We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A love letter”
Review of Thurlestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thurlestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is not so much a review – more a love letter to the Thurlestone Hotel.

We are just back from our fifth visit (which is nothing – we met people there who had been every year for 25 years, starting when they were taken by their parents.) We had been looking forward to our trip so much and were absolutely not disappointed. It was as ever a special experience.

Why? Well, there's the spectacular view from the bedroom; and there's the genuine "dog friendliness"; and the food (the dinners are so good they are almost as good as the breakfasts, which is really saying something); the walks - either way on the Devon coastal path; the pub next door (every American's idea of a typical English pub, where you can sign for your beer on your room number); the service - you can absolutely tell this is not part of some huge chain. And in recent times the addition of a very swish top of the range spa complex which has shown just how ambitious the owners are for the future of their enterprise.

What this amounts to is a combination of traditional English virtues with up-to-date style. You could take your dear old mum and she would be entirely comfortable; and you could also take your daughter and her trendy boyfriend.


Thank you so much, may you continue to prosper in 2014!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salisbury_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Salisbury_John,
How to reply to a ‘love letter’ except to say how flattered we are and to thank you for writing it?! I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. The Thurlestone has been owned and run by the same family for more than 115 years now and, as you note, we are committed to a continuing programme of refurbishment and renewal. I am glad you enjoyed the new Voyage Spa and look forward to your comments on the work we are currently doing on the Village Inn. We won’t be altering the ambience of a ‘typical English pub’, hopefully just enhancing it!
Do come and let me know what you think during your next visit. In the meantime, thank you for your continued support.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

A first class hotel. Great staff, good food and beautiful walking countryside. It would be difficult to find a better place for a relaxing weekend.
The beds were soft, the amenities perfect and the staff put them selves out to make sure we had a great stay.
Thanks Thurlestone!

A Stroller

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Arnica7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Arnica7,
I am so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay, and thanks very much for sharing the experience by writing a review.
Hope to see you again.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A quality hotel, excellent facilities with friendly and considerate staff.

With its location, the views, the village, the village pub, 9 hole golf course and the main golf course and tennis just down the road, an ideal place to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purbeckwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Purbeckwalker,
You’re obviously active people and I am delighted that you enjoyed our facilities. I trust you managed to relax in the Spa (and/or the bar!) afterwards, too! Thank you for writing a review and we do hope to see you again.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Good but not perfect.

We would stay there again. The Voyager Spa is superb; the Reception staff are good the situation is excellent.

The waiting staff are excellent, the breakfast was delicious the evening meal was a little disappointing. The views from the dining room are breath taking!

All in all an enjoyable break.

The downside was, two cups in the room needed a good wash, the teapot still had tea (ours). My husband ordered me a drink (he had his) - he (the Bar Manager) said he would bring it over...we waited and waited....he had forgotten.

This would have got higher rating apart from the above blips – would not hesitate to return.

Also we had a power cut whilst we were there and the way the staff ensured the guests were kept informed was good. It was the whole of the village which was without power.

Nice spot, lovely gardens. A good hotel.

Room Tip: The Spa is the best I have been to, superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazyLumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear LazyLumpkins,
In your previous review, you were unfortunately unable to stay because we were full, but you were shown round and vowed to return – I am so glad you did! We do strive to be ‘perfect’ rather than just ‘good’ but sometimes we slip up; I apologise for the ‘blips’ you mention, neither of which should have occurred. We are always keen to receive feedback from our guests and do our best to meet, and hopefully surpass, expectations.
Thank you for the review and the nice photos, too. I do hope we will be seeing you again soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Everything about the Thurlestone is just so right. It's in a beautiful area with quaint thatched cottages lining the street as you make your way to this little piece of heaven and heaven you reach when you hit the most comfortable beds ever. I did offer to pay for one to take away,on learning how much is spent on them I declined for another day :) I like the fact that you can arrive early and make use of the amazing free Spa facilities...Just perfect!
The people who work here though make the experience that much more special. Nothing is too much trouble, always a friendly smile to be had and they seem to genuinely enjoy making your comfort Number 1 on their list. Food is amazing and if you get an opportunity to have a banter with the "Portuguese" head waiter you'll be smiling all evening... what a great amassador for a fantastic hotel. We will be back for more for sure ....Thank you Thurslestone !

Room Tip: If you can afford it choose the Premier sea view suites. They are at the far end of the hotel and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Peter W,
Thank you so much for sharing your views with the TripAdvisor audience and I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit. Certainly our staff try very hard to give you a comfortable and relaxing holiday and it is always nice to be appreciated!
I do hope you come for that return visit soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here many times , never dissappointed, staff very welcoming , location and views , stunning plenty of facilities , spa and lovely pool , 9 hole golf course , tennis courts , food , imaginative and delicious , a very enjoyable stay ,

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Marie B,
It was so nice of you to write a review and I am very glad you continue to enjoy your visits. Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have visited this hotel 5 years in a row now, and have always had an excellent time. The location is superb, the food is incredible and the activities on offer are great. This is a great hotel to stay at for any type of family with good service and friendly staff. Overall amazing

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Lewis C,
Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased you enjoy your holidays at the Thurlestone.
We look forward to seeing you next time.
Best wishes, Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurlestone
4.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
805 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
12.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurlestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Price Range: £169 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherished by its guests and loved by locals, The Thurlestone hotel is a luxurious, classic, family-run four-star hotel. Whether you are planning a celebration or looking for a relaxing break it’s the ideal place to unwind in style while enjoying its fabulous location set in 19 acres right on the South Devon National Trust coastline. Owned by the Grose family since 1896, Thurlestone Hotel guests have enjoyed its character, hospitality and friendly first-class service for more than 120 years. Seventy per cent of guests have stayed before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Thurlestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing