We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Angel Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angel Guest House
Ranked #5 of 32 Tiverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Solo travelling can be a bit dreary ie given the worst rooms, but I was made very welcome here. It was a return visit as I enjoyed my stay there before, so when I needed to come back to Tiverton, it was my first choice. To my delight I had an upgrade and stayed in a lovely room with quirky, stylish decor and a four-poster bed! The en-suite bathroom was nicely appointed as well, good shower. Breakfast was substantial with fresh, quality ingredients.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house to others. If anything, the parking can be a little tricky, but I wouldn't let that put you off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    28
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
28
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saintes, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great place to stay in Tiverton. Central location, easy to find and lovely period property. The hosts were extremely helpful, pleasant as were the two staff that I met. The cooked breakfast was first class and as good as I've had anywhere. The bedroom was adequate, using a shared shower room, both of which were spotlessly clean. I will certainly stay again and would recommend this guesthouse to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Househunter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This B&B is good value for money, located very close to the town centre and easy to find once you master the local one way system and drive past alternative accommodation on the bridge! The owner and staff are very friendly and they provide an excellent full English breakfast which I can certainly recommend. There is also a choice of cereal with orange juice, tea or coffee and toast. The breakfast certainly prepares you for whatever day you have planned.
The en-suite room we had was comfortable and cosy with free WiFi and coffee making facility.
There are limited parking spaces to the rear of the property which can be accessed from the road via an alley on the right, a few metres up from the front door, this is probably the only negative part of this B&B. The spaces are essentially on some derelict land, where there is plenty of space but it's private, so you will get clamped or fined if you should park outside of the allotted areas! If it should rain then there are some large puddles to contend with. There is some street parking near by but you will have to be conscious of the free and restricted periods.
Overall this is very good B&B and we wouldn't hesitate to stop there again should the need arise.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheReferee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Was clean and tidy. Room was perfect for us. Staff were reallly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and room rates very reasonable. Ideal location too. Thanks for a lovely stay, would def stay again and recommend

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beddy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed for two nights, can recommend this b&b as being good value with comfortable beds, an excellent cooked breakfast and friendly owners. There is a car park to the rear and the location is very central.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Friendly owners and staff, who dealt with any queries quickly.

Good breakfasts and free upgrade to en-suite.

Excellent value for money, particularly when booked via booking.com

Towels were a bit hard is the only minor negative that I can think of.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This B&B is over 400 years old, so has a lot of history, which I love. The hosts were very friendly and informative.The room was quite large, clean and comfortable, great breakfast, plenty of it. I also found the Wi-Fi connection very good. Not sure if I heard a ghost, thought my daughter was walking over to the bathroom and I was waiting for the noisy flush but nothing so I went back to sleep. Found out in the morning she slept right through the night. Anyway loved the B&B

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tiverton hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
365 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridge Guest House
Bridge Guest House
#12 of 32 in Tiverton
35 reviews
5.1 mi away
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Lodgehill Hotel
Lodgehill Hotel
#21 of 32 in Tiverton
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Guest House

Property: Angel Guest House
Address: 13 St. Peter Street, Tiverton EX16 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tiverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'The Angel' Guesthouse is situated in Tiverton's central conservation area close to all the town facilities. 'The Angel' B&B makes an ideal base for visiting the unspoiled Devon countryside. Tiverton is centrally placed in Devon to visit Dartmoor, Exmoor and the North and South Coasts. Chris and Sue Holliday look forward to welcoming you to 'The Angel' B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Angel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Guest House Tiverton, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing