We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to be back!!”
Review of Thurlestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thurlestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice to be back!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We "returned" to Thurlestone after a few years away now to find it as good as ever although a bit disppointing that the indoor Pool was closed for refurbishment. This was advised in the booking confirmation. We were a little late in booking but were given a Premier Sea View Room up on the 3rd floor which was excellent all round - others have balconies but not really a necessity in March when local walking was the intent for the 3 days there.

Despite earlier visits we took up the offer of a "tour of facilities" on arrival by an Assistant Manager which was well done and brought us up to date. All Staff were first rate that we came into contact with - Food in the Restaurant was excellent - Breakfast and Dinner plus Mothers Day Lunch before we left on Sunday and sreved by very professional staff - non English sadly, but excellently professional in all they did - a pleasure in itself to see!!

A pricey few days but worth it for us we thought and the weather improved from foggy on arrival to bright Sunshine by the time we left.! We'll go again in due course!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwetherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear John Wetherill,
Welcome back! Thank you, in particular, for your kind words about the staff. I always pass on visitors’ comments and yours will be very gratefully received. I’m sorry about the indoor pool but I hope you will return after June to see our wonderful new Spa. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    109
    45
    18
    9
See reviews for
171
246
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The first thing to say about this hotel is that the service and food quality are both excellent. We stayed there recently for a three day break over half term. Yes, there were children there, but they were all really well-behaved children so you didn't notice them much.
We used to stay at another 4* Devon hotel in February until two years ago when we felt that some standards were slipping. So, without knowing it, The Thurlestone was being compared. Our room with dual aspect on the third floor was superb. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. There was lots of space, a huge bathroom with expensive fittings and everything you could wish for in the way of facilities. The view is panoramic, though tantalisingly about half a mile from the sea which felt to us, not quite close enough. That's just the way it is.
Because the indoor pool and Spa were being refurbished (no noise whatsoever), we got a small reduction on our bill. The hotel is certainly not cheap and we may not be able to afford another visit next year when the price reverts back to normal. You get what you pay for.
My husband was disappointed that there wasn't entertainment after dinner. Mostly, people sat quietly in the lovely lounge, sipping coffee, or had more drinks or just retired to bed. On Valentine's Night, we did have a lovely pianist in the restaurant. Maybe the ladies could have been presented with a red rose? That would have been a thoughtful gesture.
The outdoor, heated pool was being used but not by us! February is perhaps not the month for outdoor swimming. We did use the 9 hole golf course, however. On the day that we used it, it needed mowing and clearing, which I think happened later that day. The greens were in poor condition. There is a better golf course nearer the beach, but there would be a charge for that, of course.
All in all, we did enjoy our stay. The staff, particularly the manageress, were first-class. Nothing was too much trouble. We even had a guided tour by the concierge on our arrival so that we could familiarise ourselves with the place.
Going back to our comparison to another 4* Devon Hotel, The Thurlestone won hands down on the restaurant, food quality and service. The other hotel has a better location and is ever-so-slightly more affordable.

Room Tip: We only saw our room which was on the 3rd floor with dual aspect. Room 318? Huge and superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5staruk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Fivestaruk56,
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to our hotel and that we compared favourably with your usual hostelry! Thank you for your very constructive comments, which I have taken on board. I am so glad you liked your room. Just for future reference, it wasn’t 318 (we don’t have one) but, by your description, I think you must have stayed in room 367, which is the only dual aspect room on the third floor.
As previous guests, you will be receiving regular mailings, which include special offers and reduced rates, as well as our six-monthly Newsletter. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back some time.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of members of a family in order to attend a funeral nearby. My wife was impressed by the website and on arrival asked that we "Up grade" to a Premier room at an additional £30 per night. What for? Instead of 264 we were put in 265. Having seen in 264 we could not see what the difference was? Same bed, TV, services and view. Maybe it was the mini bar that was extra. Having said that one look at the prices and the wife locked the mini bar and hid the key! £6.70 for a miniature brandy, we had just bought a whole litre for £10 on the boat. Fair enough the view was spectacular, well it was on Tuesday, Wednesday it was cloudy and rainy, Thursday we could not even see the end of the garden for fog! We avoided eating in the resturant manily becuase I object to having to wear a jacket, but that is me. Having said that on checking out we were chraged for three dinners at the restuarant which could not be roight as we ate at a neraby pub that night. Breakfast was served by a delightful young lady and was good and plentiful. . Overall, this wasa pretty expensive hotel which needs bringing into the 21st century .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeyJsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear MikeyJsy,
Thank you for choosing the Thurlestone and I am glad you liked our website.
I’m also pleased that you consider our standard rooms quite luxurious enough, although lots of our guests prefer the extra space that an upgrade provides.
I must apologise for the mix-up with your bill, when you ate at our pub next door rather than in the hotel restaurant. Often our guests prefer to charge their meals in the Village Inn to their hotel accounts and I am sorry that, on this occasion, we were confused. As for our ‘jackets at dinner’ request, it is a constant subject of debate! Some guests do, of course, prefer to dress more casually but we have decided, at present, to maintain this dress code at the request of the majority of our guests, who consider it adds to the ambience of the ‘fine dining’ experience.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel is very overrated, the 'basic room' we stayed in was like a Premier Inn with old furniture, the desk had an old suitcase handle on the draw. The bathroom is very basic with 'posh' toiletries. The view from the bedroom was pretty good, overlooking the gardens, 'Championship' golf course and out to sea. The so called championship golf course is worn out, with patchy greens and dodgy astroturf tees. The Croquet lawn was poor with grass so long the ball got stuck. Food very good served well by great staff. Not good value at £1000 for three nights!

Room Tip: No idea, all rooms not seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear John E,
I am glad you enjoyed the food and service during your visit in July but sorry you were disappointed with your room. All our rooms have recently been refurbished but we tend towards the traditional in our décor, which most guests seem to like. As for the bathroom, I am pleased to say that we are continuing to modernise all our bathrooms and bring them bang up to date, as part of our ongoing refurbishment programme.
I am afraid I can only apologise for the state of our 9-hole par 3 golf course when you were here. We are waging a non-stop war with the local wildlife, particularly with two badger setts nearby. We’re trying our best and have an ongoing programme of re-turfing and renovation but it’s a constant battle. On to your final point, about value for money. July, of course, is subject to our High Season tariff. This main holiday period covers the most popular six weeks but, outside that window, we have lower seasonal tariffs, which are very attractive to visitors who can be adaptable with their dates. Regular Thurlestone guests also look out for our special offers for repeat bookings, which are announced in our regular mailings and newsletters.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My family of four have just enjoyed a long weekend break at Thurlestone, together with another family of four.- Our 5th stay in two years. A deluxe plus room is recommended, which has a seperate room for the children & great sea views. It is also at the end of the hotel and is therefore very quiet. The hotel food is very good, and the evening dinner menu is always something to look forward to. Breakfast is also very good, and the restaurant staff are always very polite & efficient.
A new swimming pool & spa etc are currently being built, and this should be really good when finished in a few months.
The village Inn, which is attached to the hotel, is worth a visit. It has a great pub atmosphere, and the food is also good.
A trip to the local town of Salcombe is recommended, for a bit of shopping, although it can get very busy in the height of the summer.
The local beaches at Thurlestone are very good, as to are the local costal walks.
We cannot wait until our next visit in the summer, when we can enjoy the outdoor pool & local beaches!

Room Tip: Deluxe Plus Sea View Room for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC-TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear LMC-TC,
Your fifth stay in two years – that’s fantastic! We must be doing something right! I am delighted you continue to have a good time with us and look forward very much to seeing you again in the summer. The outdoor pool is already open and being enjoyed by the more hardy of our guests although, to be fair, it is heated! The brand new Spa will be opening in June, so hopefully you will be able to enjoy it on your next visit.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I with a group of 8 other friends stay at this hotel for 2 or 3 nights each year towards the end of January and have done so for more than a decade. It is always the one hotel we always decide we have to return to as the food is always of the highest standard and the staff extremely welcoming. I would recommend a sea facing room as the views are stunning on a fine day. For golfing enthusiasts there is a short 9 hole course in the hotel grounds and Thurlestone Golf Club is just half a mile down the road with superb coastal views.
Our group has already re-booked for January 2013 even though the prices for next year have not yet been finalised; we are that confident we will continue to get excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We always go for sea facing superior doubles on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAB565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear CAB565,
It is always nice to welcome back ‘regulars’ like you and your friends and I am very pleased that you continue to visit us every year. Thank you for your loyalty and for your nice review.
We look forward to seeing you all again next January!
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We visited the Thurlestone Hotel for a weekend seaside getaway. There were plenty of things to do from golf (golf sets to rent at the the hotel), to the spa, to walks along the beach, afternoon tea and scones (our favourite part!) and excellent tennis courts. It is within good distance of Salcombe for a day trip to a larger seaside town as Thurlestone village is very small indeed. We ate dinner in the pub next door every day. It serves fantastic pub food at reasonable prices with a good pub atmosphere as well. All the staff were extremely friendly and our room was comfortable with a lovely view of the sea. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet weekend by the sea!

Room Tip: some rooms have an excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klb2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Klb2027,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend break. As you know, the Village Inn pub next door is part of the hotel and it is just one of the places where you can have dinner. Our Margaret Amelia restaurant is very popular for its ‘fine dining’ while, in the summer, Rock Pool offers al fresco lunches and informal dining with magnificent views over Thurlestone Bay. Light lunches are also available in the Terrace Bar.
Do come and see us again and try some of these alternative options as well.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurlestone
4.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
13.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurlestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Property: Thurlestone Hotel
Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Thurlestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing