We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Ashley Gables

B&B Ashley Gables
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Ashley Gables
Ranked #17 of 33 Tiverton B&B and Inns
Cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

As a business traveller I often stay in b&b accommodation. I have stayed in over 100 all over the country and would give this a 5 star rating. Everything was absolutely perfect. Room was immaculate. Power shower was awesome, TV worked and had a remote control! (those of you who have travelled widely will get that joke)

Breakfast was without doubt the most comprehensive I have ever had... I will post a picture or two to show you, bearing in mind I was the only resident in this morning at breakfast....

Well done Mr and Mrs Carpenter, your business is a credit to Tiverton. I would not hesitate to bring my family here to stay..

Simply one of the best..

Steve

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SiloamCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romsey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of July. This was a 5 star experience from beginning to end - a truly superb B&B. We stayed in the king size room - and it is indeed a large bedroom, with an equally large ensuite bathroom (with a large shower rather than a bath), plus a sitting room shared with the residents of the one other room. The accommodation could not be better, with a lovely view out over the valley that climbs up behind the property (see their website front page to get a good idea of the setting).
The welcome matches the property - we were greeted on arrival and offered tea & cakes to relax after our journey up from Cornwall. Breakfast is a special experience, in the light and airy garden room - we had raspberries straight from their own garden, presented beautifully in a glass with yoghurt, followed by an excellent full English cooked breakfast, or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.
Ashley Gables is just about a mile south of the centre of Tiverton - it is a relatively easy walk along the road and it isn't necessary to drive to visit the town. The location is excellent if you are visiting this part of Devon - the roads connect quickly to most of the places of interest - and if you like walking, this part of the Exe valley is delightful.

Room Tip: The larger of the two rooms is well worth the higher charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, in the double room, the smaller of the two, but still spacious, the on suite was compact but very adiquate for our needs and lovely power shower. On arrival we had a lovely warm welcome, a hot drink and home made cake in the guest sitting room, also homemade flapjacks in our room, the bed was like a cloud!!!! The house and room was absolutely spotless, the breakfast was delicious!!! High quality, fresh ingredients and homade bread, potato cakes and muffins!!! The owners Jon and eve are a lovely couple, very hospitable, nothing was too much trouble, even got up early to cook our breakfast. And very helpful and chatty, make you feel very welcome. We had no complaints whatsoever, we were treated like royalty, defo should be 5 star!!! The best b&b iv ever stayed at by a million miles, perfect!!! Highly recommend you stay here!!!! Words can't describe how good it is :)))

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We couldn't fault a thing, every aspect of our stay as perfect. The service and standard of accommodation is excellent. We will definitely be booking again next time we are in Devon. Very highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely b&b - immaculate yet comfortable. We opted for the smaller room, but it had plenty of space for us and was perfect. John and Eve could not have been more welcoming or accommodating and provided exceptional service. Breakfast was wonderful - certainly not run of the mill, with lovely different options prepared to perfection. Would definitely return if in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LJOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

So, I must first admit... this is not our first stay here. We stayed in June 2013 for a wedding in the area.

The b&b is set in lovely gardens in the countryside outside of tiverton. However not too far outside to be in the middle of nowhere. The property itself is beautiful, immaculate gardens and the house is beautiful. The b&b is in an annex on the side of the house and is again. Immaculate!!

The proprietors always meet you at the door or your car on arrival to help you with you bags. They are both lovely people, both really kind and pleasant. Such lovely people... Believe me when I say we have never had better service anywhere

You get shown around the rooms of the property by Eve, and her husband asks what you would like to drink, by the time eve has shown you around you then find her husband has bought the drinks up to your room on a welcome tray with homemade treats on there too!

We have only ever booked the king size room, this room and its ensuite are STUNNING. Well appointed fixtures and fittings, lovely little touches in the room like some lovely flapjacks in a jar on the drinks tray. Lovely big window facing a field that has a couple of horses in that run around all day up and down the hill. Lots of wildlife can be seen too, many pheasants and other game birds. Woodpeckers, deer and badgers are a common site.

The bed is comfy, shower lovely and powerful and all the normal towels are provided for you.

Breakfast is ordered the night before so they can have it all ready for you. Please.... Please order a cooked breakfast... They are amazing. All the food locally sourced and cooked to your liking.

To sum it up. Book this place no matter what. No matter where in east/mid devom you are visiting... You need to stay here. Its 20 mins from Exeter... 35 mins from exmouth and 5 mins from the centre of tiverton. Just please book and make sure this b&b is used and never forgotten.


We will be staying again... I can assure you!!

Thanks for another fantastic stay

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at Ashley Gables for 3 nights and would highly recommend. The room was tastefully decorated, immaculately clean and the breakfast was superb! The hosts, Eve and John, were very welcoming and friendly. We would stay again if in the area. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiverton hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.6 mi away
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 33 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howden House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Angel Guest House
Angel Guest House
#6 of 33 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodgehill Hotel
Lodgehill Hotel
#19 of 33 in Tiverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ashley Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ashley Gables

Property: B&B Ashley Gables
Address: Ashley, Tiverton EX16 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Kingsize room with ensuite bathroom 1 Double room with a small ensuite shower Complimentary Tea or Coffee in each room. A lounge for guests use with daily newspapers maps and magazines ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B Ashley Gables Tiverton, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing