We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hideaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umberleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Ways Holiday Cottages
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful hideaway”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for the first time whilst working an outside bar and catering for a wedding held here. I had a good look around and was amazed with how compact and intimate the location was. Beautiful scenery, the view was outstanding. Room for camping too and a decent marquee. Everything you would possibly need is available to you. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a venue for a wedding or party. Just lovely!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lillipeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Attended a wedding of friends here on Friday 18th July 2014, then stayed on site and continued with a BBQ the following day / night.

What a great wedding in fantastic surroundings with views to die for. Lovely accommodation and excellent location for walks, or drive to beaches west of Barnstaple.

Did not want to come home!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JimDev63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had my wedding at Country Ways weekend before last and my husband and I made the excellent decision of staying a week before the festivities to give us time to plan the finer details with close friends/family.
You are surrounded by beautiful countryside and in all honesty I could have very happily spent the whole week at country ways as there is so much to do. There is a farm tour every morning at 10am with a special wedding tour on Sunday at 11am for wedding guests. Sue and Anna are very happy to show you around and explain the farm and all the animals, Larry the Lamb is a real character and should have his own book series! We also took walks in the forest/valley as country ways own about 40 acres I believe. However you are also not far from Barnstaple or from the seaside with places like Ilfracombe and Westward Ho!, again with beautiful scenery and gorgeous in the warmer weather. These places also rent surfing gear for 10 pounds for the day so I'm told, so really worth it if you are a keen surfer or beginner!
The cottages themselves are very comfortable with all mod cons so a real home from home experience. We were able to accommodate 30+ guests over the weekend very comfortably.
The Corn Barn overlooks some beautiful countryside which made the wedding that extra special. The Barn accommodated our 50 guests very comfortably both for the ceremony and reception, but there is room to set up marquees for more índoor space'. My husband decided he wanted to have a bouncy castle instead.....which was brilliant and highly recommended if you have children at a wedding, we only had a baby but it was still well used by the adults!
All in all we had an unforgettable experience and we will be making family holidays to Country Ways in the future, Sue Anna and Andy thank you for everything and hope to see you again soon! Sarah

Room Tip: There is one cottage suitable for disabled visitors 'The Orchard'. The cottages are all sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had our wedding at Country Ways and it was brilliant. It was so relaxed and fantastic to be able to have everyone together for the whole weekend. It's perfect if you have lots of children coming to your wedding as there is so much to keep them entertained.

Sue and the other staff were so friendly, helpful and accommodating and we really couldn't have wished for any more. I would definitely recommend it, and not just as a wedding venue - the location is great and the scenery is beautiful. If you're contemplating booking a stay, I say go for it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just spent a week at Country Ways, with our daughter, son-in-law and grandson along with other family members and friends, culminating in a very memorable wedding ceremony and celebrations. The farm offers excellent, flexible accommodation in 6 cottages, all with most mod cons. Barnstaple and Bideford are close enough to drive to for replenishment of supplies and there is ample local provision of anything you might need for a wedding or other celebration. The owner, Sue and her daughter Anna are very happy to introduce guests to the farm animals and nothing was too much trouble. It is an ideal spot for young families, with beautiful scenery, access to the local area for walks and abundant wildlife nearby. Sunsets are fantastic viewed from the Corn Barn and the Dawn Chorus is amazing!

Room Tip: This is not a hotel and all the cottages are roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nickhowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledore, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a handfasting at Country ways in May.
The ability to book the whole complex of cottages & turn our wedding into a whole weekend was marvellous.

Not only were the owners really accommodating in helping us with the wedding, but throughout the weekend showing the kids around the farm & teaching them about the animals.

"wow, I could live here", was the response from everyone when they saw the cottages.

Brilliant open spaces to explore & one of the best places we have ever stayed.

Definitely want to come back for a weekend away.

thanks to Sue & Andy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We returned to Countryways at Easter for our 2nd holiday there, this time taking all the family so they could share the experience. We were not disappointed!! We all had a great time, using the a Warren and the Drey. All our eating was done in the Warren as the table and seating area had plenty of room for us all - 7 adults and a seven-year-old. The grown-ups were as excited by farm club as our granddaughter, we made good use of the woodland walks etc, but also had good days out locally. Sue Anna and Andy were as hospitable as ever, and the cottages were up to the usual standard.
Thanks all - we'll be back!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hildev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umberleigh hotels
2.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 6 in Umberleigh
131 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
98 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mole Cottage
Mole Cottage
#4 of 6 in Umberleigh
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travellers Rest Old Church B & B
Show Prices

Been to Country Ways Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Ways Holiday Cottages

Property: Country Ways Holiday Cottages
Address: Little Knowle Farm | High Bickington, Umberleigh EX37 9BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Umberleigh
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Ways nestles amid its own pastures and woodland with lovely gardens and breathtaking views. Barnstaple, Exmoor and the wonderful sandy beaches of the North Devon coast are within easy reach. The 6 beautifully converted stone cottages are well equipped and include a flat screen tv, X-box, dvd player, iPod dock and Wifi and provide generous accommodation for couples and families. We are wheelchair friendly with one cottage category 2 wheelchair access and we welcome families with children and dogs. We encourage children to help with our friendly animals which include miniature shetland ponies, miniature donkeys, pygmy goats, reindeer, alpacas, pet sheep, rabbits, ducks and more! The Corn Barn offers fun for all ages and includes table tennis, table football, a pool table and range of giant traditional garden games, whilst the outdoor Play Area with a trampoline, playhouse, climbing frame and sand table is popular with children of all ages. The whole complex can be hired for bespoke wedding weekends with the Corn Barn providing a unique venue for up to 120 guests. There is a full sound system with iPod dock, kitchen facilities and a marquee lawn and terrace which are perfect for outdoor catering,live music and dancing. We are open all year round with off peak and late/special offers. We look forward to welcoming you to Country Ways and sending you home relaxed, refreshed and revitalised! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Ways Holiday Cottages Umberleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing