We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really excellent facilities and restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really excellent facilities and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Woodbury Castle is in a maze of typical Devon lanes close to Exeter but right out in the country: Our SatNav was a big help in finding in, especially on a dark and rainy August night! The hotel block, located on the edge of a well-known golf course seems relatively new, and the rooms are mainly around a full-height atrium which has the main restaurant at ground level. The check-in and other services were excellent, and the large, well-fitted and -equipped room was fine. The locally-produced food was specially welcome and a special feature of both the dinner and breakfast menus. The fish (and really superb large mussels, and then the proper on-the-bone kippers for breakfast) was all from nearby Exmouth, the free-range eggs are from Topsham just four miles away, and the meat is similarly locally produced. What a pity we could only stay one night: we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    160
    81
    39
    22
See reviews for
89
174
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Just returned from a 1 night stay in the most beautiful hotel! stayed in a master suite, which was like an apartment, jacuzzi bath, front room four poster bed and room service. Ultimate chilled experience. Got the food sent to the room and the food was A1! Excellent service and staff were really accomodating and no request was too much! The views were amazing. Got to see some famous footballers as well, (unfortunately it was the Liverpool squad who stayed there recently). But will definitely return. First class!! Anybody who slates this place must be too well travelled or spoilt or both in my opinion!

Room Tip: Merehaven suite - bodyzone package for the ladies!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

I, like some other reviewers, are quite mystified by the poor reviews given for this hotel. I read the reviews on the afternoon of arrival but before walking in the door and started to have some serious misgivings. However, the hotel was very good. Receptionist was attentive and pleasant, the bedroom quiet and of a reasonable size.

So, hotel restaurant? Again, we were expecting horrors, but no, it was very good, if not excellent. Orders taken at the bar, we were then escorted to the table just before the first course arrived. Bread was very fresh and good, the actual meals were perfect.

Complimentary gym membership gave access to the good sized pool and workout area upstairs – much bigger than the average 4* hotel equipment selection (in good condition, too). This was a separate part of the building with its own entrance.

A couple of negatives – no aircon in the room, and the bed was a bit lumpy. Apart from this I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Room 101 is right by reception - go for room 105+ to make sure you are far enough away not to be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Travel_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I cannot understand any of the bad reviews left about Woodbury Park, to clarify for anybody thinking of staying here, the building is spotless everywhere, all of the staff are incredibly friendly and it seemed to us they are only too happy to help and a couple went very much out of their way to help, the very friendly receptionist searched every empty room to find a particular type of pillow, notably Joe the General manager was particularly helpful and really does know his wines, Claire in the Atrium Restaurant was also very attentive.

The food in the evening in The Atrium was fantastic and believe me when I say we are not particularly easy to please! The portions were perfect and all very reasonably priced for anyone who knows anything about food! Menu was varied and interesting.

The only smell in any of the building was the clean smell of chlorine as you approach the pool! All in all a very enjoyable 2 day break for our party of 4 and we will return before christmas, thankyou everyone at Woodbury Park and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Apparently a 4 star hotel,you got to be kidding me!My room had no air conditioning and the heat was quite uncomfortable even with the windows wide open.No mini bar,no safe,bed seriously uncomfortable!The food in the main resteraunt was not worth waiting for,when it finally arrived it looked and tasted like a value microwave meal.Staff were pleasant enough but all seemed very young and inexperienced,cheap labour = poor service.Is this establishment also run by children??Formula 1 legend Nigel Mansell has a museum based here but guess what-it was closed.The leisure centre is in need of a revamp,the swimming pool area and changing rooms were filthy.Staff here just seem to stand around chatting amongst themselves,no lifeguard on duty either!!
On the plus side it is set in a magnificent location,the views are splendid.Woodbury Parks golf course was fantastic,the greens were cut to perfection and very challenging.
Basically if it's golf you want it's the place to go,otherwise stay away.Massively overpriced and stuck in the dark ages,very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clairecookson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This place is in a good location and has an acceptable level of comfort and facilities, although the stair well and my room had an odd stale smell. With the exception of one member of the reception staff they were all friendly, sadly though they were all pretty badly trained and therefore in all cases fairly useless at what they were supposed to be doing. In all aspects of my stay I very much felt that I was there on the terms of the staff and what they were prepared to do, at no stage did any of them anticipate my needs or go any way to make my stay comfortable and relaxed. The evening meals were of a decent quality but I felt completely abandoned by the staff on all 3 nights, plus the length of time between courses was regularly around 45 mins. Breakfast was particularly miserable an poor quality, on all three mornings I found it impossible to get a cooked breakfast or on one morning even coffee or toast, I had to go in search of staff for even the basics. Vague and haphazzard is the best way to descirbe this hotels approach. All this would have just about been tolerable had it not been for the incredibley unhelpful and cheeky girl at reception at my check out. Sadly I cannot recommend this hotel as I left feeling angry and stressed and I certainly will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed in one of the lodges with extended family in early June tis year. the lodge was big and in lovely picturesque surroundings. there are wonderful walks around woodbury and It is not far to travel to local beach areas. We visited Sidmouth, Exmouth and Lyme Regis whilst there. Also my son enjoyed the tennis area. The staff are very friendly, we had self catering accomadation so I an unable to comment personally on the breakfasts but my parents have stayed in the hotel and are always saying how great it is. We ate in the conservatory at tea time and this was good value and of nice quality. The only thing they could have done was a wider variety of puddings but I suppose we would have had this if we were eating in the main restaurant. I would recommend woodbury for accomadation in this area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b3ckzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
4.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
7.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
5.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Woodbury Castle, Woodbury EX5 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbury Park Hotel And Golf Club
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing