We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd Like To Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We'd Like To Go Back”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It was a sudden opportunity with two incentives: our great enjoyment - especially of the food - at Classic Lodges Hotels and here was their latest project; secondly, a very attractive discounted rate offered in their settling-in phase! It also suited us to be in the area for business.

Clearly the emphasis is upon Golf! Other attractions are plentiful: the spa and beautiful pool, the location so close to the sea and the pleasures of Lyme Regis and Sidmouth; there is a dedicated "museum" to Mansell and F1 within the hotel and a range of sports' facilities and Exeter is nearby. Club touring parties can be quite loud and lively in the dining area and that does not sit well with all guests but it made for a lively atmosphere and could be mitigated by timing when to dine. The 18-hole is barred to hackers and handicaps are required but the 9-hole is open to all. The lanscape/views make for a superb setting!

For us the service was first-rate and the food really excellent; the room was well appointed and comfortable and quiet but I thought the fee for wi-fi was excessive and did not choose to pay £5 for one hour! The gymn and pool area looked very up-to-date and well staffed but alas our stay was too short to sample it!

The only glitch - clearly unusual so I hesitate to make much of it beyond denting an otherwise excellent rating for staff services - was our disappointment to find that the promised early breakfast set for 7.00 a.m. to enable us to travel by 7.30 and which, we were assured, would be supported by accelerated check-out - was totally spoiled by the late arrival of the cook and a consequent departure at 8.05 leading to lateness for our first appointment of the day!

We are always impressed by Classic Lodges and this will, we feel, soon measure up to the others but if you are a competent golfer, this will be an excellent choice for weekend or even a longer holiday. My golf is not "there" yet, but we are keen to go again for all the other good things this hotel offers!

Room Tip: rooms in 120 range are very good but overlook a big car-park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XpressTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    162
    90
    50
    25
See reviews for
96
188
14
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Four of us visited Woodbury Park for a golf break (2 nights/3 rounds of golf). The whole experience was very enjoyable. Our rooms overlooking the 9th green were very clean and contained everything necessary for a comfortable stay. Both the Oaks and Acorn golf courses were in great nick for the time of year and the food in thr Atrium restaurant was first class. What made the stay so enjoyable though (apart from winning the golf!) was the tremendous attitude of the staff, From the pro shop to the staff serving in the restaurant to those cleaning the rooms, everyone went out of their way to make our break one to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the golf course. Great view to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hotel must hold many a wedding party, as that is why we were there. A perfect wedding venue in glorious countryside not too too far from Exteter Station. Ah yes and Exteter itself is well worth exploring by foot; at the river and cathedral area. The club house offers the best views and food and beverage options. Hotel rooms were good enough. Plenty of F1 pictures in some rooms downstairs. Taxis took a while. Enjoyed my morning runs very much

Room Tip: Balcony rooms higher up overlooking golf course or for the brave the lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS1Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Myself and 5 other girlfriends checked in early sat morning for a pamper day and overnight stay in a lodge.From arrival to checkout , the experience has been superb.the staff have been exceptional, especially the girls in the spa area. All food was included in our package, lunch, dinner and breakfast, everything served to an excellent standard,I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Lodges sleep 8, away from main hotel, tranquil wooded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Have just returned from a three night stay at Woodbury. There were 24 of us from our local golfing society. This venue is ideal for a group of golfers. The course is excellent and well presented. We would have liked the greens to be faster but that would be our only criticism. The course presents a fair challenge to all and its not one of those courses where you spend a lot of time looking for lost balls so speed of play is reasonable. It can be walked fairly easily although some of our older members required buggies. The hotel staff and food were excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for us and knew how to look after a fairly raucous group of guys. Drinks were not overly priced for a hotel venue such as this. Six of us stayed in a lodge that can accommodate eight and it must be said that eight is probably too many for its size. Good fun though and right beside the first tee. Those who had hotel room commented on how comfy and roomy they were. Other facilities were good. Would recommend this venue to anyone and would readily go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisurose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Mmmmmm. This is a difficult review to write. There is basically nothing wrong with this place but I don't feel I can wholeheartedly recommend it.

We came as a mixed party of 8 to play a round of golf on the Oaks course and to stay the night before. On arrival at around 8pm (when it was dark) it was not obvious where the hotel reception was located. The lights at the hotel entrance had not been turned on so we really had to have the strength of our convictions and trust in the directions given by the club house personnel. After eventually finding the entrance we were greeted by the sole receptionist on the phone to a customer, taking a booking. This seemed to take ages and I could hear other lines ringing unanswered during this time.

The eventual welcome was warm and apologetic but this hotel describes itself as luxury and is classified as a 4 star so to have just one person manning reception and taking bookings is poor. Also we were not offered assistance with luggage. The room were quite nicely appointed although 6 of the 8 in our party found the beds too hard but I guess that's a matter of personal preference. Most rooms appear to overlook one of two car parks. This didn't worry us as it was a case of arrive late and play early on this occasion but if you are staying for a couple of days or are arriving early be sure to request a golf course view. Wifi connection at £5 a day didn't impress me. In this day and age connection at a "luxury" hotel like this should be included.

The layout of the hotel was strange. The single lift to all floors was not in reception but to one side (the side furthest away from our room!). The hotel bar and restaurant was one large room with very little to separate the two and the quickest way to the club house was through the restaurant and leisure club reception. Weird.

Breakfast was poor. It was buffet style and luke warm. The orange juice is worthy of special mention as possibly the worst I have tasted in quite a while. In fact my wife was concerned it was grapefruit as this is something I am not allowed to drink.

However there were good bits. The course was superb. Well kept and challenging for all abilities with great staff at the half way house. No starter though and not a course marshall to be seen all day. We played early but it still took 4 and 3/4 hours so we spent time kicking our heels on the way round. Passing the second tee on our way to the 17th there were two groups waiting and the second is a par 5 so they were in for a long round.

The staff at the pro shop were friendly, accommodating and helpfuI and I must mention the food at the club house as well which was excellent.

This was our first visit. Would we go back? This was something we discussed. As a group we have played together all over the world as well as in the UK. On balance the conclusion reached unanimously was that we had had a nice time but not a great time so would not be in a rush to return on an inclusive break. We would play the course but not stay at the hotel. I just got the feeling that corners were being cut to the detriment of the guests. The owners could do worse than book a stay at St Pierre at Chepstow where there is a course which is just as good but where the staff and management really know their stuff. In comparison Woodbury Park seemed a little amateurish. As I said in the headline - it's the little things which count and Woodbury didn't do it for me on this occasion.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room overlooking the course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from a short weekend break, half board (package) at Woodbury Park Hotel & Gold club, having arrived on Thursday. Reception were friendly and helpful,registering was quick & easy. Our ground floor room was spacious, well appointed and overlooked the golf course. Servicing of the room was of a very reasonable standard. The restaurant staff were fully attentive and also as per reception very friendly. It has been commented on before about large groups also using the dining room, the only comment we would make about this, is ensure at breakfast time that you get to the antiquated revolving toaster before anyone from a large table, as he/she seems to be making toast for the whole table. The noise level was acceptable and did not cause us a problem. We would also suggest that the barman is educated in more of the drinks available other than just beer. Also, when dining, most people ordering wine would prefer to taste it before the glass is completely filled.

We did not use any other of the facilities on offer, but speaking to some golfers they seemed quite satisfied with the course and other amenities on offer.
Just be warned that there is a charge for wifi,

Room Tip: One overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
5.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.8 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
88 reviews
5.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
5.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Woodbury Castle, Woodbury EX5 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbury Park Hotel And Golf Club
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing