We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of Thurlestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thurlestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another lovely stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our third stay at Thurlestone and again very enjoyable. We had a sea view room with balcony for the first time and it was definitely worth the extra.We were blessed with mostly hot , sunny weather. The food was fantastic. The scrambled eggs and smoked salmon for breakfast are the best I have eaten anywhere. We thought the church bells would disturb us being at the front for the first time but there was no problem. My only complaint would be the boiling hot towel rail in the bathroom which cannot be turned off. It does keep the bedroom feeling very warm and I managed to burn myself three times! But we will be back for another Devon "fix".

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Elizabeth A
It was kind of you to write a review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your third visit. Thank you for bringing the problem with the towel rail to my attention and I will talk to Maintenance about it.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    119
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
183
256
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A blissful spa day, with lovely lunch in the conservatory. We had a light lunch with good food & excellent service, followed by an afternoon with treatments in the spa. Everyone in the hotel was attentive & helpful, from reception to bar staff & the ladies in the spa. We all enjoyed our spa treatments & are looking forward to returning for a bit more luxury soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyNia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear NaughtyNia
I am delighted you and your friends enjoyed your Spa Day. It is a very popular treat, ideal for de-stressing and a bit of pampering!
See you again soon.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great hotel on the South Coast. The facilities were very good, well maintained and always available. The food in the dining room (men are required to wear jackets for dinner) was of a high standard, and all staff were extremely polite. Miriam looked after us in the dining room and she was superb and ran her section very efficiently. The grounds were beautiful and provided a good backdrop to relax. The 9 hole par 3 golf course has promise, there were a number of greens undergoing work whilst we were there which shortened a number of holes and the temporary "greens" left a lot to be desired. However once the work is completed it should be a terrific little practice course. The gym, sauna, pools were all excellent, very clean and well maintained. The hotel director, Julie, was a terrific lady, who was a very engaging person. Once you get to driving on roads that are barely wide enough for 1 car the hotel is in a good location for getting around the south coast. A word of caution this is not a low price hotel even the "deals" are expensive with sea view rooms particularly so. Overall we had an excellent time and will go back one day.

Room Tip: dogs are allowed in some rooms so if you don't like the smell & hairs left behind ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB689908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear AB689908
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. We are working hard to get the golf course refurbished and hope to have the work completed soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to try it out.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked to stay the night following a wedding at the Hotel. The lowest priced room was £230, which we thought was steep, but as it was a wedding we thought we'd treat ourselves and we could both drink. We were lucky enough to check-in half an hour before the wedding started and were shown to a room that overlooked a carpark, was very tired looking though clean apart from the black stain (boot polish?) on the white duvet cover. The bathroom was tired looking too. As time was tight we didn't unpack. The wedding itself was lovely, though the licenced sitting room was quite small (our friends' wedding had 48 guests) and we were packed in tightly. The grounds were stunning with a golf course and outdoor pool with sun deck. After the Wedding Breakfast I went to Reception and asked to speak with someone about our room. A very empathetic lady took me to a sea-view room (£280) to see what I thought of that. As it was cleaner than the original room I said Yes please (though you don't look at the view when you're asleep...or try too...). Later on that evening I wished to have a swim in the Spa indoor pool. It was FREEZING!!! So I spent some time in the hydrotherapy pool, which was amazing. When we decided to go to bed, all was well for a while, but with it being a warm night, we had to have the windows open. Big mistake?! After a couple of hours of sleep, we then both heard the village church chime EVERY hour throughout the night. In our opinion, we would have heard them with the windows closed and also in the original room, which was across the corridor from the second room. In the village where we live, the church bells stop at 10pm and re-start at 7am. We went to breakfast and there was a great assortment of cereals, juices, jams. However, on the cooked side, as a vegetarian I was limited to egg, tomato, beans and hash brown. There was no meat alternative, which I find very disappointing. We have found on our travels that the higher the star rating, the less I can be catered for, hence the title "we have stayed in better motels". Would we stay again? Definitely Not. Would we recommend? Definitely Not. VERY expensive for what you get an very disappointing.

Room Tip: Until they sort out the church bells, no room will give you a good nigh't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Louise A,
I was rather surprised to read your review, especially since I am aware of how hard we tried to address your concerns at the time. I am so pleased you enjoyed your friends’ wedding here as this was the reason for your visit, but very sorry that we did not come up to your expectations. I was particularly surprised to read your comments about being kept awake by the church clock chiming the hour because we have never had a complaint of this nature before! The indoor pool is kept at a constant temperature of 28-29ºC, which is the recommended level and suits most people; however, I am glad you enjoyed the rather warmer hydrotherapy pool. We do offer vegetarian options at breakfast, such as vegetarian sausages, eggs Florentine, pancakes and omelettes, and I am very sorry this was not made plain to you.
Once again, I am sorry we didn’t come up to your expectations.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel, family run, manages to maintain a very high standard of personal service, quality of food and accommodation and superb new spa facilities. We always enjoy going there to retreat from the stresses of life!
Graham Taylor

Room Tip: Views from the front rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Graham T,
Many thanks and I am so glad you continue to enjoy your visits and feel refreshed when you go home!
Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Another fabulous visit to this superb hotel. We have been guests at the hotel scores of times dating back to 1972! We are regular travellers throughout Europe and have stayed at hundreds of hotels and Thurlestone takes some beating. Last nights dining experience made us feel as if we were judges of the finalists of Master Chef. The quality, presentation and service were outstanding. The hotel location is perfect for a relaxing holiday especially if you enjoy sea views and breathtaking coastal walks. Breakfast is a special treat and an afternoon cream tea is a must. Excellent facilities and overall great value.

Room Tip: Room 360 if you have a dog and like a balcony with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Linda B
Thank you very much for your great review. It is so kind of you to take the trouble to add your comments to the TripAdvisor forum. I am delighted you continue to enjoy your visits to Thurlestone and we look forward to seeing you many times more.
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My family of 6 including a 2year old had just the best break here! A wonderful family run hotel in a beautiful location in Devon with something for everyone! Lovely rooms, great service, wonderful facilities and fantastic food! Our baby got just the best friendly welcome and loved every minute, We had such a lovely time.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are just wonderful, but if you don't mind a view of the car park there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Lynda f,
I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your recent break and thank you for your kind remarks. Children of all ages receive a warm welcome here at the Thurlestone and I am pleased to hear that your 2-year-old enjoyed what was hopefully the first of many visits!
Best wishes
Julie Baugh, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurlestone
4.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
765 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
412 reviews
12.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurlestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Property: Thurlestone Hotel
Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurlestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thurlestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing