We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straightway Head House
Ranked #2 of 3 Whimple B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were sorry this was just for one night. We can't fault anything. We were welcomed with an offer of tea (with hot scones, jam and clotted cream and home made cake) in the conservatory. Our room was extremely comfortable and quiet and the bathroom was well equipped - loved the fluffy towels. Breakfast was everything I love - fresh fruit with yoghurt, home made granola. Sorry to say goodbye.

The one downside was that I returned to our far from perfect, very muddly home!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwynethBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

What a joy to share Cally and Mike's home with them - if only for a short time. The three important things we want when away: the place, the people and the food - all were excellent. The lovely human warmth and kindly help we needed in an area totally new to us was there in abundance. Mike even went and collected my daughter from the local railway station when he'd only just returned home. They'd never even met each other before! We were particularly struck by the attention to detail on many different counts. So, if you've had a tense week in London this is the place to go and chill.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A lovely warm welcome from Cally the owner , made me feel very at home on my 3 night stay .
The place was spotless , rooms extremely comfortable , en-suite modern bathroom.
I had a great nights sleep in the luxurious kingsize bed (so much so, I will purchase the same brand for myself when a new one is required ).
The breakfast spread was fit for a king , spoilt for choice.
I was very disappointed I had dinner arrangements all week, because if the standard of breakfast was anything to go by I would have loved to have tasted an evening meal , definitely next time , yes there will be a next time !!

highly recommended , go try for yourself

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrhunt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Two years ago on a trip through the Southwest we happened to stumble across Straightway Head House B&B. We wanted to stay a night, yet ended up staying almost a week.
What a most fortunate coincidence to have found this place!
We felt comfortable and quite at home in the luxurious and stylish atmosphere of this formidable house, so we came back the next year, and it certainly won´t be our last stay there.

We wish to express our heartfelt thanks for the gracious hospitality we found at Straightway Head.
And Carolyn - special thanks for your gold medal cuisine.
We will certainly recommend Straightway Head House to our friends.
Erik W. and Ursula Thomas
Windhagen, Germany

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erikthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Straightway Head House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straightway Head House

Address: Whimple EX5 2QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Whimple
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whimple
Price Range: £98 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast (dinner available) set on a quiet country lane on the edge of the village of Whimple in beautiful East Devon, only a few miles from the A30. Cally and Mike offer you the warmest welcome to their Country House bed and breakfast where you will enjoy every comfort in stylish bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Straightway Head House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straightway Head House Whimple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing