We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing week”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umberleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Ways Holiday Cottages
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing week”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay and are all disappointed that we didn't stay longer. My daughters (3 and 6) cried half the way home and made us promise to return next year! The accommodation was clean and well equipped. Sue and Anna made the farm yard experience every morning fun and informative. We felt part of the farm family sharing in the high and lows with the birth of the lambs and waiting for the arrival of pandoras foal. The farm yard club is at 10am every morning which is perfect as we didn't have to rush waking up and breakfast in the morning and yet still had the whole day to do something else all day.

The farm is also close to lots of different beaches and cute towns to visit.

Can't wait to return ! We fell in love with country ways as soon as we arrived

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penkou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Country Ways,for a special birthday celebration. 20 of us stayed in different cottages, pretty much got to see inside all the cottages and they are all lovely,our family stayed in the Warren which was well appointed with everything you could need,comfortable beds,very clean,dishwasher,tv,xbox ,and nice decor.though we did nt use it the laundry room looked fantastic,and love the fact you can put everything into recycle bins in kitchen and use all the eco cleaning products for washing up/cleaning that are provided.The farm itself is very very beautiful,with lovely woodland walks down to a river,great for the dogs.For the children there is a great play area,and the farm club each morning where they can learn about the animals,sheep,pigs,reindeer,alpacas,ferrets,chickens,ponies and more,they can help feed any orphaned lambs,and sue is great in explaining the animals daily needs and care, there is also a games room.Not too far to drive to villages, local pubs,beaches,town.Everyone in our party had a great time Sue and family are there if you need them but leave you to it so you feel like your in your own little village,will want to return someday very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

4 of us stayed in the Warren with our 2 dogs.
the cottage was beautiful, it was very clean, the beds very comfy and it had everything we needed, Our stay was perfect.
There were a number of small but important details that enhanced our stay, including - clean dish cloths and teas towels, salt, coffee, tea, tin foil etc in the cupboards, an Xbox, books on the book case and an iPod speaker dock that made what would have been an amazing stay an even more amazing comfortable and relaxing.

The facilities on site are great, there are washing machines, irons and tumble driers etc, table football and a few pieces of gym equipment if exercise is your thing.

The site is very well looked after and it is obvious a lot of time and love goes into the upkeep, the views are like something from a postcard and even in the rain and dull weather everything is stunning.
The location is easy enough to find with a sat nav, it does involve some small country roads but then it is rural Devon so should be expected.

The owner and her daughter were very friendly, accommodating and helpful and the farm just tops off what is already perfection.

I would live here forever if I could afford to but as I can't we are already planning a return visit for after next payday.

We fell in love with this place so much we have booked it as our wedding venue for next year. We can not think of a more perfect place to hold what will be the most special and important day of our lives. :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked The Den to stay for our friends' wedding in February. All of the guests stayed in different cottages, so we had the whole place to ourselves. If you're looking for a perfect retreat then this is it:beautiful cottages, each different and with their own unique features. It was very cold and windy but the cottages were toasty, comfortable and provided all you needed to relax, cook and sleep well. We had such a lovely time and would highly recommend a stay here. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england essex
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I got married in devon in July I booked my 8 guests into country ways and they all loved it especially my daughter and her best friend, sue was really good with them and they loved helping her at the farm and all the animals are clearly loved could not have picked a better place for every one to stay they all stayed in the warren and I enjoyed my visit

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank skyla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Orchard cottage was perfect for a new year getaway with our friends. Warm and welcoming atmosphere with a Christmas tree and decorations to make us feel at home. Facilities well used by our sons . They also loved farm club and in particular walking the pygmy goats. We've already re booked for next year. A fantastic place for all ages.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My family and I have just stayed at the 'Cuckoo's Nest' at Cottage ways. It is the perfect location to exploring Devon and the surrounding areas. The ambience of the cottages is superb with the actual cottages and the property being much more beautiful than it is shown on the website. The accommodation is very comfortable and very well maintained with very good heating and very good water pressure and never ending hot water!! The cottages do not have wifi but this can be obtained with a small donation of GBP1 per night. The wifi was very slow at times but overall we managed to use it. If you are visiting with children I suggest you take some games/entertainment as the tv reception is very poor and the few games that were provided were mostly for older children over 10. There was an xbox in the room with lots of games available in the common games area to borrow for free. The games area 'The Corn Barn' is very well equipped with a pool table (50p/game) and a table tennis, table soccer and a gym with an amazing view. The children can be very well entertained with the 'farm club' that runs daily at 10am. The owner and her daughter are very nice ladies that do their very best with extreme patience to ensure that the children have a good experience with feeding and meeting the animals and do not hesitate in taking more time for children that are shy with animals. The outside area's of the property is very entertaining on nice days for children also. Will definitely recommend this property and am looking forward to returning. A big well done to the hosts!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue-Countryways, Owner at Country Ways Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
I was sorry to hear that some problems were experienced with the wifi connection and the tv. Unfortunately this family were visiting during the extremely stormy weather and everyone in rural Devon was experiencing some problems with tv reception and wifi connections. In Devon we don't yet have high speed internet and sometimes in the more rural areas you have to make a few allowances. All the cottages have a selection of games available and if they are not appropriate then there are more available in the Corn Barn. I am a little baffled by the lower score for the rooms and cleanliness... if there was a problem I would have liked to be made aware of it at the time so I could immediately rectify it if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umberleigh hotels
2.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 6 in Umberleigh
136 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
105 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mole Cottage
Mole Cottage
#5 of 6 in Umberleigh
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travellers Rest Old Church B & B
Show Prices

Been to Country Ways Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Ways Holiday Cottages

Property: Country Ways Holiday Cottages
Address: Little Knowle Farm | High Bickington, Umberleigh EX37 9BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Umberleigh
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Ways nestles amid its own pastures and woodland with lovely gardens and breathtaking views. Barnstaple, Exmoor and the wonderful sandy beaches of the North Devon coast are within easy reach. The 6 beautifully converted stone cottages are well equipped and include a flat screen tv, X-box, dvd player, iPod dock and Wifi and provide generous accommodation for couples and families. We are wheelchair friendly with one cottage category 2 wheelchair access and we welcome families with children and dogs. We encourage children to help with our friendly animals which include miniature shetland ponies, miniature donkeys, pygmy goats, reindeer, alpacas, pet sheep, rabbits, ducks and more! The Corn Barn offers fun for all ages and includes table tennis, table football, a pool table and range of giant traditional garden games, whilst the outdoor Play Area with a trampoline, playhouse, climbing frame and sand table is popular with children of all ages. The whole complex can be hired for bespoke wedding weekends with the Corn Barn providing a unique venue for up to 120 guests. There is a full sound system with iPod dock, kitchen facilities and a marquee lawn and terrace which are perfect for outdoor catering,live music and dancing. We are open all year round with off peak and late/special offers. We look forward to welcoming you to Country Ways and sending you home relaxed, refreshed and revitalised! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Ways Holiday Cottages Umberleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing