We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value day out for the kids”

Devon Railway Centre
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jump on Board for train loads of fun! Unlimited train rides, model railways, model village, indoor play coaches and outdoor play areas all set within a former railway station on the Exe Valley Line
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value day out for the kids”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is the second time we have visited the Railway Centre.

The admission price is very reasonable. The children have unlimited access to the train rides, there play equipment, model railway, model village, indoor play area, cafe, crazy golf, and cars. We spent 5 hours there, so got more than our moneys worth, and there is free car parking.

A great day out for younger children!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank poolev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    78
    25
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely day out for young children”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Lovely small place for a relaxing day out. My 2.5 year old loved this, there were 2 different trains to ride on, 1 narrowgauge, 1 minature railway, coaches full of model railways where the kids press the buttons to make them work as well as some 'pay' attractions. You needed to pay 50p to drive some small 'vans' and £1 to drive Toby the Tram engine. This was a little steep but since entry is reasonable I'll forgive them. However the train rides are free all day so you can have lots of trips and we stopped off at the other station to go to the park which again is aimed at young children. The staff were friendly and it felt a very safe environment. It is a great day out for young children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ceri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We visited with our son and his family. There are loads of amusements for small children to enjoy, plus train trips which were fun and unlimited, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Especially enjoyed Gnome-land. We were lucky enough to visit on a sunny day, but even on a wet day I'm sure young families would find plenty to keep them occupied. Food is available on site, but if that doesn't appeal there is a good pub just a couple of minutes walk away, with beautiful riverside gardens.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roobarb-Roobarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Over priced childrens trip.”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were very disapointed with this place.It cost 2 adults and a child nearly £22 to get in, to then find the 'ride your own train' 'ride your own car' 'black hole' 'mini golf' and other facilities, then all had to be paid for on top of the entry fee. The only two rides included in the entry fee were the trains. Generally in these places I would expect more to be included. Won't be bothering again. Could have fitted the whole trip into an hour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emilycBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great activities for young children!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We visited the Devon Railway Centre with our two young children. They both had a fantastic time, visiting and revisiting the play areas on-board old railway carriages. We visited on a lovely sunny day and enjoyed the train rides to a quiet riverside picnic area. The larger of the two trains operating has covered carriages so I'm sure this would still be fun in the rain.

There is also a small open air model village, and lots of model railways housed within more old railway carriages. Both of these proved to be fascinating for the children, they loved moving the trains and operating moving features by pressing buttons to start them.

There are quite a few rides and activities such as crazy golf and a ride-on train. However, these are not included in the entry price so you'll need spare change if you want to let children onto them. These are all £1 or less so not really expensive, however this could quickly add up! Nevertheless the Devon Railway Centre is great value for money, particularly as children under 3 don't pay, yet there's plenty for them to enjoy!

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and enthusiastic. I'd recommend the centre to anyone visiting Devon and would return again in the future.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank darranrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devon Railway Centre also viewed

 

Been to Devon Railway Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing