We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 in Tiverton”
Review of Tiverton Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tiverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiverton Castle
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic place made very welcome , genuinely could not hear the chimes from the church next door even in the bedroom closest. ( not enough to prevent sleep) cream tea on arrival and fresh veg through the week , being able to fish the river is a definite bonus catching 2 small trout, gardens are beautiful and is a good central point for day trips.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Numpty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I mean it. We live in Tiverton and stayed here whilst our house was infested with builders. Very reluctant to go back home after staying 10 days in Peartree cottage.
The cottage is really a part of the main house and is large, luxurious and very well equiped for self catering. The castle is close to the town centre and next to St. Peters church and the river. Ideal as a base for touring Devon. Wide choice of property available to rent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Enough rooms for parents, grandparents and children to enjoy with high ceilings (Barton Castle) and large rooms.

Very high standards, lovely decor, en-suite in every room and a fully kitted kitchen.

Visit WalkingwithLlamas.co.uk, Moorlandmousietrust and the Donkey Sanctuary with ease ... Sidmouth, Torquay and more yet be free of crazy crowds. Everything is 15-20 miles in all directions ... And you get to stay in a Castle!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveJ Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Staying in an apartment next to where a princess lived and died was an experience which will live on in our memories. Tiverton Castle East Court is where we spent a delightful week 12-19 April 2013 made even more enjoyable by the friendly hospitality of our host Alison Gordon. Cream tea was provided on arrival and the rooms were spacious heating warm and walking past armoury from the Civil War every time we went out was really different. An added bonus was a free tour of the castle which has historical furniture and civil war weapons. For Australian people this was an unforgettable experience to be so close to history especially with the church next door where the princess was laid to rest. Both castle and church were attacked in the Civil war.
Dawn & Jeff- Australia

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a lovely break at Tiverton castle so comfortable the bed was lush ! Very well equipped and in a lovely peaceful setting we went on the guided tour of the castle which was extremely informative but it was a bit long winded for us there is an option to go round on your own which may have suited us better . Mrs Gordon is a gem thank you for all the advice on where to go . Would definitely stay there again . Thanks for the cream tea too !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A very spacious one bedroom apartment, which is inside a historic privately owned castle. The "Pear Tree" is well equipped with all the comforts of home. The kitchen has all you need to prepare any sort of meal. The bathroom is very large with separate shower and tub. Internet is great, TV has lots of channels and the living room is very comfortable, A great find. Angus and Alison are fantastic hosts, we would love to someday return.

Room Tip: The "Pear Tree" apartment is great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Six of us, three couples, stayed at Castle Barton 12-18 April 2013. We could not have been made to feel more welcome: the owner, Alison Gordon, provided a real Devon cream tea on arrival and later gave us a fascinating tour around the castle. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, spacious, comfortable and very well equipped; I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. Knightshayes (NT house/garden) is a couple of miles away and the museum in Tiverton is well worth a visit. The location of Castle Barton in central Devon is ideal for visiting anywhere in the county. We had a lovely, memorable stay. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe212440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiverton hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel Guest House
Angel Guest House
#4 of 33 in Tiverton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bridge Guest House
Bridge Guest House
#9 of 33 in Tiverton
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barton House
Barton House
#2 of 3 in Stoodleigh
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chestnut House
Chestnut House
#7 of 33 in Tiverton
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiverton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiverton Castle

Address: Tiverton Castle Park Hill, Tiverton EX16 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Tiverton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Tiverton Castle UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing