We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and welcoming stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Angel Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angel Guest House
Ranked #5 of 33 Tiverton B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very friendly and welcoming stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Angel Guest House on day 2 of our Land's End - John O'Groats trip and so had our bikes with us. The hosts are very happy having cyclists staying, which is great, it makes you feel less like you're being a nuisance with your bike in tow.

Our hosts were really welcoming and happy to help out. Our bikes went in their shed/garage at the back of the property. Apparently, we could also have opted for a sports massage as they're fully kitted out and trained to provide them in-house. I was disappointed I hadn't clocked this earlier!

Our room had all the basics and was bright and clean. It wasn't luxurious but that's not what you'd expect for the bargain price that it is.

Breakfast in the morning was good - porridge was thrust upon us with the sage advice "this'll kick in at 11am" and then there was the option for a full English afterwards (my boyfriend accepted, I just stuck with toast). It was nice to have someone fully appreciating the mammoth day we had lined up in a 'cyclists united' kind of way!

As we headed out of the door, we had our photo taken for their website - apparently they have a lot of LEJOG-ers and they like charting our progress. I thought that was a really fun touch and rounded off our stay nicely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
27
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Picked here on the basis of trip adviser, and couldn't be more right. Particularly amenable and 'Customer focussed' (as we now say) hosts. A pleasant, clean, Georgian town house with some parking to rear and some street parking in front. useful offer of packed brekkers for those Hot air Balloonists who use it, and just a very pleasant 10 minute walk to the Festival site.

Room Tip: All windows are double glazed I believe, so quite nicely quiet. we were at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

What a great B&B. no it's not a boutique B&B - thank goodness!
Super value, very clean. Yep shared bath / shower rooms but no problems as there with plenty of towels and hot water.
Great little pub round the corner with 4 super local cask ales and 4 ciders.
A quiet and great nights sleep followed by a top notch English breakfast.
Finally thanks to Chris and Sue the owners.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 22laf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Friend and I stayed here on the last night of our cycle tour of Somerset and Devon. We stayed for only one night, and arrived early. We called ahead as we were running ahead of schedule. It was no problem for us to drop our bikes and bags off before wandering round town. Had I done a bit more research I would have booked a sports massage, also available courtesy of the prproter's physio wife.

Room was lovely and even had a bath, not the usual showerroom. Slept really well and breakfast was spot on. Another place to revisit in the future.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent nights stay, the room was spacious, and the bed was comfy, a little road noise but I'm used to that! There was excellent recommendations for places to eat and drink, and they even didy breakfast early so I could set off on my ride in plenty of time! Best b and b en route so far!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

The photos show this guest house as somewhere you would like to stay. Unfortunately I will not be going back. The B&B is very old(not in a nice way), run down and in need of some tlc. My room had no towels - which i had to ask for. However the bathroom was so cold i couldn't shower there. The only saving grace was the breakfast - which was substantial and tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollidc, Owner at Angel Guest House, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Well thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Angel.

You are correct she is a little over 300 years old which leads to some issues and we are very aware that a full modernization would remove all the character from this venerable old lady and we have refurbished every bedroom with this in mind. So old certainly, but not in a good way? We think she's old in a wonderful way.

I am sorry you feel the pictures on the web site are not representative. We are still scratching our heads over this one, certainly the room you stayed in has had a full length mirror added, but otherwise is in the same condition now as when we put the four poster in there and took the pictures.

thank you for letting us know about the cold in the bathroom, you are the first guest to mention it and our local plumber is now quoting on a radiator for there.

The lack of towels was inexcusable, we endevour to keep standards of cleanliness very high, which is more of a challenge in a building of this age, but we certainly do provide towels (very nice ones from Ikea!) for all our guests so I hope you will forgive this oversite.

So you won't be returning. We're both sorry to hear that but a 300 year old B&B is not everyone's ideal.

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, all our ingredients are locally sourced (except for the beans which are HP) and we believe you can really taste the difference.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the Angel

Best regards

Chris Holliday
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Me and my friend stayed here while doing LEJOG (Land's End to John O'Groats) in September 2012.

We had booked the B&B's along the way purely based on a target daily distance and budget; it turns out our luck was with us on this night. The lady & chap that run the place are really friendly and really helpful.

They did some washing for us and sorted us out with some ice for my knees (that were on fire) without a second thought.

The room was nice, well decorated and spacious with it's own private bathroom that was nice and clean.

Breakfast was really nice and quite filling - brilliant fuel for the following day!

Long story short, excellent B&B, especially for cyclists doing any sort of tour.

(Apologies to the owners for taking so long to get around to writing a review!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiverton hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
355 reviews
5.1 mi away
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 33 in Tiverton
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lodgehill Hotel
Lodgehill Hotel
#19 of 33 in Tiverton
55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Henbere Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Chestnut House
Chestnut House
#12 of 33 in Tiverton
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Guest House

Property: Angel Guest House
Address: 13 St. Peter Street, Tiverton EX16 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'The Angel' Guesthouse is situated in Tiverton's central conservation area close to all the town facilities. 'The Angel' B&B makes an ideal base for visiting the unspoiled Devon countryside. Tiverton is centrally placed in Devon to visit Dartmoor, Exmoor and the North and South Coasts. Chris and Sue Holliday look forward to welcoming you to 'The Angel' B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Guest House Tiverton, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing