We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional close encounters” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devon Badger Watch

Devon Badger Watch
Ranked #5 of 29 things to do in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A unique opportunity to see wild badgers who come very close to you on their own terms. Walk through beautiful scenery and woodland to a purpose-built hide overlooking the natural sett where you can sit comfortably to observe these fascinating wild creatures. A magical experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Exceptional close encounters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We visited Devon Badger Watch on late August and were fascinated and enthralled to see a group of badgers emerge from their den and forage just a few feet away.

We go badger watching in Surrey each summer but we have never be so up close and personal.

The evening started with a meeting in the 'interpretation centre'... An old farm building with a few sticks of domestic furniture and some home made posters. There was only four of us... It was not an auspicious start.

However our guide won us over almost immediately. Before we left the steading he showed us the roost used by a barn owl. As we walked on he began to tell us in encyclopedic detail about badgers and showed us where they had dug a small hole by the farmhouse.

After a short walk down the lane, through a small field and into a woodland, we arrived at an immensely impressive wooden hide. It had two rows of seats and windows at almost ground level.

We were settled, the windows were washed and dried and peanuts were put down to attract the badgers. As soon as our guide was back in the hide, he began an immensely informative whispered commentary.

Then a badger appeared... then another... then another!

We were rooted to the spot as they came closer and closer and closer until, if it hadn't been for the glass, we could have almost leaned forward and stroked them!

A small noise somewhere frightened them... they ran... but after a few minutes they came back again until all of the peanuts were finished and they went off foraging in the woods.

It was a remarkable evening. On our way back to the farmhouse, the path was lit but low level lamps.

We liked the feeling that we were in a ‘Richard Attenborough’ documentary with wild animals only two or three feet away and a whispered commentary about them just behind us.

We would have liked the ‘visitor centre’ to be a bit more professionally presented.

Top Tip: Take sturdy shoes. Don’t take a camera as, unless it is a special photography evening, no pictures are allowed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank twotravellersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgerannie, Manager at Devon Badger Watch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
After so many great reviews I have finally found out how to respond and found the time to do so!

Thank you for your appreciative review and I am glad you enjoyed your experience here.
We have worked hard over the last 18 years to accustom the badgers to people being in the hide and be comfortable with coming so close. We also try to be as informative as possible, so it is very gratifying to know that people like yourself appreciate the results..
We always warn people who want to bring children here about the need to be quiet and still in the hide but it is amazing how transfixed people become when these wild animals appear in front of them.
We appreciate your comment about the visitor centre. With very limited resources we do try to make the presentation as professional as possible and welcome any constructive suggestions for doing so. The information boards which contain information that does not require constant updating were professionally produced, the rest has to be prepared literally 'in house' to the best of Anne's ability.
Regards, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wild badgers so close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

What a wonderful experience. To sit in a comfortable hide being given so much information about badgers while watching 4 badgers eating only a metre from us through glass was amazing. A male, female and 2 juveniles plodded along their tracks and ate their fill for about 30 minutes so we could observe all their features. Having never seen a badger before I was very thrilled to be part of this wonderful experience. Would thoroughly recommend it although having to be very quiet for an extended length of time could make it unworkable for children.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taraterrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgerannie, Manager at Devon Badger Watch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
After so many great reviews I have finally found out how to respond and found the time to do so!

Thank you for your appreciative review and I am glad you enjoyed your experience here.
We have worked hard over the last 18 years to accustom the badgers to people being in the hide and be comfortable with coming so close. We also try to be as informative as possible, so it is very gratifying to know that people like yourself appreciate the results..
We always warn people who want to bring children here about the need to be quiet and still in the hide but it is amazing how transfixed people become when these wild animals appear in front of them.
We often find that it is the adults who have more of a problem with sitting still and keeping their questions until after we have left the hide!
Regards, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique Wildlife Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Would absolutely recommend this experience to any nature lover
staying in the North Devon area. Watching the badgers as they
emerge from the bluebells and head towards the peanuts and right up to the hide,
hearing the tawny owls and watching the woodmice zoom about - really unforgetable.
Kevin delivers a great deal of detail in the hushed tones necessary
not to scare the badgers and there's many a surprising fact over the hour or so.


Although the hide is extremely modern, heated (I think) and comfortable, don't expect
coffee, tea, a souvernir shop and badger themed t-shirts etc. This is first and foremost about the wildlife. Actually, maybe a cup of tea on arrival might have been nice though. And a tip box or somewhere to contribute to the upkeep of the badgers! But anyway, go if you're in the area - well worth it.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank agooday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgerannie, Manager at Devon Badger Watch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
After so many great reviews I have finally found out how to respond and found the time to do so!

Thank you for your appreciative review and I am glad you enjoyed your experience here.
We have worked hard over the last 18 years to accustom the badgers to people being in the hide and be comfortable with coming so close. We also try to be as informative as possible, so it is very gratifying to know that people like yourself appreciate the results..
Regards, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wild badgers up close!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

I'd never seen a wild (live!) badger, so seeing them was a highlight of our recent trip to the UK. The hide that Kevin and Anne have established for watching the "Barton Badger Clan" is amazing--the badgers were at eye-level, wild, on the other side of the window! Kevin taught us a lot about badgers--he's very knowledgeable, through learning from the research of others and from his own observations. Devon Badger Watch is a wonderful way of supporting sustainable tourism! Its FUN!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendlyVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgerannie, Manager at Devon Badger Watch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
After so many great reviews I have finally found out how to respond and found the time to do so!
Thank you for your appreciative review and I am glad you enjoyed your experience here.
We have worked hard over the last 18 years to accustom the badgers to people being in the hide and be comfortable with coming so close. We also try to be as informative as possible, so it is very gratifying to know that people like yourself appreciate the results..
Regards, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

I loved this attraction, it was so different to any other wildlife experience I'd had before. There is an interesting talk before you go to the hide. Then a short walk down to the hide where you are seated in front of a glass panel where your eyes are at just above the ground level outside. The host scatters peanuts in front of the outside of the hide and you just sit quietly and along come the badgers. I was surprised how quickly they came along, it was maybe only 10 minutes the night we were there before the first one came out. I think they stayed for about an hour the night we were there. They come almost right up to the glass by the end of the night so you get a really up-close-and-personal view of them. Whilst you are watching and when you are waiting for them to turn up the host continues talking giving more info about the badgers. We saw 5 on our night.

I don't think this is something you could get to with public transport so would need your own car. There is one toilet you can visit as you walk to the hide but none while you are in the hide so go at the beginning of the night if you need to. I don't think this is a wheelchair friendly attraction due to the downhill walk to the hide but you wouldn't need to be especially mobile or fit, it is quite a short walk. On regular nights there is no photography allowed, they sometimes do specific nights just for photography enthusiasts.

Helpful?
4 Thank LondonDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgerannie, Manager at Devon Badger Watch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
After so many great reviews I have finally found out how to respond and found the time to do so!
Thank you for your kind review and I'm glad you enjoyed seeing the badgers so close.
We have worked hard over the last 18 years to get them to come so close and feel comfortable with people in the hide.
Although it is difficult to get to us on public transport, we will always do our best to make it possible by collecting small groups (up to 4 maximum) from bus stops, bus station or railway station a few miles away.
Unfortunately it is not wheelchair friendly but still possible to get a wheelchair down and back to the hide with the help of a strong able assistant. Visitors would have to bring their own assistant who we would happily give a complimentary place to on evenings which are not fully booked.
Regards, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devon Badger Watch also viewed

 

Been to Devon Badger Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing