We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing start but overall recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing start but overall recommended”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Woodbury Park hotel's own accommodation page says that they offer "accommodation with fabulous views overlooking our landscaped grounds and sweeping lawns to Devon countryside beyond". Well that sold it to me, and after booking through Booking.com we telephoned ahead to request such a room. Imagine our disappointment to be given a room with no view at all (101). There were shrubs blocking the view but even if they hadn't it would have been mainly car park, and I can see thaat many other rooms would also have car park views. I asked immediately at reception for a different room with a view, reminding that we had requested one. It didn't seem to have been noted. The receptionist asked if I had booked through Booking.com and when I confirmed I had, said there were no other rooms avaialble. I am not sure if this was an implication that if you book through Booking.com you get no view!
Anyway the room was other wise fine and very clean. i was very pleased that an iron and ironing board came as standard because you so often have to ask for one.
As we arrived over the Sunday and Monday of a public holiday the hairdressers and spa weren't open which was a shame.
The restaurant food was very good with varied choices and a real effort to include locally produced or inspired food. A couple of tips however for whoever trains the restaurant staff: could they please ask if you need anything else once they serve you - we had to wait for mustard and wine. In fact my husband had to stand up and find someone to get us some wine.
The gym is very well equipped. the pool is very nice, except like most hotels of this type rather overun with children, which is great if they are yours, but not so good if you want a quiet swim and only a third of the pool is given up to non child swimming.
However overall we liked this hotel and would return. The golf course looks terrific and the view from the lovely golf club terrace and coffee shop cum snack bar is amazing. the setting for the hotel in the middle of the Devon countryside is lovely and they have lots of other stuff we didn't sample like football pitches and tennis courts.

Room Tip: Although we didn't see the views, ask for a room with a view which is most likely to be an upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    161
    88
    46
    22
See reviews for
94
181
13
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just a one night stay at this large pleasant four star hotel. Not what we usually go for as a little of the "large hotel with lots of sports facilities " kind. We tend to go for Country House or Boutique or Quirky! Woodbury was none of these. What it was though, was clean, tidy, efficient and well run. The staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant was spacious and the food excellent, The pool had a "recreation centre" feel about it, but it to was clean and tidy and large enough to swim our lengths with no difficulty. Comfy beds and a decent sized room adequately furnished for our needs. In all a pleasant stay (But without the Wow factor)

Room Tip: Sorry we can give no help for choosing a good room as we weren't there long enough to find out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This is our 7th stay at Woodbury and we have just booked for new year. We love the location, facilities, golf, staff and hospitality.get some Woodbury park in your life! Golf course is absolutely fantastic at the moment. Good in the clubhouse gets better and better every year,
Always excellent value with great specials every time.tribute (beer) on tap, what more can I say!?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPagechatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Notts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Overpriced & not 4 star hotel!! Website needs to be updated to reflect this standard of hotel.

Stayed for Wedding Anniversary after seeing the hotel on Secret Escapes but they could not accommodate our dates, so contacted hotel direct but offer not the same.
Hotel is very tired. Wi Fi chargeable @ £5.00 per day! Evening meal good but self service breakfast was completely disorganised on Saturday 24th August - queues & waiting for food to appear, total disarray!! Website needs rewriting to reflect the standard of hotel.
Service from Reception staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Not Room 221 if your disabled!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stay on a package deal including cream tea on arrival, 3 course meal and breakfast. The evening meal was outstanding, (the courgette and garlic soup was delicious) as was the main course where we both chose the creedy carver chicken breast with blue cheese risotto. The swimming pool has to be one of the best I've ever used and the changing facilities were very clean and I commend the owners for choosing to have a proper functioning family changing/combined shower cubicle - very handy to know for future reference. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - and you don't have to be a golfer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamespeach31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I just booked a 2 night stay through the Secret Escapes website - there was a great offer where for £150 per night we got 2 x dinners, 2 x breakfasts, 2 x cream teas and prosecco in the bar pre-dinner each night. The room was fine, what you would expect from a 4* but the best thing about this hotel by far was the food. The evening meals were really excellent - it was not too busy and we were attended to really well by waiting staff. We went for the sea bream both nights - so tasty! The staff at reception were also unbelievably helpful and even let us choose our room on arrival. The spa was very clean and the facilties excellent. Really impressed - well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked at the last minute for 3 nights, great location with superb views over Woodbury Common and surrounding countryside, all the sports and leisure facilities anyone could want, great food in both restaurants, comfortable rooms, excellent staff, you could not ask for better.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, superb views over the golf course and surrounding country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
5.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
7.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
5.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Woodbury Castle, Woodbury EX5 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbury Park Hotel And Golf Club
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing