We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from a short weekend break, half board (package) at Woodbury Park Hotel & Gold club, having arrived on Thursday. Reception were friendly and helpful,registering was quick & easy. Our ground floor room was spacious, well appointed and overlooked the golf course. Servicing of the room was of a very reasonable standard. The restaurant staff were fully attentive and also as per reception very friendly. It has been commented on before about large groups also using the dining room, the only comment we would make about this, is ensure at breakfast time that you get to the antiquated revolving toaster before anyone from a large table, as he/she seems to be making toast for the whole table. The noise level was acceptable and did not cause us a problem. We would also suggest that the barman is educated in more of the drinks available other than just beer. Also, when dining, most people ordering wine would prefer to taste it before the glass is completely filled.

We did not use any other of the facilities on offer, but speaking to some golfers they seemed quite satisfied with the course and other amenities on offer.
Just be warned that there is a charge for wifi,

Room Tip: One overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

A last minute phone call and I booked one night accommodation including a 3 course evening meal and breakfast. Interestingly the deal we'd seen on the website quoted higher prices than we were offered over the phone, only a few pounds cheaper but nonetheless a saving. As a hotel guest you're entitled to use the full leisure centre facilities as well as the cafe and bar areas in the clubhouse. The Spa treatment centre requires additional payment depending on your choice(s).
The staff were welcoming upon our arrival and throughout our stay. Our room was well appointed and it's only let down was peeling paint in the bathroom due to a non-functioning extractor fan. Our room choice provided a sizeable balcony furnished with 2 chairs and a view over the car park.
Our evening meal was very well presented and thoroughly enjoyable. We happened to notice that 3 versions of the menu were in circulation, offering different dishes and desserts. It took our waitress a few minutes to find the one we were originally presented with so we could order the desserts that were available. Wine was reasonably priced and draught ale from the bar was £3 for a pint. Breakfast the following day offered cereals (boxed), pastries, yoghurt, juices, breads for toasting. Cooked items were also available with the option of returning for more.
If you're choosing a meal package I recommend to opt for the full a la carte as the 'lighter option' is far reduced in choice, but of course is cheaper.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank oowad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My review is mostly to do with the hotel itself. My wife and I stayed for two nights and played golf on two days. The Course was immaculate and provided the challenge in stunning countryside with views that are so impressive.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the room was of good size and with facilities one would expect of a quality Hotel. It was the fact that the rooms were starting to show their age and design, with some paint in the bathrooms bubbling and cracking. The room was immaculately clean and well serviced so it is not the housekeeping that is in need of some TLC,
The design of the hotel is based on rooms around a high atrium, which houses the restaurant, and again, the design is in need of a rethink in my opinion.
We celebrated my birthday in the restaurant for a romantic evening. On the same night, we shared this cavernous space with three golfing parties, (totalling around 50 guests) one of which was louder than a football match. I have to ask why such parties are not accommodated in private dining rooms. It was a very intimidating experience, purely on sound alone.
Our food was good and whilst we expressed our dissatisfaction to waiting staff for the noise, raucous laughter and jokes, there appeared that nothing could be done. We did not delay our departure on finishing the meal.
One final point, we ordered a Kir for an aperitif, and was asked what that was? In any case, one could not be made, which for a hotel of this quality really surprised us.
The leisure facilities are very good and the Hotel is very geared up for weddings.

So, the two perceptions are of an international class golf facility which produces a first class experience, to a hotel which should be so much better, but not because of the reception and housekeeping, but by the design of the building and the ability to control the dining experience.
I would stay at the hotel again, but would not dine in the restaurant until the issues we experienced are resolved.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bently2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for one night on business with a colleague on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. Lovely room, stayed in 211 over looking the course with balcony. The pool was lovely and warm and the jacuzzi very warm, bordering on hot, great to relax in after a tough day. They have a cinema here but didn't get the chance to see it, maybe next time. The dinner was delicious, started I had the veg soup, main hazelnut chicken with blue cheese risotto and dessert apple and blackberry crumble with clotted cream, amazing. Very impressed with the whole stay, would definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here earlier this year on business, although spent the days playing golf I was the recipient of a great meating in the evening, we certainly made full use of the fantastic facilities here.

I enjoyed my stay so much I have organised another weekend for further golf and hopefully a few good meatings in the evening. Look forward to the great service and great facilities.

They have no issues with single sex couples which I find a bonus.

Thanks

Rich

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichG00dley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We are a retired couple and went to Woodbury on a 3 day golfbreak in August 2013.

Woodbury is easy to find and is constituted of a very attractive old building located in some beautiful countryside in East Devon. We understand that Nigel Mansell, the racing driver, has ploughed significant funds into developing the site. Budleigh Salterton is the nearest seaside spot with Sidmouth a little further. We ventured out to Lyme Regis (about 30 miles) and also to Beer which is a delightful little seaside village.

Our room overlooked the car park and was adequate although small and the furniture somewhat dated. Woodbury host the annual South West PGA and the tournament was on while we were there. There was late night noise in the car park, but the main drawback was men behaving badly in the restaurant and also the filthy condition of the gents loos which were left overnight.

Generally the staff were attentive and helpful.

The food was good. There was an adequate breakfast and dinner was excellently presented.

The health club and spa were fine with all the usual attractions and a 20 metre indoor pool with jacuzzie and sauna.

The golf course is a true championship course of some 7300yds off the back tees (6800 yds off the yellows for an old hacker like me) and has an attractive 18th of 130 yds over a lake in full view of the huge clubhouse patio and conservatory - very intimidating! The main drawback with the course is its proprietory nature which ensures that it is very busy. During our visit there were large queues on some of the holes such as those you might encounter on local authority courses or typical 'pay and play'. A shame really because we enjoyed the challenge posed by the course.

Tip: unless you enjoy the sight and sound of groups of seriously drunken golfers coupled with some of the health risks they pose, find out the PGA dates and avoid booking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After a disastrous golf break last year, I am delighted to say that our party of 28 returned this year to a quite different hotel. All the problems we had last year had been addressed & can honestly say we had a brilliant couple of days. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were well presented & the breakfast was greatly improved.There was only one negative & that was regarding the Slow Roasted Belly Pork which sadly was a great disappointment to many of our party. The rest of the food was excellent & pleased to say that I would have no hesitation is recommending this venue for a very enjoyable golf break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisingCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
7.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
5.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
5.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,330 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
3.8 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Woodbury Castle, Woodbury EX5 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range: £88 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbury Park Hotel And Golf Club
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing