We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travellers Rest Old Church B & B
Ranked #4 of 6 Umberleigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I am so pleased we stayed here sue and Deric could not do enough for all of us . We were working in Devon on a shop fit for a week .the rooms are very clean beds fantastic and the breakfasts second to none could not recommend enough thanks again from Steve and the boys .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevedrum93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

What an incredibly unusual place. An old church conversion is nothing new but the gothic features in this one are still in place and it has been lovingly and meticulously converted into a warm, homely guest house.

The owners, Sue and Brian Pope are painstaking in their attention to detail. They probably offer the best breakfast in the whole of North Devon! Nothing is too much trouble, even lifts to the station can be arranged. They love sharing their local knowledge and will give you hints and tips on where to visit and what to do during your stay.

The accommodation is themed, in a Regency and Gothic style. Green room, Blue room and Red Room are not ensuite but share a lovely bathroom. The West Room is the gem, with a concealed bath, WC closet, balcony, 4 poster bed and plenty of space. Very tastefully done and Sue provides all the comfort and amenities you would find in a top boutique hotel.

Finally, the location of the Travellers Rest gives you easy access to the coast, wild and rugged Exmoor and a great starting point to explore. Lots of local pubs in nearby villages, or challenge Derek to a frame or two of snooker. Highly recommended for a warm welcome, personal service and a great location.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank R1KCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Travelers rest old church is tucked away in the Devonshire countryside.....a hidden gem! We spent two nights in the West Suite to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room is amazing and very quirky. Loved the decor, atmosphere, facilities, oh and the complimentary sherry (yum!). However note that there is a bath with shower attachment in this room, rather than a stand up shower (my husband prefers a stand up shower but not a huge problem). All in all - what a stunning establishment. Sue and Derek were extremely attentive hosts, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was delicious with a lot of choice. We recommend dinner at the nearby Chichester Arms pub - delicious food, and my husband enjoyed the homemade cider at the Bell Inn pub. Would definitely recommend a stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bainesclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Lovely rural location with rolling devon hills around, quick car ride down the local country lane and your into Barnstaple, with some lovely beaches and towns nearby. The location itself makes it such a relaxing place away from the rush of normal life.

The B&B is excellent, and travelling with a young family you can go for the west suite and also take the seperate childrens room above, which when the kids are used to their own room at home makes for an ideal setup (& space).

The breakfasts were really good, and highly recommended.

Thank you Sue and Derek for making us feel so welcome, and looking forward to coming back again (hopefully) later this year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVG2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The location was perfect for our ancestral trail centred on South Molton & the stunning coastal scenery and walks were an easy drive. Breakfast at the enormous long wooden table was superb, freshly cooked using locally sourced food. You could choose the enormous full English or yoghourt and fresh fruit, depending on the mood of the day. There are excellent welcoming pubs nearby with varied evening meal menus, such as the Bell in Chittlehampton. Lounging in the deep leather settees in the evening rounded off the day and sleeping in a luxuriant 4 poster in total peace and quiet was perfect. Sue & Derek made us feel so at home that leaving wasn't easy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basnglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

This is the place to get away from it all and enjoy a fantastic location. It offers a perfect place to rest and forget about work. The breakfasts are out of this world, beats any hotel that I have stayed at and that includes those globally. Mein Hosts are perfect, couldnt ask for a better couple. Always making you feel welcome and at ease.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul-1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My partner and I celebrated our civil partnership at The Travellers Rest Old Church and couldn't have asked for anything better. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. Our hosts Derek and Sue were brilliant in creating an informal, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The main church room was decorated beautifully for our civil partnership ceremony with flowers collected locally and made into wonderful displays. Sue created a lovely Devon cream tea for our afternoon reception with cakes, scones, chocolate strawberries and other tasty treats!

Our room, The West Suite, is advertised as their premier room and it didn't fail to impress with a luxurious four poster bed, a private conservatory with views over the beautiful countryside as well as a whole host of extras to make everything that bit more comfortable.

As well as the great accommodation indoors Sue and Derek have a lovely garden which is ideal for sitting in on a summer evening.

Some friends and family also stayed at The Travellers Rest and said their experience was just as good as ours. Guests at the ceremony commented that they'd be making enquiries about their own stay there!

The Travellers Rest is the true definition of a hidden gem.

I really could not rate this place any higher and cannot wait to make a return trip!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malpasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umberleigh
5.0 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
597 reviews
5.8 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,324 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
673 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
The Portsmouth Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Umberleigh
110 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 6 in Umberleigh
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Rest Old Church B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Rest Old Church B & B

Address: | Cobbaton, Chittlehampton, Umberleigh, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Umberleigh
Price Range: £83 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travellers Rest Old Church B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers Rest Old Church B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Rest Old Church B & B Umberleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing