We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thurlestone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Cottage Hotel(Hope Cove)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Soar Mill Cove Hotel(Malborough)
US$210
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$294
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose & Crown(Yealmpton)
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Kitley House Hotel(Yealmpton)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Smithaleigh(Plympton)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
502
162
52
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
502
162
52
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage innpar golf courseoutdoor poolsea viewtennis courtsthe pubfamily hotelcoastal walkssouth devonbunk bedsstunning locationlovely hotelsteam roommain restaurantsunday lunchpublic roomsexcellent facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights the staff were very friendly and the food was of excellent quality obviously locally sourced .We had a lovely full afternoon tea super cakes scones and sandwiches .The breakfast and dinner was of the same excellent quality . Our room had a great balcony with wonderful views over the bay and a huge bathroom with a large bath and separate walk in Shower . You can see why the same people come back time and again ! A particular mention for Peter who was most helpful and efficient throughout our stay .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear jonbarn,
It was so kind of you to put your comments on Trip Advisor and I was very pleased to hear that you had a good time with us. I will make sure Peter sees this – he will be delighted to get a mention!
I do hope we might see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Thurlestone on several occassions before for two night breaks.
On arrival this time we got there early (10.30) because my wife had booked a couple of spa treatments and although the spa was very busy the staff managed to fit her in at the last minute.
This is just typical of the standard of service that the Thurlestone staff offers.
On checking in we were informed that we had been upgraded (wiithout having to ask) and surprisingly our room was ready even though it shouldn't have been available until 2.00pm.
This set the tone for the entire of our stay.
The ongoing investment in the hotel and the adjoining pub is plain to see in respect of referbishment and upgrading. The pool and spa facilities are superb. As is the food, the room, the views and the whole feeling of escapism and being pampered is augmented by excellent service.
If you are looking for somewhere to relax and leave the hectic pace of life on hold for a while this is certainly worth a try. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Richard P,
Thank you so much for all your nice comments and I am so pleased you and your wife found your recent break relaxing. Our staff will always do their best to fit you in, whether it be a last-minute spa treatment or an early arrival, and I am glad we were able to do so in your case (although, obviously, it just isn’t possible all the time!). I am delighted you approve of our recent refurbishment of the Village Inn and the Hotel Lounge and I hope we will be seeing you both again soon.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Went for a wonderful spa day at this hotel, there was five of us and we had had lots of relaxation and lots of laughs. On arrival we were greeted and shown around the spa, we all had a treatment each mine was a back and shoulder massage, was perfect. The spa consisted of a swimming pool, a hydro bath jacuzzi, a relaxation room, sauna and steam room. We had lunch there which I found expensive but expected from a four star hotel, the staff were all lovely and were very helpful. Later we had a cream tea which was included in our spa day price. The whole day was great, the hotel and gardens are beautiful and we are definatley planning to do it again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 423karen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear 423karen1,
I am so glad you and your friends enjoyed one of our popular Spa Days. Ever since we opened the new Voyage Spa a couple of years ago, lots of people have booked up for one of these special relaxation and pampering days and I am delighted that you will be coming back for a repeat visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Has a lovely 3 night break here at the end of January. What's not to like? Hotel was very nice,staff friendly and super efficient and have to say the food was exquisite. Lots a coastal walks, trips into near by towns and relaxing evenings. Spa and pool also excellent. We had a room with sea view which was just stunning. Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorrianeLazenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Lorriane Lazenby,
How kind of you to write a review following your recent visit and I am so glad you had an enjoyable break. The staff will be pleased to be mentioned, especially the chef, who will be delighted you enjoyed the food.
Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After looking on line me and my partner decided to book a weekend in the Thurlestone. i must say it is a beautiful place complimented by first class service and food . we stayed in a deluxe plus sea view room and it was a great room and quiet . we are already looking forward to our next visit which will hopefully be in a few weeks and i will try and book the same room again. all i can say if anybody wants a relaxing and also to feel like a millionaire for the weekend then try this place as you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Bradley M,
I am delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your weekend at the Thurlestone and thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. I look forward to seeing you again on the forthcoming visit you mention – we will make every effort to allocate you the same room as before; do make the request when you make your booking.
See you again soon.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews