We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful, peaceful,and restful place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mole Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mole Cottage
Ranked #3 of 6 Umberleigh B&B and Inns
Amesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful, peaceful,and restful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed three nights in Mole cottage, and absolutely loved it. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable, and there was a beautiful view from our window. Everything was catered for.
Pauline and Marek were the perfect hosts, friendly and very attentive. The breakfasts were wonderful, but don't twist the pepper pot!! We hope to return soon. Dave and Gerry, Stonehenge, Amesbury

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I would take the 'terrible' review posted on here with a pinch of salt. Myself, partner and daughter stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013 (in the coach house). Yes there may well be old furniture that doesn't match after all it is a cottage and not a sterile modern hotel. For £90 a night we not only had a room but the coach house has a kettle, microwave, fridge, small hob, sink, crockery, iron etc. There is a double bunk bed set up which we found to be comfy. Plenty of towels and toiletries (shower gel, soap, shampoo) also provided.

On arrival there was milk, water, coke, beer in the fridge. We have never stayed anywhere before where the hosts were as accommodating and helpful as these. We were attending a wedding up the road and we were offered lifts to and from the venue. They were flexible with breakfast times too. Breakfast was a range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and the usual cooked breakfast. What more could you want?!

Yes it is by a road, not too noisy but cars do speed though (be careful with children). There is an outdoor area with seating and hot tub situated on the rivers edge (beautiful). We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 125Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in the Coach house. It was very damp and the bathroom smelt really bad. The place had a mish mash of old furniture and nothing matched, in fact, the decor was terrible. The Hotel inspector will have a fit! We found the bed set up strange, a double bunk bed. It was uncomfortable and my husband came home with backache. Right on the road and very noisy early in the morning. Nothing was very clean and we had to rinse it before use. If we were backpacking, would have been OK for £40 a night or so, but for £140 per night, expected more, and could have stayed in a clean, quiet Holiday Inn for less. Well overpriced! The people were friendly and helpful and breakfast OK.

Room Tip: The main house seemed better, avoid the coach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kersfees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, Shetland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed just one night on 10/6/11, having arrived at 10pm. We found our room clean, tidy & very comfy. We were asked what time we wanted breakfast, we chose 9am as we were due to leave for a wedding up the road. Pauline cooked us a wonderful breakfast & nothing was too much bother. After we loaded up the car, escorted by Marek our host with umbrella as it was raining. When the rain cleared Marek gave us a look at the deck, hot tub & outdoor area that can be used in summer - pity we didn't get to use it. In all this is a lovely place, in a fab quiet idyllic setting one day we will be back! Dianne & Austin from Shetland.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diddyman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umberleigh
0.7 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.8 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
4.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Molton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 6 in Umberleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mole Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mole Cottage

Property: Mole Cottage
Address: Mole Cottage Watertown | Chittlehamholt, Umberleigh EX37 9HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Umberleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mole Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mole Cottage Umberleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing