We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Nearby Hotels
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Hampton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Exeter M5(Exeter)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$112
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
305
179
103
63
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
305
179
103
63
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatrium restaurantterrace barleisure centregolf breakdriving rangepro shopgreat golf coursespa arearound of golfmain restaurantpool and jacuzzileisure clubspa treatmentsgreat facilitieswedding venuegreg normanscones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Have just returned from a three night stay at Woodbury. There were 24 of us from our local golfing society. This venue is ideal for a group of golfers. The course is excellent and well presented. We would have liked the greens to be faster but that would be our only criticism. The course presents a fair challenge to all and its not one of those courses where you spend a lot of time looking for lost balls so speed of play is reasonable. It can be walked fairly easily although some of our older members required buggies. The hotel staff and food were excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for us and knew how to look after a fairly raucous group of guys. Drinks were not overly priced for a hotel venue such as this. Six of us stayed in a lodge that can accommodate eight and it must be said that eight is probably too many for its size. Good fun though and right beside the first tee. Those who had hotel room commented on how comfy and roomy they were. Other facilities were good. Would recommend this venue to anyone and would readily go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nisurose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Mmmmmm. This is a difficult review to write. There is basically nothing wrong with this place but I don't feel I can wholeheartedly recommend it.

We came as a mixed party of 8 to play a round of golf on the Oaks course and to stay the night before. On arrival at around 8pm (when it was dark) it was not obvious where the hotel reception was located. The lights at the hotel entrance had not been turned on so we really had to have the strength of our convictions and trust in the directions given by the club house personnel. After eventually finding the entrance we were greeted by the sole receptionist on the phone to a customer, taking a booking. This seemed to take ages and I could hear other lines ringing unanswered during this time.

The eventual welcome was warm and apologetic but this hotel describes itself as luxury and is classified as a 4 star so to have just one person manning reception and taking bookings is poor. Also we were not offered assistance with luggage. The room were quite nicely appointed although 6 of the 8 in our party found the beds too hard but I guess that's a matter of personal preference. Most rooms appear to overlook one of two car parks. This didn't worry us as it was a case of arrive late and play early on this occasion but if you are staying for a couple of days or are arriving early be sure to request a golf course view. Wifi connection at £5 a day didn't impress me. In this day and age connection at a "luxury" hotel like this should be included.

The layout of the hotel was strange. The single lift to all floors was not in reception but to one side (the side furthest away from our room!). The hotel bar and restaurant was one large room with very little to separate the two and the quickest way to the club house was through the restaurant and leisure club reception. Weird.

Breakfast was poor. It was buffet style and luke warm. The orange juice is worthy of special mention as possibly the worst I have tasted in quite a while. In fact my wife was concerned it was grapefruit as this is something I am not allowed to drink.

However there were good bits. The course was superb. Well kept and challenging for all abilities with great staff at the half way house. No starter though and not a course marshall to be seen all day. We played early but it still took 4 and 3/4 hours so we spent time kicking our heels on the way round. Passing the second tee on our way to the 17th there were two groups waiting and the second is a par 5 so they were in for a long round.

The staff at the pro shop were friendly, accommodating and helpfuI and I must mention the food at the club house as well which was excellent.

This was our first visit. Would we go back? This was something we discussed. As a group we have played together all over the world as well as in the UK. On balance the conclusion reached unanimously was that we had had a nice time but not a great time so would not be in a rush to return on an inclusive break. We would play the course but not stay at the hotel. I just got the feeling that corners were being cut to the detriment of the guests. The owners could do worse than book a stay at St Pierre at Chepstow where there is a course which is just as good but where the staff and management really know their stuff. In comparison Woodbury Park seemed a little amateurish. As I said in the headline - it's the little things which count and Woodbury didn't do it for me on this occasion.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room overlooking the course.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from a short weekend break, half board (package) at Woodbury Park Hotel & Gold club, having arrived on Thursday. Reception were friendly and helpful,registering was quick & easy. Our ground floor room was spacious, well appointed and overlooked the golf course. Servicing of the room was of a very reasonable standard. The restaurant staff were fully attentive and also as per reception very friendly. It has been commented on before about large groups also using the dining room, the only comment we would make about this, is ensure at breakfast time that you get to the antiquated revolving toaster before anyone from a large table, as he/she seems to be making toast for the whole table. The noise level was acceptable and did not cause us a problem. We would also suggest that the barman is educated in more of the drinks available other than just beer. Also, when dining, most people ordering wine would prefer to taste it before the glass is completely filled.

We did not use any other of the facilities on offer, but speaking to some golfers they seemed quite satisfied with the course and other amenities on offer.
Just be warned that there is a charge for wifi,

Room Tip: One overlooking the golf course.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A last minute phone call and I booked one night accommodation including a 3 course evening meal and breakfast. Interestingly the deal we'd seen on the website quoted higher prices than we were offered over the phone, only a few pounds cheaper but nonetheless a saving. As a hotel guest you're entitled to use the full leisure centre facilities as well as the cafe and bar areas in the clubhouse. The Spa treatment centre requires additional payment depending on your choice(s).
The staff were welcoming upon our arrival and throughout our stay. Our room was well appointed and it's only let down was peeling paint in the bathroom due to a non-functioning extractor fan. Our room choice provided a sizeable balcony furnished with 2 chairs and a view over the car park.
Our evening meal was very well presented and thoroughly enjoyable. We happened to notice that 3 versions of the menu were in circulation, offering different dishes and desserts. It took our waitress a few minutes to find the one we were originally presented with so we could order the desserts that were available. Wine was reasonably priced and draught ale from the bar was £3 for a pint. Breakfast the following day offered cereals (boxed), pastries, yoghurt, juices, breads for toasting. Cooked items were also available with the option of returning for more.
If you're choosing a meal package I recommend to opt for the full a la carte as the 'lighter option' is far reduced in choice, but of course is cheaper.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank oowad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My review is mostly to do with the hotel itself. My wife and I stayed for two nights and played golf on two days. The Course was immaculate and provided the challenge in stunning countryside with views that are so impressive.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the room was of good size and with facilities one would expect of a quality Hotel. It was the fact that the rooms were starting to show their age and design, with some paint in the bathrooms bubbling and cracking. The room was immaculately clean and well serviced so it is not the housekeeping that is in need of some TLC,
The design of the hotel is based on rooms around a high atrium, which houses the restaurant, and again, the design is in need of a rethink in my opinion.
We celebrated my birthday in the restaurant for a romantic evening. On the same night, we shared this cavernous space with three golfing parties, (totalling around 50 guests) one of which was louder than a football match. I have to ask why such parties are not accommodated in private dining rooms. It was a very intimidating experience, purely on sound alone.
Our food was good and whilst we expressed our dissatisfaction to waiting staff for the noise, raucous laughter and jokes, there appeared that nothing could be done. We did not delay our departure on finishing the meal.
One final point, we ordered a Kir for an aperitif, and was asked what that was? In any case, one could not be made, which for a hotel of this quality really surprised us.
The leisure facilities are very good and the Hotel is very geared up for weddings.

So, the two perceptions are of an international class golf facility which produces a first class experience, to a hotel which should be so much better, but not because of the reception and housekeeping, but by the design of the building and the ability to control the dining experience.
I would stay at the hotel again, but would not dine in the restaurant until the issues we experienced are resolved.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bently2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews