We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you fancy a Wind in the willows setting with your lunch The Trout is good place to stop on a sunny day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Trout Inn

The Trout Inn
Ranked #7 of 81 Restaurants in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you fancy a Wind in the willows setting with your lunch The Trout is good place to stop on a sunny day.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The Trout is a well run pub with reasonable food, situated in a pleasant and convenient setting overlooking the river Exe and a charming old bridge above a weir.

The location, in Bickleigh adjacent to the old railway line, near to a local vineyard and former Carew family castle (seems that only the gatehouse remains, OliverCromwell having had the rest of the castle demolished after the family backed the royalists) on a senic route between Exeter and Tiverton is a good stopping point.

If time allows there is an interesting old church in he village. It us said that the infamous Bampfylde Moore Carew (1693–1759), an English rogue, vagabond and impostor, who claimed to be King of the Gypsies and to have won the lottery of his day is buried here, in I consecrated ground outside the then perimeter of churchyard (having been extended Bampfylde is likely now in consecrated ground which might please his father who had he living of this church.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HCSACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    92
    32
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mothers Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife & i have been fairly regular visitors to The Trout for our Sunday lunch .
The food is excellent always hot & plenty of meat with the veg brought in dishes .
I booked a table for my mothers 94th Birthday & i asked for a certain table which
was not a problem we had paid a little extra to have the table decorated which looked
lovely when we arrived
I had rung earlier in the week to see if they might have Salmon on the menu as it is my
mothers favorite meal .
They said all there produce is fresh nothing is frozen but they could not say whether it would
be on the menu but when we arrived that day it was on the menu .
I felt that the staff had gone that extra mile & always at The Trout nothing is to much trouble.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrol, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review we are very glad that we were able to accommodate you and your party. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A very good meal”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We met up with another couple for my birthday on the recommendation that we would have a good meal. We were given a pleasant welcome and excellent service. Although the menu was not extensive, there was an adequate selection and meal was well presented. The food we chose was was well cooked and the portions were generous.The only reservation we had was that it was on a Monday, very quiet and there was little atmosphere. We would however go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb food - lived up to the best reviews”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great food, well presented, superb taste. Hosts were caring, fun, professional. My benchmark for pub food is my local back home which never fails to disappoint and so anywhere else has a lot to live up to. The Trout would definitely be my replacement benchmark for excellence if I lived near here! My parents have recently moved to Tiverton and were part of our party - they will definitely be returning and bringing others - and we will be back next time we are down too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrol, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review your comments are gratefully appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“reccomend for good food and always enjoyable evenings”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We visit the pub to eat and drink about once a week and are never disappointed, friendly staff good beer, wine etc, and good selection of freshly cooked food.

Emma particularly keen to make sure everyone is happy with the food and service and any minor problems always sorted out very quickly. Portion sizes very good and never left the table hungry. Nathen always has a good knowledge of the beers and wines, and they vary the selection frequently and it is always good to try the different beers.

all in all get down there and give it a go !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C7095MDpaulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trout Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing