to Quince Honey Farm. The family-run working honey farm has been producing quality honey since 1949 and has over 1000 hives deep in the North Devon countryside. Visit the world’s largest Honeybee exhibition; BeeWorld! The interesting displays and exhibits will teach you fun facts about the honeybee before you take a closer look inside the working hives. Nowhere in the world can you get so close to live bees without needing protective equipment! You may wish to take a guided tour or walk around at your own leisure. There is something happening every hour during the summer! Don’t miss out on the bee talks and beekeeping demos which gives you the opportunity to hold a frame of bees if you wish. There is a chance to make some beeswax candles and learn more about the different types of honey at one of the tasting sessions. New for 2017 is the ‘be a beekeeper experience’ which gives you the unique opportunity to work alongside a beekeeper learning more in depth about bees and the art of beekeeping. (You can sign up for this on the day). Any little bizzy bees won’t want to miss out on The Happy Bee play hive; the large indoor soft play area with nets and ropes to climb over. This is where you will also find the cafe offering homemade food and our special Devonshire cream teas with honey. There is an outdoor play and picnic area for when the sun is shining. Visit Critter cabin and meet some slithery friends at one of the daily critter encounters shows. Visit the honey farm shop to see the array of honey products on offer as well as beautiful handmade beeswax candles and skin care. Make a Bee-line for Quince Honey Farm
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great play area n cafe”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Great play area with a nice cafe. The rest of the 'farm' hasnt changed since I went when I was a child. Im now 35. My kids didnt find the bee info/exhibition interesting or educational as it all looked old and dated which is a shame..i understand updating costs money and we are in tough times but regenerating that area with increase popularity and business no end.
The PLAY AREA is brill.. warm, comfortable with food and drinks etc available. Not a bad price. The staff are nice and our kids love it. We are local and visit often. The outdoor toilets are cold in the winter but thats just how it is. They do kiddies parties £9 pp.
Im all up for supporting local businesses and so despite the dated environment. .the play area is key n an excuse to return. In winter it is only £ 3.95per child n adults free as exhibition closed. Perfect. See u soon

Helpful?
2 Thank paige764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi and many thanks for the feedback back in Feb.
We appreciate all feedback good and bad, so we are happy you have expressed your thoughts about the exhibition. We have taken steps this winter to improve the displays and modernise sections to make things more interactive and interesting for all ages.
We are glad you enjoy the play area and café snacks, and so happy to hear you return, we would love to know what you think of the new displays and hope you can visit during the Easter holidays!
Big thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    139
    50
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“admission prices for soft play only should be introduced.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This place does have a brilliant soft play area that my kids love but the outdated and I'm sorry but naff honey farm exhibit hold no appeal. It is misleading for potential visitors to promote this as a honey farm with a soft play area when this is the main appeal. It would therefore be fairer if visitors could be offered the price of admission to the soft play only as I always resent having to pay over the odds . This attraction is missing a trick as with a bit of updating and the addition of some pretty outdoor spaces, a wild meadow picnic area, a few goats for the kids maybe it could be really great.No nice outdoor space here at all just concrete. Come on honey fun- you are missing a trick here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KTB3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello and many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
As we are a working honey farm our main attraction for visitors is to see the exhibit and the honeybees so the prices are cheaper in the winter when the honeybees are asleep. We feel the price is very reasonable as most visitors come for both the exhibit and the play area in the summer.
The outdoor picnic area is open all year round but during this cold spell many people choose not to venture outside.
We are in the process of updating our exhibits and displays as well as adding a lot of new ones and a whole new building ready for the Easter break this year. Hopefully you can visit again as we would love to know what you think, any feedback is greatly appreciated as we want to keep all our customers happy! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place to go”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

1/2/14 went this morning with my wife and children, and I can recommend the breakfast roll, the place is clean well managed and good price! The shop is all good prices, the kids loved it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jtn01844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to write on trip adviser.
We are so pleased to hear you had a nice visit and enjoyed our breakfast rolls :)
Our exhibition is fully open from April 5th and we have many displays that have been added for the Easter holidays so we hope you can visit again to see everything in full swing!
Many thanks,
QHF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting and entertaining”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Interesting insight into the lives of bees and the production of honey on site. Fantastic childrens soft play zone, under cover. There is a Cafe in the play zone with a quieter area adjacent, and a shop selling bee products, toys, etc. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PRL662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review back in November.
Glad you had an interesting visit and that you think it is worth a visit as we try hard to keep all our customers happy.
We have new displays added for our opening on April 5th so we hope you can visit us again!
Many thanks,
QHF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Good to learn more about honey, great shop with lovely honey products, wonderful play area for children if a little noisy for adults and lovely cafe for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stevie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Good morning, thank you for the feedback, we are really glad you had a good visit and found it interesting. Hope you picked up some nice bits from the shop and enjoyed some of our home cooked food in the cafe. Many thanks, and hope you can visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quince Honey Farm also viewed

 

Been to Quince Honey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing