We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food shame about the service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maltsters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maltsters Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Tuckenhay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice food shame about the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We visited just for a Saturday lunch after reading the publicity material about the new chef. The menu was not very exciting. My wife had the fish special, which that day was a whole plaice and it was good. i had the beef and vegatable pie which is basically small pieces of slow cooked beef, carrots and celery in an individual bowl with a pastry crust on top. The pastry was not properly cooked and the only vegatables served with the dish were a few new potatoes in a seperate bowl. Both bowls were served on a wooden board... very 1980's.
After ordering the 2 main courses it was almost 1 hour before any food arrived and then nobody came to ask if everything was ok etc. My wife then ordered a trifle which again took about 35 minutes to arrive.
Overall very average food at high prices ( £13.50 for the pie!) and extremely poor service. we will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerryAnneMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeMWelsh, Owner at The Maltsters Arms, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our pub. We are glad to hear that your wife enjoyed the catch of the day. However we are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your dish and that you felt that the service was of an unsatisfactory standard.

Our menu is currently in transition from summer to autumn/winter and therefore our customers' feedback is extremely valuable. We always planned to review the new menu after the first week which we have now done. We have taken on board your comments and any other feedback that we have received and made changes that we have felt are necessary including reducing some of the prices and we also changed the pie.

We are surprised to hear that you were disappointed with the service as this is something that we pride ourselves in. Although not an adequate excuse, we were having issues with our computerised till systems on the day of your visit which would have affected the service/wait times. However, we have also spoken to all of staff who were on duty and will ensure that future customers are not disappointed.

We really feel that your experiencewas a one off as we receive a lot of very positive feedback about our food and our service and hope that you will take this and the above into consideration and make a return visit. If you do we would like to compensate your poor experience with a complimantary bottle of wine with your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    74
    29
    16
    14
See reviews for
58
148
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We took refuge from the rain and had a lovely meal of dressed crab and mule frites washed down with a few pints of Devon Red cider. It was all very good and the staff were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 75jamie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

The most idylic location. We stayed in an utterly quirky room with a cracking view over the River Dart. Very comfortable and clean. Friendly staff, wow what a joy to be out of London. Food was really great and ale a little too good for my Sunday morning. I believe the place had just been taken over by the Landlord ( this season) so I can't wait to see how it is looking next spring (already in the diary). A hugley relaxing weekend in the greatest of settings, highly recommended, don't miss it, very few places like it left. It's got soul.

Room Tip: Not sure, ask for a view of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReginaldAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I want to share my most excellent experience that I had at the Maltsters Arms, Tuckenhay, over the August bank holiday weekend.

Upon driving down the quaint lanes we were rewarded by the scenic and beautiful Maltsters Arms. Not only was the setting, special, with the exclusive quayside presence, but there was a real buzzy atmosphere in all the many areas. Although George has only been here for a short while, he has not hung around and seems to be on a strong tragectory,

In addition to the fine food, good drink offerings and prompt service the creek is most charming. Furthermore the local area has much to offer during the day, including beaches on the south shore (Strete beach is simply awesome with its optimal grains; the right size that massages your feet but does not reside on your body and possessions for evermore) and Dartmouth itself.

One final thing, this Farrier54 chap; what planet is he on??! The rooms and facilities were absolutely fine. It troubles me greatly, that this chap could be presenting an entirely untrue picture of a simply magnificent pub/hotel.

George keep up the great work, I will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We recently stayed near Tuckenhay on the Bank Holiday Weekend and passed the Malsters Arms on our way to our B&B. It looked like a really fun place to go for some food and drink so we decided to head there the next day. We weren't disappointed! They had a band playing and an awesome boat that had it's sail as a projector for a wkd light show!! We had the mussels and the huge hamburger along with some lovely local beers. I gather that the owner has only recently taken over the pub but he seems to already have a loyal following. The terrace alongside the river was full of people enjoying themselves and all in all created a great atmosphere.
Good luck to the owner and we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeinbligthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

we just spent two nights at the maltsters arms tuckenhay.
its a nice quirky pub with good food and nice staff. the problem is the room we stayed in. we had the the the room called dukes, a large room we a view of the creek.
all sounds very nice . but the shower was broken the bath had cracks in and stains.
bedside lamp falling to bits the tv had one channel . The bed was not made the room was tired and grubby, and all for 85pounds a night.

Room Tip: go for a drink and a meal but do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farrier54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeMWelsh, Owner at The Maltsters Arms, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your review and for staying at our pub. We sincerely apologise for your frustration over the room you stayed in, however we are very glad you enjoyed the food and our friendly staff.

We have just bought The Maltsters Arms and have been here for 2 months. It is very difficult for us to know where the problems lie without our customers speaking to us about the issues they find. We do regret you not informing us at the time as we would have been able to allay your frustrations.

We are due to submit a planning application to improve all of the accommodation and hope to start work shortly.

We do hope you come back to visit and would like to offer you a free bottle of wine with a meal.

Best wishes, George and Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I used to visit The Maltsters Arms while I lived in Devon in the 1990's - when it used to owned by Keith Floyd, and a few times under the subsequent owners. But I had never stayed here...

So when I was looking for somewhere with charm, quirk and stunning secluded location, it was the first place I wanted to try to book. When we arrived, it was two days after the ownership had changed hands, so this review may not be valid for any longer than the cross-over period. But I have every faith that the energy and direction in which The Maltsters Arms is being taken will succeed and that future guests will have the excellent time there that we did.

For me, it is all about the location: on the river Dart as it meanders into the estuary that concludes at Dartmouth. The banks are lined with verdant trees and the dusk provides all sorts of wildlife. To be able to sit with a pint of your favourite ale and relax in this hidden spot is good enough. That you then have a choice of remarkable, unique and quirky rooms to stay, is even better.

The food is good. Not as amazing as it once was, but not terrible. The breakfast however was way above standard - really excellent.

I look forward to dropping in next time I'm in Devon to see how it has progressed. I wish the new lads all the very best on what will be a great enterprise for them.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JonathanRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuckenhay
0.0 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterman's Arms
Waterman's Arms
#1 of 3 in Ashprington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cricket Inn
The Cricket Inn
#1 of 2 in Beesands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Maltsters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltsters Arms

Property: The Maltsters Arms
Address: Tuckenhay TQ9 7EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tuckenhay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tuckenhay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Maltsters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maltsters Arms Hotel Tuckenhay
The Maltsters Arms Tuckenhay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing