We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 32 Tiverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good and clean”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This accommodation is very clean and comfortable if a bit remote. Local pub very friendly and the food is good but take a torch if you want to walk it ( about 15 mins) as the lane is pitch black and full of rainy puddles when we were there). Owners were business like. Breakfast was of high quality.

Room Tip: Rooms are in converted stable type accommodation and very smart and well appointed
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoHulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
57
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed there for one night and found it comfortable and warm albeit as mentioned elsewhere the rooms in the annexe are fairly small. However the Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate compensation offering a wide choise which was freshly prepared.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsaywWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Recently returned from a 3 day stay at 'The Brambles B & B' The overall feeling we had was of being 'home from home'. David and Alison the proprietors were really friendly and always ready with a chat on our return from a day out. The tea/coffee/milk(and mints) were refreshed for our return. Breakfast was good (my husband wholly recommends the Full English). The only thing of note to mention is that it is necessary to negotiate very narrow country lanes to get there. Look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I visited Devon for a wedding and booked two days at the Brambles. I can quite honestly say that this BB was a little gem. Very easy to find and in a beautiful scenic location. We stayed in the Garden Room which was cosy, light and comfortable. David and Alison were great hosts and take pride in the little business they run. Cooked breakfast was wonderful and set you up for the day. Thank you for a fabulous stay in Devon!!!

Room Tip: Garden Room had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARDN999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Tucked away down narrow country lanes we received a very friendly welcome from the family running this B&B. Overall we were very happy with our stay, the room was comfortable, clean and well presented in a beautiful rural location A few simple changes would take this property from very good to excellent. Signage to identify the property clearly would help, a little more insulation between the different rooms in the stables extension, all the lights to have bulbs in and why if you opt for a vegetarian breakfast do you get poorer value? Surely if you don't have the bacon and sausage it wouldn't be unreasonable to expect a couple more hash browns or tomatoes instead, after all you're paying the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornish-Food-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, anada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We just spent two nights at Brambles, which we felt was very good value. Although we'd requested the room in the cottage, it was unavailable, so we stayed in the Garden Room in the annex and were pleased that we had. Although it was not a large room, it was pretty, with a handsome and very comfortable bed, excellent linens, and good pillows. The room had an up-to-date ensuite bathroom with a generous shower. We had our own door directly outside and close to the parking area. We also had two large windows looking out on the garden and parking. Our communications by email were very good and David and Alison were excellent hosts, who try hard to please. Breakfast each day was unremarkable, but perfectly adequate. The location was convenient for exploring this part of Devon. We were able to find Brambles following our detailed map of the area. (Their instructions assume you are coming off the M5, which we weren't.). It would have helped us to know that the website photo is of the back of the cottage. We were looking for something that resembled the photo, which was a mistake as the cottage is immediately adjacent to the ever-so-narrow road.

Room Tip: The annex rooms make up in convenience what they lack in character. We would suggest asking for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here to 'break up' a trip from Worcester to Camborne. It was an off the cuff booking and went through with no problems. We were latish due to traffic congestion, but Alison understood, as she had heard of the problems on the radio.
The room itself was very nice and clean, and the bathroom had a bath with shower, so we had a choice.
There was a substantial complimentary tray of teas, coffee & chocolate drinks, along with TV that had freeview. Also, there was free Wi-Fi
Directions to Brambles were very accurate, even though you would think that you were going wrong due to narrow roads, you would eventually find your way there.
Next morning, we were cooked a lovely breakfast (cooked as we wanted it and not just 'plonked' in front of us), by Dave, and there was a selection of cereals and fruit juices as well as yoghurts.

Room Tip: Three rooms at low level plus one in house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiverton
4.5 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
365 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Angel Guest House
Angel Guest House
#5 of 32 in Tiverton
100 reviews
6.5 mi away
Henbere Farm Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 2 in Sampford Peverell
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brambles Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brambles Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brambles Bed and Breakfast
Address: Whitnage Cottage | Whitnage, Tiverton EX16 7DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brambles Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden and unspoilt, Whitnage, near Tiverton in Devon, is a quiet rural hamlet with panoramic views of the Culm Valley and the Blackdown Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brambles Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brambles Bed And Breakfast Tiverton, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing