We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but we felt a bit of a bother to owner.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 33 Tiverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had received directions from the owner ahead of coming but it is a very small place and it was dark. I saw a sign that said whitnage cottage and knocked. A friendly old man answered the door and informed me the bnb was actually next door! I apologised and as we were coming round the corner we were greeted by the bnb owner. " did you not read your directions? If you did you would have read it was here and that parking was down here." It was very dark and I explained I had knocked at whitnage cottage. "No that's little whitnage".

He then hurriedly showed me to my room which was beautiful. We asked about where to eat locally and he recommended a couple of places but then said he hadn't eaten there.

The shower in the bathroom was a hand held one and it was very difficult to get the temperature right. The bath although lovely and deep took a long time to fill up.

We were the only guests eating breakfast and we were greeted politely in the morning but again there was this sense of hurry, that we were a bit of a nuisance. He had to pick his kids up, he had to clean rooms.

I enjoyed the breakfast and there was plenty of choice on cereal and tinned fruit and yogurts. Cooked was delicious. However my partner didn't think it was worth £7.95.

The lady was lovely and warm on approach but unfortunately the man seemed irritated by our presence and appeared to us that he had much more important things to be doing than hosting us.

Lovely setting, beautiful room with comfy bed but attitude could do with a little adjustment from male owner.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Redbrit30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Me and my patner booked and stayed here for one night just as a little get-away and relax time away from home. Really enjoyed our stay, couldn't have asked for a nicer place. Very welcome, warm and cosy. Will definatley be recommending. Very quiet and subdude and very relaxing. Plenty of tea and coffee, even biscuits as a welcome! Everything we needed, was absolutley perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here whilst attending a local family event and it was delightful. Would definitely recommend, our kettle had even been freshly boiled ! Room was clean and welcoming, lovely on the wet and dreary day that we arrived. Great breakfast and friendly owners

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquib3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were a bit early, but allowed to check in. Lovely room. They offered to let us use their laundry facilities, which we gratefully did. Met the children and we chatted with them and watched their bike riding skills. Very clean, very quiet, good value. Make sure you get the instructions on how to get here. They recently revised them to make the route clearer. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at this B and B for one night recently on our way to Cornwall and I think it is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Our room was in the annex, it was very quiet ,clean and comfortable and can't be faulted. The owner gave us a very warm welcome and provided us with an excellent breakfast. I would definitely recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Received a warm welcome by the owner. We visited for a family wedding in the area & it proved an excellent base with the rooms giving us plenty of room to get ready etc. Rooms spotless, a very enjoyable breakfast & host very accomadating. Would recommended to anyone looking in that area

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Found this and was very pleased. Booked a couple of nights room only and very pleased. Nice owners. Very clean accomadation. Quite location. We will definatley use this one again. Add to my list of bb to use.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07071964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiverton hotels
4.3 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
174 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Fernside Bed And Breakfast
Fernside Bed And Breakfast
#1 of 33 in Tiverton
88 reviews
6.3 mi away
Henbere Farm Bed & Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Angel Guest House
Angel Guest House
#4 of 33 in Tiverton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brambles Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brambles Bed and Breakfast

Address: Whitnage Cottage | Whitnage, Tiverton EX16 7DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brambles Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden and unspoilt, Whitnage, near Tiverton in Devon, is a quiet rural hamlet with panoramic views of the Culm Valley and the Blackdown Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brambles Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brambles Bed And Breakfast Tiverton, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing