We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Always fantastic”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This is our 7th stay at Woodbury and we have just booked for new year. We love the location, facilities, golf, staff and hospitality.get some Woodbury park in your life! Golf course is absolutely fantastic at the moment. Good in the clubhouse gets better and better every year,
Always excellent value with great specials every time.tribute (beer) on tap, what more can I say!?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPagechatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    161
    89
    47
    23
See reviews for
94
183
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Notts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Overpriced & not 4 star hotel!! Website needs to be updated to reflect this standard of hotel.

Stayed for Wedding Anniversary after seeing the hotel on Secret Escapes but they could not accommodate our dates, so contacted hotel direct but offer not the same.
Hotel is very tired. Wi Fi chargeable @ £5.00 per day! Evening meal good but self service breakfast was completely disorganised on Saturday 24th August - queues & waiting for food to appear, total disarray!! Website needs rewriting to reflect the standard of hotel.
Service from Reception staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Not Room 221 if your disabled!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stay on a package deal including cream tea on arrival, 3 course meal and breakfast. The evening meal was outstanding, (the courgette and garlic soup was delicious) as was the main course where we both chose the creedy carver chicken breast with blue cheese risotto. The swimming pool has to be one of the best I've ever used and the changing facilities were very clean and I commend the owners for choosing to have a proper functioning family changing/combined shower cubicle - very handy to know for future reference. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - and you don't have to be a golfer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamespeach31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I just booked a 2 night stay through the Secret Escapes website - there was a great offer where for £150 per night we got 2 x dinners, 2 x breakfasts, 2 x cream teas and prosecco in the bar pre-dinner each night. The room was fine, what you would expect from a 4* but the best thing about this hotel by far was the food. The evening meals were really excellent - it was not too busy and we were attended to really well by waiting staff. We went for the sea bream both nights - so tasty! The staff at reception were also unbelievably helpful and even let us choose our room on arrival. The spa was very clean and the facilties excellent. Really impressed - well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked at the last minute for 3 nights, great location with superb views over Woodbury Common and surrounding countryside, all the sports and leisure facilities anyone could want, great food in both restaurants, comfortable rooms, excellent staff, you could not ask for better.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, superb views over the golf course and surrounding country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had a 3 day/2 night package with 3 rounds of golf. Had a wonderful time. Cannot fault accommodation, food, staff or the splendid golf course. Our visit was spoiled by a group of about 16 men, a society who were having a great time drinking and laughing at high volume and generally taking over the place. They were totally dismissive of the rest of the guests having dinner or sitting in the lounge. I suspect it was the same lot who were out in the corridors slamming doors, talking and laughing loudly, waking us up in the early hours. Difficult to go back to sleep afterwards. We didn't call management as discussion/argument would have probably prolonged the noise.

We cannot understand why night staff didn't investigate the noise and deal with it, or why these people were not reminded to conduct themselves responsibly in the public lounge. Some policing of troublesome clientele should be evident to the rest of us so this type of review would not be necessary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougandjoygregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Having visited and discussed our requirements with Lucy their wedding co-coordinator at a recent open day we booked our wedding date for June 15th 2013 leaving us only 17 weeks of preparation. The wedding team were fantastic in their support and guidance in advising what does and doesn't work based on past experiences. Nothing was too much trouble and they made it a much easier process.

Recommend to use the contacts in which they have for associated items such as Sonic for the decor and fireworks as they were superb also. The room was decorated with no fuss and the fireworks in the evening were also discrete setting up not giving away the element of surprise to the guests.

Our overall experience to this venue having looked at many possibilities were second to none. By far we made the best decision to hold our event here as every detail was taken care of. The meal was sensational and even accommodated splitting the dessert menu to 2 choices one for the men and one for the ladies.

Should you be looking for that all hands on, all in one wedding experience look no further than here. We would not have changed a single detail of the day.

The Merehaven suite is a magical room for a very special night and worth that little extra. unfortunately cannot comment on how comfy the bed was as our 5 year old took my place.

Woodbury staff - You done your employers pride that day / night and we cant thank you enough.

Room Tip: Merehaven room if you are planning a special weekend is fit for royalty. You will earn a serious amo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
5.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,245 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
7.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.8 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Woodbury Castle, Woodbury EX5 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbury Park Hotel And Golf Club
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing