We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience”

Aerosaurus Balloons
Book In Advance
More Info
US$172.35*
and up
Hot Air Balloon Champagne Flight from Exeter
More Info
US$172.35*
and up
Hot Air Balloon Champagne Flight from Shaftesbury
More Info
US$172.35*
and up
Hot Air Balloon Champagne Flight from South Devon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Aerosaurus Balloons is a family-run company offering champagne hot air balloon flights throughout the South West of England. As the largest hot air balloon flight operator in the Westcountry, we have over 25 years’ experience and have flown more than 70,000 passengers over some of the most beautiful and spectacular landscapes in the UK including Dartmoor, Bodmin Moor, The Blackdown Hills, The Quantocks, Stonehenge and the Jurassic Coast.
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Took to the skies with Aerosaurus at the Tiverton Balloon Festival. It was a last minute booking given the fantastic weather and i'm so glad we did. The crew on the ground were excellent and the whole experience lasted about 3 and a half hours, from helping set up the balloon, inflate it, the flight, then helping pack it all back up again afterwards.

The whole experience was fun and enjoyable, but the flight was spectacular, especially as the sun was setting during the time we were up. Our pilot was great and the landing smooth! Despite having 16 people in the balloon, there was plenty of space. My only advice would be to take a hat, the heat from those burners is really something!

Highly recommend Aerosaurus, would love to fly with them again at some point!

Thank GaryH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ball00nist, Manager at Aerosaurus Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Hello Gary and thank you for your kind comments. It is especially good to read your remarks regarding the crew, as they have to strike a balance between keeping passengers safe whilst also getting passengers as involved as they wish to be.
To fly at a Balloon Festival is especially special For your information The Tiverton Balloon and Music Festival is the 10 - 12 July 2015. Book Now !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Aerosaurus Balloons
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

Was a surprise birthday present and I loved it. Great trip, well organised. Good communication from booking time to take off. Local pick up point.

Thank Sherborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ball00nist, Manager at Aerosaurus Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Hello and thank you for your kind comments. Our apologies at having missed responding earlier. It was good to read your all round satisfaction including most importantly re the office staff, as often they get overlooked. We look forward to flying you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The crew were brilliant, champagne was served at a great height. I would love to do it again. It was very quiet floating over the villages and watching people and animals going about their normal lives, You could hear conversations going on on the ground awesome.

Thank Janette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ball00nist, Manager at Aerosaurus Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Hello Janette and thank you for your kind comments, my apologies for missing replying to you at the time of your review. It is especially good to read your remarks regarding the crew, as they have to strike a balance between keeping passengers safe whilst also getting passengers as involved as they wish to be.
PS Isnt it about time you flew with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The whole experience is awesome. We went on a cold and frosty morning, clear blue skies. I love the way you help to get the balloon up and all put away afterwards. If it wasnt so expensive I would do it more often.

Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ball00nist, Manager at Aerosaurus Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Hello Tina, thank you for your kind comments. It is especially good to read your remarks regarding the crew, as they have to strike a balance between keeping passengers safe whilst also getting passengers as involved as they wish to be.
The prices are similar if not the same as when you flew with us 2 years ago, so isnt it time we saw you again! Drop hints re Christmas present!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked a flight on the 15th July, and added my children. We checked teh weather and even rung a few days ahead to get an update. On teh day the afternoon weather cleared and the evening was dry and bright with very light winds. When we rung the Hotline we got a confused message due to 2 events happening in the exeter area. We rung the airfield and they sent someone to check who was told "tell them to ring the info line" The airfield staff noticed that no balloons were being prepped on the hard stands so assumed it was off. much to their confusion as they had recheck the latest conditions for us!
We have now contacted Aerosaurus and they say tough, no refunds or pay a 42% admin fee!!! or change to a national flight at an additional cost of £118. They also cancelled the sunday morning flight on Saturday afternoon and the conditions were even better!!

Very poor service.

4  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ball00nist, General Manager at Aerosaurus Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Hi Mark,

Thanks for providing feedback on the service you've experienced so far. We've gone through your records and spoken to the staff involved to investigate the matter on your behalf. At this stage it appears that:

You were booked on the evening flight on the 14th July. This was cancelled at 11am (7hrs in advance of your flight meeting time) and the weather line was updated accordingly at that time. There was no uncertainty about whether or not we'd be able to fly in the evening as it was forecast to be gusty and there was an increasingly moist, unstable, airflow developing over the region. Earlier in the week we'd also experienced a "month's worth of rain” over just a couple of hours which also meant fields were flooded throughout the SW of England.

As the day went on we were at the Air show with a stand also. Throughout the afternoon there were air displays being cancelled because of the weather. An example of this was at 16:15 a Hawk Aircraft (flown by Red Arrows pilots) was due to fly over. This had to be cancelled due to heavy thundery rain and building Cumulous Nimbus (thunder) clouds. At 17:00 the winds were gusting at 14kts and it was raining both at Dunkeswell (the flight meeting location) and there was rain throughout areas of Devon and the South West.

As far as refunds go, passengers purchase an open dated voucher valid for 12months and during that time it is expected that passengers book on flights and then, if the weather prevents the flight from proceeding, we ask them to re-book. We offer refunds but as your first voucher was purchased 7-8 months ago it's not applicable for a refund. However it is worth noting that your vouchers are valid until June 2013 so please don't be under the impression that you've lost out and we're refusing to fly yourself. We'd be more than happy to get you booked on a flight with ourselves. That being said, we only fly in the South West of England, so if you were wanting to fly outside of our area we would need to upgrade your voucher so you can book on Nationwide flights (and we can move you to an alternate balloon rides operator).

I hope that helps and I do apologise that you feel like you've had poor service from ourselves to date. We try incredibly hard to provide all our passengers with a first class service and as a result we're currently ranked Silver / 2nd for the best "Tourism Activity Provider" in the South West of England. That being said, on the day you speak of it just wasn't possible, or safe, to put a balloon in the sky and for that reason your flight was cancelled.

We'll await to hear from your party and look forward to flying you in the near future and I hope, when you do fly, you and your family have a great time.

Regards,
Aerosaurus Balloons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aerosaurus Balloons also viewed

 

Been to Aerosaurus Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing