We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Recently celebrated a significant birthday in the company of family and friends, On arrival
greeted by friendly reception staff. Our suite was all we could have wished for and added to our
experience of the occasion. We were in the Oaks room for the party and enjoyed a very well
cooked and presented buffet supper, served by friendly and attentive staff. Several of the partygoers stayed overnight and all met for breakfast in the Atrium restaurant. Staff again very helpful, put our party in a side room as there was a large group of golfers staying and they had taken a lot of the main Atrium space. My wife and I have stayed at the venue on several occasions and have NEVER had a bad experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the 18th hole. Get to see a selection of wildlife in the early morning.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

A comfortable, relaxing weekend,really enjoyable,good food and good company.

We found the staff were very friendly and helpful and we have no complaints regarding them.

The party in the evening was well organised and we could not fault the food and service.

Thank you for making our weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was attending a family special birthday held in the Oaks Room and stayed two nights. On checking in, the Reception Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. My room was very clean and quiet and the bed divinely comfortable with crisp white linen - perfect! Breakfast in the Atrium Restaurant was well run and the staff friendly and efficient. There was a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc. as well as a hot buffet and lashings of tea or coffee!

A group of us had tea in the Clubhouse on Saturday afternoon - there was a tempting selection of cakes and pastries, which most of us managed to resist in anticipation of the evening's birthday celebration. The family party was well organised and the food and wine excellent. There were two other important functions taking place that same evening, but at no time were we aware of either of them, everything went so smoothly.

Woodbury Park is in a beautiful setting and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to those wanting a little bit of luxury at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

First Impressions: far away from any local amenities, outdated, poorly run

Checked in with a friendly receptionist, however she failed to mention a very large group of people where eating in the restaurant meaning there was no room service or tables available all night. Literally had to beg for a table on the promise I would only have a main course and nothing else. Considering the restaurant was half full and the group appeared to be on a set menu this was appalling customer service.
Room is outdated, frumpy and pretentious. Breakfast was average but nothing to get excited about.

Bad Points: If your hoping to have WIFI/mobile signal you may be disappointed. Unless your here for golf, I would recommend staying somewhere else

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylifeinhotels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have to say that our experience was very good but was let down by the Atrium Restaurant and the organisation of its breakfast. The waitress was in a different world, having ordered tea and coffee we received, early grey and I got the tea instead of coffee. No apology didn't even clear the cups etc. Turned up correctly, eventually. Waitress stated sorry for the delay on our breakfast we're waiting for sausage to cook! We hadn't ordered sausage (work that one out), I ordered scrambled egg, mushrooms and bacon and then the bacon was substituted for beans. No apology, just, Oh I'll take it back then. Eventually a young man apologised for the issue. Other than that very clean, well presented, nice setting. Golf club house and the newly refurbished terrace bar/restaurant excellent. With good service and good food, very reasonable. Would hate to think what we would have been served in the Atrium. Even my sister's experience of the breakfast set up was exactly the same, she experienced staff who didn't know what they were doing and running out of food. Best getting room only and eating at the club house. Best views as well across the Exe Estuary. Health spa and pool good, but book early for any treatments to avoid disappointment. The Atrium needs to be more inviting and the atmosphere needs improving, Oh and the awful music that was being played bled the ears. Sorry would have been an Excellent had it not been for the Atrium Restaurant experience.

Room Tip: 123 was Ok.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It's years since we last visited Woodbury Park. I hasten to add we have not stayed here. It's too close for that. On the last visit it was looking very tired and the visit, with friends, left us disappointed. The food not great. The conservatory rather weary. So, after some years we heard about the new Terrace Bar and Grill and thought we should see what it was like. WOW! Impressive. Such an improvement on the old bar conservatory. The decor is superb, there is a light, airy restaurant area with magnificent views. The menu looks really good. Plenty to tempt the palette and we aim to return for lunch. Today we ordered a cream tea. It was beautifully served. The plump scones were large, light and so yummy. The clotted cream was a deep gold and so rich. There were blueberries, red currants, raspberries and strawberries. If I have any criticism it was the jam. It came in a little jar. A bowl of jam to match the bowl of cream would have been just perfect. We sat on sofas by the window, the view quite lovely, and the atmosphere could not have been better. Very excited about Woodbury Park now. A great place to eat or enjoy an afternoon champagne tea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and the family lodge we had which was number 1 was not clean after last occupants, dirty greasy oven , dirty dishwasher which was full of dirty plates etc , no staff to do the cleaning and no house keeping on hand , we had to do a thorough clean before we could cook a meal . Not on after paying £500 for 2 night stay and no visit or apologie from managment and not even a reduction this is one place to give a miss !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay else where
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
5.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
5.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
932 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,313 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Woodbury Castle, Woodbury EX5 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range: £88 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbury Park Hotel And Golf Club
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing