We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Smithy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wiltshire...
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent 4 nights at Three Gates Farm and can thoroughly recommend
it. We stayed in "The Smithy" which was warm, cosy and spotlessly clean. Its 3 bedrooms all have ensuites. The kitchen is well equipped and the tv lounge is of a good size. The on site large indoor swimming pool was lovely. Three Gates is in a superb quiet location with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. We hope to return later this year.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie n
Sanquhar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely fantastic accommodation in a wonderful spot with great hosts.”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Three Gates Farm is a real gem. The two cottages we rented (Nuthatch and the Smithy) were clean, warm, well equipped and very comfortable. Touches like the cream tea on arrival and the pint of fresh organic milk made a great welcome after the long journeys of my party (Spain and Scotland) the log burner was great to curl up in front of. The accommodation is suitable for all ages with a great indoor swimming pool, sauna, and gym, games room with pool table,playbarea and lovely walks all around. Even our Dog Roy was thought off with towels to dry him off and his own Doggie information leaflet provided.Would most certainly stay here again and didn't want to leave. Well done Jonathan, Lynne and Ellie May.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJF22
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good and so convenient”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Three Gates Farm is in a fantastic position overlooking farmland where you can see for miles and so quiet! However the North and South of Devon is very accessible if you want to travel. We stayed in the Smithy which has 3 bedrooms, two bathrooms and a shower room. It was well presented, clean and very comfortable. We didn't use the pool as we had great weather and was 'out and about' but we were impressed with it and the other facilities.
And the Devon tea was great!

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 65+
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBish2014
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation. Great facilities”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed for a week in November and had a lovely holiday. This was our second visit as we had stayed in September 2011 on our honeymoon and because we had such a great time the first time we thought it would be great to go back. I was pregnant with my second child this time so my husband and I wanted an easy, low fuss holiday. Three Gates Farm offered all of this and more. We stayed in the Smithy which was immaculate and fully equipped with everything we needed. We organised an on-line grocery order that was delivered within an hour of our arrival. Our three year old daughter loved the outdoor play area and the ducks and chickens on the property. The swimming pool was great especially on the days we didn't feel like leaving the area. Lyn kindly organised a swimming lesson for our daughter as well as a horse ride and she absolutely loved it. We are now looking forward to our next visit to Three Gates Farm as a family of four.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamgard
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hill family. Great Winter Holiday”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great time at Three Gates Farm in The Smithy. A good all weather holiday as the heated indoor pool with its facilities are superb for a family. The accommodation was well maintained & warm enough, especially with the log burner on, creating a cosy feel to the living room. Its in a good central position for exploring Exmoor. Jonathan & Lynn make you very welcome without being intrusive (worth trying their eggs, freshly laid by their hens that morning). Would love to stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah N
Esher, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Location, Immaculate Accommodation, Gorgeous Pool”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just return from our third visit to Three Gates Farm in just over a year. We are a family of 5 and this is a perfect place to spend quality time together in wonderful accommodation. Three Gates Farm is situated in a beautiful quiet spot just outside the village of Huntsham (the roads are not remotely dangerous just average Devon country roads!!) The farm is set in from the road and each cottage has its own unique features. We have stayed in The Smithy and The Long Barn. The cottages are immaculate in every way, it is clear that Lynn and Jonathan take great care in their attention to detail and this is reflected in the cottages. Nothing is too much trouble and they made sure we had everything we needed for our young family. Having stayed over New Year and a particularly cold Easter the cottages were always so cosy and warm.

The biggest asset to Three Gates is a gorgeous heated indoor pool which is a must whatever the whether and the children loved swimming here everyday and over one holiday we booked swimming lessons too! The play area is also beautifully laid out and a lovely bench sits in a prime position for parents to relax whilst watching the kids play.

The surrounding area offers so much to do and Lynn and Jonathan are always on hand to offer tips and advice.

This is a wonderful place to come and have a break away from everything, it is blissfully peaceful and the stars on a clear evening are simply stunning!

We shall be back........!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing