We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Pubbing”
Review of The Maltsters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maltsters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Tuckenhay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is my new favourite pub! We live in London, and my wife and I like nothing more than to get out of town for the weekend and find a nice little pub (and B&B ideally) where we can let our hair down, have some good food, great wine and enjoy being in the countryside. We were down at The Maltsters Arms 2 weeks ago, which has an idyllic spot right on the River Dart, in a little place called Tuckenhay. The food was great, service was friendly & efficient and they had a great wine list, which we spent two days ploughing through. We stayed in the B&B as well, which was clean and well made up and enjoyed a full traditional English Breakfast they way it should be, before making our way back into town. Nothing more to say. Loved it! Well done guys

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samulph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Eaten here a few times and the food has never let me down. I've always thought the service could be a little 'happier' but the food makes up for it. On this occasion, a few of us decided to try out breakfast as it was such a lovely day. No staff seemed to know if they did breakfast, and when they did, it took the lad 20 minutes to find a menu (with no prices on!). Ordering our breakfast seemed too difficult for him, as we had a couple of simple modifications. It arrived, and for the price it was pretty small. I suggest if they are to do breakfast, they train the staff about it first!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank Anon3541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This has to one of the most idyllic settings for a pub i have ever stayed at. We used it as a base to explore the wonderful countryside and other pubs, but ended up eating at Maltster most of the time as the food was head and shoulders above the rest. Very friendly staff make it a very relaxing stay. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband have just returned from another wonderful weekend at the Maltsers Arms. The location, the food, the service, the rooms, the staff were all wonderful. Thoroughly recommend it for a great weekend away.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KatieMDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great service, very friendly family run pub and good food. Would highly recommend.we spent a very happy weekend at the pub and saw that is was a key part of the local community as well as being a destination in its own right. A perfect spot for a weekend away break.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectricBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Food rubbish, service rubbish, waited over an hour for food to arrive and then only when the waitress was asked again. So no change in service since 2011. Plus point, lovely location but my advice is buy some good local produce in Totnes and enjoy a nice picnic on the River Dart. Lots of good pubs in Devon, this is NOT one of them.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a great stay here recently with family and loved it. What a view to wake up to! And so impressed with staff and food... really couldn't fault it. Can't wait to go back again - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank frisbeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuckenhay
0.5 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
114 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterman's Arms
Waterman's Arms
#1 of 3 in Ashprington
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maltsters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltsters Arms

Address: The Maltsters Arms | Totnes, Tuckenhay TQ9 7EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tuckenhay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tuckenhay
Price Range: £73 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Maltsters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maltsters Arms Hotel Tuckenhay
The Maltsters Arms Tuckenhay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing