We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money!”
Review of Quince Honey Farm

Quince Honey Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get a Buzz from your holiday and take a trip to Quince Honey Farm. The family-run working honey farm has been producing quality honey since 1949 and has over 1000 hives deep in the North Devon countryside. Visit the world’s largest Honeybee exhibition; BeeWorld! The interesting displays and exhibits will teach you fun facts about the honeybee before you take a closer look inside the working hives. Nowhere in the world can you get so close to live bees without needing protective equipment! You may wish to take a guided tour or walk around at your own leisure. There is something happening every hour during the summer! Don’t miss out on the bee talks and beekeeping demos which gives you the opportunity to hold a frame of bees if you wish. There is a chance to make some beeswax candles and learn more about the different types of honey at one of the tasting sessions. New for 2017 is the ‘be a beekeeper experience’ which gives you the unique opportunity to work alongside a beekeeper learning more in depth about bees and the art of beekeeping. (You can sign up for this on the day). Any little bizzy bees won’t want to miss out on The Happy Bee play hive; the large indoor soft play area with nets and ropes to climb over. This is where you will also find the cafe offering homemade food and our special Devonshire cream teas with honey. There is an outdoor play and picnic area for when the sun is shining. Visit Critter cabin and meet some slithery friends at one of the daily critter encounters shows. Visit the honey farm shop to see the array of honey products on offer as well as beautiful handmade beeswax candles and skin care. Make a Bee-line for Quince Honey Farm
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Llanhilleth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This place is great! :-) so much to see and do. Very educational and interesting and soooo many bees. The Quince Honey Farm Special in the cafe was delicious, had to share it, but it's a must. The shop is also crammed full of brilliant authentic merchandise-you could certainly spend a lot in there! Great visit thank you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Netty313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello there and thank you for your feedback, it makes us happy when our visitors tell us what a great time they have had here. So thank you for writing on trip advisor and we hope you can visit again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    139
    50
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiptree
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sweet place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very interesting talk about bees followed by a tour of the honey-making factory. Never knew there was so much involved.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for the short and sweet review. We love it when our visitors learn something new and enjoy themselves at the same time. We hope you have the chance to visit again.
Thank you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bees - lots of them”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we visited the honey farm a few days ago. I wasnt sure what to expect as the reviews vary quite a bit. You pass through the shop area on the way in, very clean and not a hint any smell of 'cooking fat' as one reviewer put on here, must have been a one off. You go up quite a few steps (not suitable for you if you cant manage them) to get to the bee museum bit. It is quite old, but it depends what you are expecting for your £5.50 or so entrance fee. For me...not a lot as in Kent where i live you would pay about £8 simply for the play area alone. We had a little wander around with a 2,6,8,10 year old and us. 2 of the children had been before so lost interest fairly quickly and wanted to go to the play area. We probably spent about 30 mins {tops} in the museum area. It was interesting to look at the bees but the children did not want to read all about them. Had my dad been there he would have been in his element reading all about bees! So onto the play area where the children thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We did not eat in the cafe but i thought it looked clean enough for me and im fussy, the food looked like your usual standard in these sorts of places, perfectly fine. We stayed maybe a couple of hours in the play area, we would have stayed longer but had to leave. At the end a very lovely man brought out a tarantula (urgh) but the children loved it. Then a corn snake which in a very kind but organised fashion allowed each eager child (and adult) a hold of it and even put it around their neck should they so wish. Then once every one had had a go he asked if anyone wanted another go, a very patient man! I gave it 4 stars here, i personally am not that into bees that i would want to go again but we all had a nice time there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rcmt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for visiting the farm back in May, we are really glad to hear you had an interesting visit to the exhibition and we hope you learnt something new about honeybees. Brilliant to hear the children enjoyed buzzin’ around the play area and that you all got to see some creepy crawlies.
We have various events happening throughout the summer so maybe next time you are passing have a quick check on our Facebook page to see if our legendary bee beards are happening!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We went here for a family day out and would not recommend it we had a really bad experience and were treated with very little respect as full paying customers

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 276claires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello, we are disappointed to hear you had a bad experience at the farm and concerned you feel you were treated with little respect. Our customers are very important to us and we wouldn’t want any visitors to have a bad experience, we would really like to know what made you feel this way and if you could email me at ruby@quincehoneyfarm.co.uk
Thank you and hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bank holiday Monday”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We visited today and just managed to catch the 2.30pm talk with Joe in the auditoreum. What a fabulous, charasmatic man who held the attention of the mixed audience with a funny and factual account on bee keeping. Very highly recommended!!! Alot of work had been carried out in the working part of the exhibit since our last visit which gave us some new information to read and digest. We really enjoyed the afternoon. However, our visit was somewhat let down by the quality of service in the cafe. My husband had a lovely panini....however, the salad with my jacket potato consisted of yellow lettuce (only fit to feed a rabbit) and the red onion was limp and not very fresh. The quality of the chilli (what there was of it) was very poor and half of my jacket was rotten. When I took it back the woman that served me was extremely rude. I did not want a replacement because the meal wadn't very pleasant but she spoke to me like a dog!!! Maybe a course in customer service would be of value to her? The rest of the staff we came into contact with were kind, friendly and a credit to the attraction and this rudeness will not stop us from returning again in the future.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa12_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby M, Marketing at Quince Honey Farm, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed the talk with Joe in the new auditorium, the talks are new for this year so any feedback is always welcome.
That’s very concerning to us that your food wasn’t fresh as we always aim to offer a high standard of food at all times so we apologise for this.
If you would email me at ruby@quincehoneyfarm.co.uk then I would like to discuss the customer service issue further as customer service is very important to us!
We so are happy you will still be returning in the future as we have an exciting events coming up which we would love you to attend. Many thanks and speak soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quince Honey Farm also viewed

 

Been to Quince Honey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing