We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome find of a site!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An awesome find of a site!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having booked into Oakdown for our first ever caravan trip we were very nervous! The site staff couldn't have been better - friendly and helpful; nothing seemed too much trouble. The pitches are all flat and spacious. The showers and toilet block are more akin to a hotel then a campsite! The site is located close to the donkey sanctuary (a free attraction) and not far for a day trip to Exeter or Lyme Regis. No wonder this site appears in the Best of Britain list! We are definitely returning and I am sure this will become a regular destination for us as a family!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    44
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
161
121
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We've stayed at Oakdown quite a few times, beginning in the 1990s. On this occasion we stayed in a leisure lodge, but have previously done 'proper camping' here, too. We've camped all over Europe, and Oakdown is truly amongst the very best we've seen.

The whole site is maintained in pristine condition, and the staff friendly and helpful. If you're camping, the pitches are large and flat. There is a warm, clean and well-equipped facility block with toilets, showers, baths, as well as a fully-equipped laundry room and a games / tv room.

Along with the camping, touring van and motor-home pitches, much of the site is now given over to the leisure lodges. These are spacious, very well equipped and (as with everything at Oakdown) immaculately presented and maintained. All home comforts are there, with full central heating, microwave, fridge-freezer, DVD player, and TVs in the lounge and main bedroom. Wi-fi is available through the park, a weekly voucher costing less than £1 per day.

Oakdown is not the place to come if you're looking for a clubhouse, bar or on-site entertainment. There are none of those things. It is a quiet site, and that is one of the main attractions. Children are catered for with a grassy, well-equipped playground, and the TV / games room. On the other side of the lane is a newer area for touring vans, and a shop / cafe which also serves the pitch & putt course.

There is plenty to do and see nearby. The world-famous Donkey Sanctuary is a pleasant walk from Oakdown. Nearby are Sidmouth, Lyme Regis, the famous quarry caves at Beer, the tramway at Seaton and the Pecorama model railway park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingojesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for two night in late May - Really friendly staff with excellent facilities including toilets, showers, shop, cafe etc.

Only two minor niggles - perhaps a few lights which reacted to movement when you have to go to the loo at 3am or even better ....Its quite a walk from the top end of the camp so how about a "mini" toilet block a bit nearer.

Putting those aside though I have to throughly congratulate you on exceptional levels of customer service and the fantastic attitude of staff - always with a friendly hello or comment no matter who it was.

Hoping to come again soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were staying with friends overnight and we felt the site was superbly looked after, the toilet/wash block was possibly the nicest we had ever used. We particularly liked the information about radar and local history posted on the wall there as you go in.

We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali F, Manager at Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, "a gem of a site" and that you'd love to return! its also great to see our guests appreciate the information provided about the radar station, what could we do to improve our rating to a 5 star?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
3.5 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
3.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
513 reviews
3.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
2.4 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park

Property: Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park
Address: Gatedown Lane | Sidmouth, Weston, Sidmouth EX10 0PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth > Weston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winner in the Devon Tourism Awards 2016 AA Best Campsite for England and Overall Winner 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016 For over forty years Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park in Devon has been carefully fashioned by the Franks family, from the open Devonshire meadowland to its current multi award winning standard. No straight lines here, just gentle curves, spacious groves, seclusion, privacy and peace and quiet. Oakdown is Sidmouth and East Devon's only AA 5 Pennant Park and is delighted to announce that it received Practical Caravan Best Green Site 2013 ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park Devon/Weston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing