We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”

Aerosaurus Balloons
Book In Advance
More Info
US$163.58*
and up
Hot Air Balloon Champagne Flight from Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Aerosaurus Balloons is a family-run company offering champagne hot air balloon flights throughout the South West of England. As the largest hot air balloon flight operator in the Westcountry, we have over 25 years’ experience and have flown more than 70,000 passengers over some of the most beautiful and spectacular landscapes in the UK including Dartmoor, Bodmin Moor, The Blackdown Hills, The Quantocks, Stonehenge and the Jurassic Coast.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The whole experience is awesome. We went on a cold and frosty morning, clear blue skies. I love the way you help to get the balloon up and all put away afterwards. If it wasnt so expensive I would do it more often.

Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ball00nist, Manager at Aerosaurus Balloons, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Hello Tina, thank you for your kind comments. It is especially good to read your remarks regarding the crew, as they have to strike a balance between keeping passengers safe whilst also getting passengers as involved as they wish to be.
The prices are similar if not the same as when you flew with us 2 years ago, so isnt it time we saw you again! Drop hints re Christmas present!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    6
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cancelled: But why?”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked a flight on the 15th July, and added my children. We checked teh weather and even rung a few days ahead to get an update. On teh day the afternoon weather cleared and the evening was dry and bright with very light winds. When we rung the Hotline we got a confused message due to 2 events happening in the exeter area. We rung the airfield and they sent someone to check who was told "tell them to ring the info line" The airfield staff noticed that no balloons were being prepped on the hard stands so assumed it was off. much to their confusion as they had recheck the latest conditions for us!
We have now contacted Aerosaurus and they say tough, no refunds or pay a 42% admin fee!!! or change to a national flight at an additional cost of £118. They also cancelled the sunday morning flight on Saturday afternoon and the conditions were even better!!

Very poor service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ball00nist, General Manager at Aerosaurus Balloons, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hi Mark,

Thanks for providing feedback on the service you've experienced so far. We've gone through your records and spoken to the staff involved to investigate the matter on your behalf. At this stage it appears that:

You were booked on the evening flight on the 14th July. This was cancelled at 11am (7hrs in advance of your flight meeting time) and the weather line was updated accordingly at that time. There was no uncertainty about whether or not we'd be able to fly in the evening as it was forecast to be gusty and there was an increasingly moist, unstable, airflow developing over the region. Earlier in the week we'd also experienced a "month's worth of rain” over just a couple of hours which also meant fields were flooded throughout the SW of England.

As the day went on we were at the Air show with a stand also. Throughout the afternoon there were air displays being cancelled because of the weather. An example of this was at 16:15 a Hawk Aircraft (flown by Red Arrows pilots) was due to fly over. This had to be cancelled due to heavy thundery rain and building Cumulous Nimbus (thunder) clouds. At 17:00 the winds were gusting at 14kts and it was raining both at Dunkeswell (the flight meeting location) and there was rain throughout areas of Devon and the South West.

As far as refunds go, passengers purchase an open dated voucher valid for 12months and during that time it is expected that passengers book on flights and then, if the weather prevents the flight from proceeding, we ask them to re-book. We offer refunds but as your first voucher was purchased 7-8 months ago it's not applicable for a refund. However it is worth noting that your vouchers are valid until June 2013 so please don't be under the impression that you've lost out and we're refusing to fly yourself. We'd be more than happy to get you booked on a flight with ourselves. That being said, we only fly in the South West of England, so if you were wanting to fly outside of our area we would need to upgrade your voucher so you can book on Nationwide flights (and we can move you to an alternate balloon rides operator).

I hope that helps and I do apologise that you feel like you've had poor service from ourselves to date. We try incredibly hard to provide all our passengers with a first class service and as a result we're currently ranked Silver / 2nd for the best "Tourism Activity Provider" in the South West of England. That being said, on the day you speak of it just wasn't possible, or safe, to put a balloon in the sky and for that reason your flight was cancelled.

We'll await to hear from your party and look forward to flying you in the near future and I hope, when you do fly, you and your family have a great time.

Regards,
Aerosaurus Balloons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“50th birthday present”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

unfortunately take off got aborted after everyone was in basket and got dragged along ground, my daughters camera got broken, when re-arranged (which wasn't easy as most take offs in the area were weekday early mornings, it all went well, staff were very good.

Helpful?
Thank fdr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ball00nist, Manager at Aerosaurus Balloons, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback. Hopefully the incident regarding your daughter's camera was dealt with at the time, but just in case it was not, or you were left in any way dissatisfied, please do contact the office direct.
Pleasing to read that all went well on your rearranged flight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weathered Out”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Flight cancelled due to heavy flooding, but the sevice and ease we have received in making a fresh booking nearer to home a week later has made up for the challanges beyond the control of Aerosaurus. What an Anniversary present.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ball00nist, Manager at Aerosaurus Balloons, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Hello Ian, thank you for your kind comments and apologies that I have only just noted we had not replied earlier.
Thankfully the last couple of summers have been pretty good (by UK standards) and we have been able to fly many thousands of passengers, 99.99% of whom we are proud to say give similar feedback to yours.
We look forward to flying you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We met in a pub carpark very early in the morning but it was too foggy so were driven to a more distant spot for take off. Sadly due to the very still conditions after take off we barely moved. Even so it was great to see Devon from high up and drink champagne. Coming down was a problem as the slight breeze kept us just above a hedge for some time. Safely down we returned to the pub.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank JRB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aerosaurus Balloons also viewed

 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Aerosaurus Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing