We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enrichening Experience with Friendly and Beautiful Environment”
Review of The Maltsters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maltsters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Tuckenhay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I want to share my most excellent experience that I had at the Maltsters Arms, Tuckenhay, over the August bank holiday weekend.

Upon driving down the quaint lanes we were rewarded by the scenic and beautiful Maltsters Arms. Not only was the setting, special, with the exclusive quayside presence, but there was a real buzzy atmosphere in all the many areas. Although George has only been here for a short while, he has not hung around and seems to be on a strong tragectory,

In addition to the fine food, good drink offerings and prompt service the creek is most charming. Furthermore the local area has much to offer during the day, including beaches on the south shore (Strete beach is simply awesome with its optimal grains; the right size that massages your feet but does not reside on your body and possessions for evermore) and Dartmouth itself.

One final thing, this Farrier54 chap; what planet is he on??! The rooms and facilities were absolutely fine. It troubles me greatly, that this chap could be presenting an entirely untrue picture of a simply magnificent pub/hotel.

George keep up the great work, I will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We recently stayed near Tuckenhay on the Bank Holiday Weekend and passed the Malsters Arms on our way to our B&B. It looked like a really fun place to go for some food and drink so we decided to head there the next day. We weren't disappointed! They had a band playing and an awesome boat that had it's sail as a projector for a wkd light show!! We had the mussels and the huge hamburger along with some lovely local beers. I gather that the owner has only recently taken over the pub but he seems to already have a loyal following. The terrace alongside the river was full of people enjoying themselves and all in all created a great atmosphere.
Good luck to the owner and we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Madeinbligthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

we just spent two nights at the maltsters arms tuckenhay.
its a nice quirky pub with good food and nice staff. the problem is the room we stayed in. we had the the the room called dukes, a large room we a view of the creek.
all sounds very nice . but the shower was broken the bath had cracks in and stains.
bedside lamp falling to bits the tv had one channel . The bed was not made the room was tired and grubby, and all for 85pounds a night.

Room Tip: go for a drink and a meal but do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Farrier54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeMWelsh, Owner at The Maltsters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2011

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your review and for staying at our pub. We sincerely apologise for your frustration over the room you stayed in, however we are very glad you enjoyed the food and our friendly staff.

We have just bought The Maltsters Arms and have been here for 2 months. It is very difficult for us to know where the problems lie without our customers speaking to us about the issues they find. We do regret you not informing us at the time as we would have been able to allay your frustrations.

We are due to submit a planning application to improve all of the accommodation and hope to start work shortly.

We do hope you come back to visit and would like to offer you a free bottle of wine with a meal.

Best wishes, George and Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I used to visit The Maltsters Arms while I lived in Devon in the 1990's - when it used to owned by Keith Floyd, and a few times under the subsequent owners. But I had never stayed here...

So when I was looking for somewhere with charm, quirk and stunning secluded location, it was the first place I wanted to try to book. When we arrived, it was two days after the ownership had changed hands, so this review may not be valid for any longer than the cross-over period. But I have every faith that the energy and direction in which The Maltsters Arms is being taken will succeed and that future guests will have the excellent time there that we did.

For me, it is all about the location: on the river Dart as it meanders into the estuary that concludes at Dartmouth. The banks are lined with verdant trees and the dusk provides all sorts of wildlife. To be able to sit with a pint of your favourite ale and relax in this hidden spot is good enough. That you then have a choice of remarkable, unique and quirky rooms to stay, is even better.

The food is good. Not as amazing as it once was, but not terrible. The breakfast however was way above standard - really excellent.

I look forward to dropping in next time I'm in Devon to see how it has progressed. I wish the new lads all the very best on what will be a great enterprise for them.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JonathanRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We came to stay just days after the pub changed hands and were very impressed. The room (Duke Suite) was spacious and well appointed with a fantastic roll top bath. The view over the river was amazing and we sat for over an hour watching the tide come in and the house martins feeding their chicks under the eaves just outside the window. Dinner was excellent, local oysters followed by a perfectly cooked rare fillet steak. Service was excellent and the selection of local ales went down a treat. This place has so much potential and the new landlord seems intent on preserving the feel of the place while improving and rejuvenating every aspect of it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaptHarryFlashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burghard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuckenhay
0.5 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
113 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4.8 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,045 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterman's Arms
Waterman's Arms
#1 of 3 in Ashprington
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maltsters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltsters Arms

Address: The Maltsters Arms | Totnes, Tuckenhay TQ9 7EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tuckenhay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tuckenhay
Price Range: £74 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Maltsters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maltsters Arms Hotel Tuckenhay
The Maltsters Arms Tuckenhay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing