We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great, certainly not luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not great, certainly not luxury!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The booking process took 11 emails to sort things out, they kept getting my name wrong and then having us leaving a month before we arrived! The room was ok, would hardly call it luxury, but it was nice to have a balcony- though we did have to pay extra for the upgrade. Everything was just not quite right, the tv was way to the left of the bed which made it difficult to watch from bed, and the power shower didn't have matching drainage so unless you had a very quick shower you ended up standing calf deep in the run off. The bedding had a really odd smell to it, the smell permeated our skin after a few days, and the whole room smelt of it when we returned after being away for a few hours. It was a very sharp chemical smell, and I developed a rash just before we left. We had breakfast and dinner there and the breakfast was ok, not a lot of choice and the fruit looked like it had been out for a month- totally shrivelled! When I did order scrambled eggs and then poached the next morning, they were both pretty much raw. The terrace bar area was ok, but the food I ordered didn't taste anything like advertised (cumin and coriander had obviously been nowhere near it!) and everything had beetroot in or on it which was annoying- including my partners fillet steak. There was no chicken on the entire restaurant menu the following night so I had to eat vegetarian- a cheese soufflé with creamy mushroom pasta. The soufflé was underdone and the combination was awful. My desert was missing the ice cream it was listed as having, and the server didn't check on us so I asked for it when the plates were cleared- after he went off and checked that indeed I wasn't lying, it was meant to have burnt orange ice cream (the only reason I ordered that dish). To add insult to injury I got vanilla ice cream with a slice of orange. All the service staff bar one looked and sounded new, they didn't know the menu and weren't very friendly.

The pool was ok, but was half reserved for lane swimming and the other half was usually full of kids, the sauna was absolutely tiny and the Jacuzzi was also very small and busy. I did have a beauty treatment and it wasn't great, it started late and ran over, and I was less than pleased with the results, though my partner said his was ok.

It seemed to me to be trying to do too many things and doing them all poorly- are you a wedding venue, a golf course, a luxury hotel, a cheap and cheery stag/hen destination, a beacon for local produce, a conference venue or a luxury spa? What I saw was an expensive but average hotel with a pool on the side, and I certainly don't feel I was away for a 'couples retreat' or anything like it.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony overlooking the golf course, not the car park- but only if you are willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowgirl089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    161
    89
    47
    23
See reviews for
94
183
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a Travelzoo deal. Found all the staff to be very pleasant and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble and advice on things to do in the area was freely offered when requested. The room was a good size and clean with views out over the golf course. Dinner on the first night was restricted, in principle, to the Truly Devon menu which we thought was a bit limited. Not a problem, we were invited to select from the full menu for a reasonable price supplement per course. Food quality was pretty good and well presented. Breakfast was fairly standard fare but lots of it with empty dishes quickly replenished at the buffet.
Used the pool, sauna and jacuzzi. All very nice though a "spinner" to dry our swimming costumes in the changing rooms afterwards would have been useful.
We were a little concerned when we heard that the hotel was hosting 2 or 3 functions on the Saturday night but in fairness we heard no noise in our room and slept well
Only other criticism concerns the free wifi. Signal strength is very poor, we were close to reception, and struggled to get any kind of reliable connection. This is not a hotel we could recommend if "staying connected" is of paramount importance (though some people would see the opposite as a definite plus)
Plenty of parking.
Would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our society had a fantastic time here, the golf set-up and the hotel worked seamlessly for us. It was easy to arrange and flowed really well. Both courses are good to play - despite the weather. The hotel accommodation is ideal and very comfortable.
The restaurant served wonderful food and the staff (especially the Manager "Dawn") worked tirelessly to ensure we had what we wanted. For value for money it is a perfect location, 45 holes of golf, Dinner, B & B for the price was amazing..... now all I need is to book again for next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxplymjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, the hotel grounds and staff are excellent. We stayed in a standard room, at £100+ I would have expected more. They are in need of modernising, a lot of all dark wood furniture. Our bed didn't even have a valance. The breakfast is nice and of good quality offering a varied choice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bf_evo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We saw this on travelzoo. Two couples with blokes who wanted to play golf. Offer was overnight stay with breakfast and table d'hote menu. Hotel looked nice on arrival and check in staff excellent. Room ready early and very clean, small room even though we did upgrade but adequate. Golf course was very good (according to men) staff good. Had lunch at the Terrace restaurant, excellent, sat outside overlooking the lake and the course, really lovely. Had cocktail before dinner and even though there was a menu the guy at the bar didn't have a clue, had to be helped out by the manager who was excellent. Went to dinner in the Atrium restaurant, menu given to us with choice of 3 starter, mains and puds. Asked if we could have al la carte, which we could but extra charge which was fine but it seemed a bit of a problem. There were 3 other tables, atmosphere was dire, dreadful music playing and no ambience at all. Waiter was very young and whilst willing simply had no training, we had to ask to order 3 times. The starters were fine, the main course was starter size and the filet steak was about a 3oz steak, glad we ordered side dishes. A tip would be to eat in the Terrace restaurant, not such a good choice on the face of it but much nicer with a bit of life and freshly cooked with waiters on the ball. My pud arrived and the ball of ice cream plopped in my lap, waiter went red but I had to plop it quickly back on my plate. The breakfast staff, Atrium again, were totally disinterested, poor selection on the buffet with dried up croissants and pastries, go to the Terrace for brekkie selection. Spa was decent enough and even did a couple of classes that you must book before you go. Great central position to get to places so a good base. The guy in the Terrace restaurant (may be manager or should be) with a beard was excellent, seemed to be everywhere and tried to hard to please. Amazing value but need to change that Atrium arrangement.

Room Tip: Second floor golf course view, upgrade its only iro £10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business last week and had a great stay, top class fitness suite and great food. Newly refurbished Terrace bar is superb if you want more traditional home cooked food. Reception were most helpful, and restaurant staff happy to assist me finding the local caught fish and chips at the Terrace bar, as the main bar menu is a limited. Highly recommend. Well done Mr Mansell !

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stevieallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

six of the girls decided on boxing day that it would be nice to take a bit of timeout a couple months down the line..we found the complex doing a special offer online...£50 for an overnight stay,use of the pool,sauna & jacuzzi & with evening meal & full breakfast included....we booked this and then individually chose any treatments we fancied having in the 'Bodyzone' salon. This proved to be the highlight of our stay...the girls doing the treatments were very professional, but also very friendly aswell..we had a collection of treatments between the six of us & I think I can speak for all of the girls & say that we all came away very chilled & refreshed..to such an extent that several of us said we would do two nights next time. thank you for a lovely chilled out experience x

Room Tip: we had twin rooms which were plenty big enough for us..we did have a lounge with one of our rooms wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
5.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,245 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
7.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.8 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Woodbury Castle, Woodbury EX5 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbury Park Hotel And Golf Club
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing