We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodhayes Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Whimple B&B and Inns
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect all round”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The decor and ambience of this B&B feels like a four or five start hotel. We stayed in the Van Gough room (all the rooms are named after painters) which is a good size with a huge bathroom with a large heated towel rail. Molton Brown soap was an added bonus. The owner was very helpful and recommended two local pubs which were within easy walking distance.
Breakfast was excellent in the lovely breakfast room. Cooked items were made to order and you could help yourself to fruit salad, yoghurt etc.
As a PR person I was very impressed by the branding and professional approach of the owners.

Room Tip: We only saw our room - the Van Gough which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
72
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West of London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was a wonderful and peaceful overnight stay at a high quality guest house in secluded surroundings, but with village amenities close by. Very convenient for Honiton, Exeter and East Devon generally. We were greeted and offered help by our host, shown to our room and around the communal guest facilities before enjoying a welcome pot of tea and home made cake in the lounge. The room and en-suite were beautifully presented, comfortable and quiet; a superb breakfast menu did not belie the food we received. An excellent all round experience which we will repeat.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe double and were very happy but the overall quality suggests all the rooms would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmersBoy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

There is nothing negative to say about this place at all. It is beautifully presented, spotlessly clean, comfortable large rooms, comfy beds and great hosts. The breakfast was also very tasty with good service.

Had a lovely stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Very comfortable, spotlessly clean, spacious, very quiet, beautiful location out of town.
Breakfast is a very pleasant experience.
It's easy to get into Exeter (car or direct train); I'd much rather stay here than in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We broke our trip to Penzance here and what a find! We (myself, wife and boisterous 10 year old boy) stayed in the Kandinsky room. The room was spacious and very warm, with very comfortable beds and was nicely decorated; there's nothing ;tired' at Woodhayes. Excellent breakfast the next morning and we went on our way thoroughly refreshed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny South West
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed overnight with family and friends whilst having a celebratory dinner at a nearby restaurant and all three rooms we had booked were superb and were just perfect for our needs. The property is full of character but has lots of lovely modern touches making it a fantastic choice for a short or long stay. Breakfast was also first class, plenty of choice, freshly prepared and set us up for the rest of the day. Dominic & Tony gave us all a nice friendly welcome and we would certainly not hesitate to book again if we were looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scratchgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

What a fantastic B&B this is! Beautiful country house in lovely grounds. We stayed in the Vettriano room which is very spacious with a gorgeous bathroom. Tony and Dominic are wonderful hosts, welcoming and friendly. Also very knowledgable about local restaurants, pubs, places to visit etc. the breakfasts were beautifully cooked with a great choice. We spent 3 nights here but could have easily spent more time in this lovely peaceful relaxing house. Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated with a great comfortable bed! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend if you are in this area - this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whimple
1.6 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
20.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
6.2 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodhayes Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodhayes Country House

Property: Woodhayes Country House
Address: Woodhayes Country House Woodhayes Lane, Whimple EX5 2TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Whimple
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whimple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodhayes Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodhayes Country House is an 18th-Century Georgian Villa, nestled in a tranquil rural setting on the outskirts of the village of Whimple in East Devon and within easy reach of the bustling Cathedral City of Exeter and the spectacular World Heritage Jurassic Coastline. Guest accommodation comprising a luxury boutique B & B in the main house, with very spacious rooms, stylish interiors and elegant period features, as well as two private luxury self catering holiday cottages, all of which are set within five acres of formal gardens and paddocks. Whether you’re on business and in need of a quiet pit-stop, or looking to get away from it all for a few days’ leisure, at Woodhayes you will enjoy exceptional comfort, warm and friendly hospitality and plenty of space to unwind and relax. Simply the greatest luxury bed and breakfast in Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Woodhayes Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhayes Country House Hotel Whimple
Woodhayes Country House Whimple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing