We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodhayes Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Whimple B&B and Inns
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Rate Accommodation”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

First rate accommodation, hospitality and service. Very friendly and welcoming with an excellent breakfast. Highly recommended. Based in a nice quiet location but not too far away from town. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieG932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
75
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

From our personal greeting by Dominic on our arrival , the beautifully appointed, spotless room with many thoughtful touches (fresh milk in our personal fridge ,bottled water nicely chilled, lovely bathroom products etc). To the advise for our precious one evening out ,minus young children and on to a magnificent breakfast which I think could include any breakfast combination you could come up with. This place is an absolute gem , run by people who understand the requirements of their cliental and definitely understand how to treat their guests.... Thank you very much we will be back....

Room Tip: We stayed in the Picasso room which was beautifully appointed and more than adequate for our stay. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently had a one night stay at Woodhayes and couldn`t have wished for a better palce to stay. On arrival (after driving for some distance) we were asked by the owner, Dominic, if we would like tea or coffee. We readily accepted the offer and after putting our bags in the bedroom went down to the drawing room where a "proper" pot of tea was waiting along with two slices of cake. A very nice touch and well appreciated. Woodhayes is situated on the edge of Whimple village, in a quiet location down a country lane. The place is immaculate, bedroom was light and airy and extremely clean. You are asked to submit your choice for breakfast the night before, several choices including full cooked breakfast, continental, croissants - more than enough to set you up for the day. The girls serving at breakfast were friendly and proficient - nothing was a problem. We would have no hesitation in staying at Woodhayes again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouzoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Country house in quaint English village. Quiet location, spacious room, clean, Molton Brown toiletries a luxurious touch. Lovely 3 days here, fell in love with the village of Whimple. Charming, welcoming, good pub grub, lots of places nearby to visit Drawing room a lovely place to relax and plan your next trip. Excellent host, very good breakfast. Stayed in Dali room, large and airy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 846Tina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights over the August bank holiday weekend as a stopover between Cornwall and the Cotswolds, but it turned out to be so much more than that! The least expensive place we stayed at during our holiday, but our favourite (and I can be a harsh critic!). A great warm welcome from the owner, glorious gardens, a lovingly restored Georgian building, spotlessly clean rooms and communal areas with elegant furnishings fitting for the building, towels, napkins and tablecloths which seemed brand new, Molton Brown toiletries, an enormous room, friendly and professional staff and a wonderful breakfast - we really could not have asked for more. We will be highly recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank satonamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend in August 2013 in the Vettriano room along with my mother in law in the Dali room. Both rooms were extremely well appointed and very spacious with huge bathrooms. We had wonderful views on two aspects of the beautiful gardens and rural location.

We received a very warm welcome from Dominic with tea and cake on our first day and enjoyed 3 wonderful breakfasts during our stay. Teas, coffees and biscuits are provided in the spotlessly clean room along with a mini fridge and flat screen TV.

The hotel is perfectly located on the edge of Whimple village allowing a 5 minute walk to two very nice pubs. But a 10 minute drive away is the Jack in the Green pub/restaurant which should not be missed, offering excellent food for very reasonable prices. We wanted a base to explore South Devon and Woodhayes couldn't have been better placed allowing us to get down to the English Riviera in about 30 mins or over to Dartmoor in just a bit longer.

Being off the beaten track it is very peaceful and the silence at night is almost deafening, enabling a wonderful nights sleep in very soft beds.

We wouldn't hesitate to book the Woodhayes again!

Room Tip: Didn't see all the rooms but I can't imagine there is a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohntheBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked 3 rooms for a family get together. The accommodation is first rate with spacious rooms and tasteful decor. A truly beautiful well maintained house with extensive well maintained gardens in a peaceful rural location yet close to Whimple village. Breakfast provided a wide choice and the service and quality were excellent. A visit we will remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whimple
1.6 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
131 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
8.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,291 reviews
6.2 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
205 reviews
20.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodhayes Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodhayes Country House

Property: Woodhayes Country House
Address: Woodhayes Country House Woodhayes Lane, Whimple EX5 2TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Whimple
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whimple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodhayes Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodhayes Country House is an 18th-Century Georgian Villa, nestled in a tranquil rural setting on the outskirts of the village of Whimple in East Devon and within easy reach of the bustling Cathedral City of Exeter and the spectacular World Heritage Jurassic Coastline. Guest accommodation comprising a luxury boutique B & B in the main house, with very spacious rooms, stylish interiors and elegant period features, as well as two private luxury self catering holiday cottages, all of which are set within five acres of formal gardens and paddocks. Whether you’re on business and in need of a quiet pit-stop, or looking to get away from it all for a few days’ leisure, at Woodhayes you will enjoy exceptional comfort, warm and friendly hospitality and plenty of space to unwind and relax. Simply the greatest luxury bed and breakfast in Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Woodhayes Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhayes Country House Hotel Whimple
Woodhayes Country House Whimple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing