We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flying Pickle

The Flying Pickle
Ranked #16 of 81 Restaurants in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Devon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Lovely choice for breakfast, brunch or lunch. Tasty meal with a lovely ambience. Only small downside is that the menu on a chalkboard is hard to work through at a glance,

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tickytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
somerset uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great addition to Tiverton.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times and decided it was time I wrote a review for the Flying Pickle, as each visit has been very good. Delicious bistro/deli style food, reasonable prices, very comfortable surroundings. The staff are very very friendly too. Thanks a lot!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rustic friendly Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great place to share a coffee in a rustic style café good very tasty meal in friendly surroundings
Anne Harrison

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby04dobedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lovely bistro in a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

A very friendly atmosphere inside this cafe spread over two floors. There are also seating arrangement outside the front door. It has a very inviting decor with promise of bistro food and drinks. The deli counter is well stocked as are the display areas by the stairs and in the front of the serving counter.

We were quite pleased to get the prime table by the bay window at the front. The table is made from the stand of an old sewing machine, which was very nice. The menu is written on black boards on the wall and I was supposed to order at the counter. There was a sign saying so. But I hadn't noticed the sign and there were not many customers in the early opening hour. The person at the counter was kind enough to take our orders from the table and was quite warm in greeting us.

We had our breakfast along with a hot chocolate and tea. The drinks took a long time to arrive as the place had become quite crowded by then with everyone ordering drinks. The food arrived soon after. Both the food and drinks were satisfying.

A nice place with a homely feel - will definitely be there again if I am in Tiverton.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Lovely friendly little place with a great well priced menu. Drinks are reasonable and we were given a big jug of water on our table without being asked. The food is always piping hot and excellent sized portions. The desserts are amazing! Without doubt my favourite is the pecan pie I could eat that all day everyday! Nice seating outside the shop and lots of little goodies to look at inside. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetiepopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flying Pickle also viewed

 
Tiverton, Devon
 

Been to The Flying Pickle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing