We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Woodhayes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodhayes Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Whimple B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had a lovely one night stay at Woodhayes. We arrived to a warm welcome of afternoon tea and cake in the Drawing Room. The Country house has a lovely atmosphere - being beautifully decorated and furnished to a very high standard but maintaining a relaxed and comfortable feel. The breakfast was excellent - we shall certainly be back when visiting friends this way again.
Highly recommend this Hotel if you are needing to stay in the Exeter area.... it is most definately worth spending a few pounds more due to the cleanliness, high quality bedding/furniture/bathroom fittings/space and general ambiance - and to top it off an exceptional breakfast

Room Tip: Don't think you will be disappointed with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

We had an excellent 2 night stay made special by the warm reception and helpful hosts.
Attention to detail is superb and the rooms are a joy to stay in - we stayed in the Kadinsky room and recommend it highly.We will be staying again very soon

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandSBoradstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay with my partner and baby, what a wondeful hotel, our room was large and very comfortable, the views over the garden are lovely, it's a beautiful location with a very welcoming atmosphere, the breakfast menu and quality of food was superb, we will definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mert-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I honeymooned here and were met with a friendly welcome, refreshments in the drawing room and a bottle of chilled champagne in our room!

Dominic and Tony offer a unique experience at Woodhayes:
- Customer service that surpasses 5* because it's combined with genuine warmth and helpfulness. This began prior to our stay with recommendations of where to dine and suggested booking deadlines. All of the local restaurants and pubs that we experienced offer good to excellent food and need to be booked in advance Thursday to Saturday due to their popularity.
- A lovely quiet house with wonderful grounds. Set on the edge of a small village there is no traffic noise and the only visitors are guests and people who supply services to the house. Having no bar/restaurant means that it is peaceful. The house is only a short walk from the village so you don't have to rely on taxis all the time. The gardens are substantial and offer 360 degree views from the house.
- Stylish mix of old and new. The house is old and retains some original features yet has been refurbished throughout having modern conveniences such as the wet room/walk in shower in our room (The Vettriano) with heated towel rails, bathroom floor etc and a contemporary design. This works extremely well and feels homely yet special at the same time.
- The room was serviced daily and re-stocked with bottled water, tea/coffee, milk, biscuits, toiletries etc.
- Breakfast was delicious! A wide choice on offer in addition to the standard buffet. The cooked breakfast is very tasty and I believe grilled/oven baked as opposed to fried as it wasn't greasy. Guests are asked to complete a slip the evening prior to advise of requested seating time and breakfast required. This is entirely reasonable and worked very well for us.
- Great location for access to the coast, Dartmoor etc being no more than an hour's drive. We took our bikes and were able to keep them in the woodstore which meant they were protected from the elements and we didn't have to keep strapping & unstrapping them to the car.

Overall I would say Woodhayes was perfect in every way. It was exactly as promised on their website and made our honeymoon truly delightful. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: The Vettriano is one of the largest. It is double aspect with views over the gardens, privacy and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Tony and Dominic have an absolutely incredible boutique hotel which combines the feeling of a welcoming home with utter luxury! My mother and I stayed here for two nights and had to drag ourselves away. The hosts' hospitality was felt immediately when on arrival we were treated to tea and cake in the guest sitting room. Their consideration was not only in their welcome, luxurious decor and delicious breakfasts, but continued even after our departure! Unfortunately we forgot some of our luggage which was returned compliments of Woodhayes. Such kindness deserves to be mentioned! I hope many others enjoy the spendour and hospitality of Woodhayes and the beautiful village of Whimple! We certainly hope to return...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ffgghhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at Woodhayes for a friend's birthday celebrations and had a fabulous time at this stylish country retreat. Rooms are very well appointed with gorgeous bathrooms, huge comfortable beds and all mod cons . Breakfast was just the best and Dominic and Tony are the perfect hosts. there are a couple of great pubs nearby for lunch and dinner and lots to explore along the coast. I recommend it highly and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed in the lovely coach house in the grounds of the Woodhayes House. We were greeted on arrival by one of the lovely owners Tony and shown around our lovely comfy yet stylish cottage and were even provided with a bottle of nice wine, home-baked gorgeous cake and fresh bread for breakfast (great after a long drive when you can't face the supermarket). The grounds are stunning anf the village of Whimple is perfect for a relaxing retreat. We travelled with another couple and our two little ones and they simply loved walks around the beautifully maintained gardens. Such a treat to feel so welcomed even with two little ones on board! Would reccomend to friends and family. Superb

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjoy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Woodhayes Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodhayes Country House

Address: Woodhayes Country House Woodhayes Lane, Whimple EX5 2TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Whimple
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whimple
Price Range: £75 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodhayes Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodhayes Country House is an 18th-Century Georgian Villa, nestled in a tranquil rural setting on the outskirts of the village of Whimple in East Devon and within easy reach of the bustling Cathedral City of Exeter and the spectacular World Heritage Jurassic Coastline. Guest accommodation comprising a luxury boutique B & B in the main house, with very spacious rooms, stylish interiors and elegant period features, as well as two private luxury self catering holiday cottages, all of which are set within five acres of formal gardens and paddocks. Whether you’re on business and in need of a quiet pit-stop, or looking to get away from it all for a few days’ leisure, at Woodhayes you will enjoy exceptional comfort, warm and friendly hospitality and plenty of space to unwind and relax. Simply the greatest luxury bed and breakfast in Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Woodhayes Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhayes Country House Hotel Whimple
Woodhayes Country House Whimple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing