We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong impression, excellent holiday.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twitchen House Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wrong impression, excellent holiday.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We as a family have just returned from a 3 night break. Before taking this holiday we checked trip advisor to see the reviews. Due to this being our 1st holiday as a family we were horrified to see some of the bad reviews as we had already booked. Well I like to take things as I find and credit where credits due we had a fantastic time. Clean caravan, excellent facilities and to cap it off the staff were very very helpful and cheerful which made the stay great. Would highly recommend to anyone and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazeballsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely review. It really is a pleasure to read that yourself and your family had a great holiday. I will be sure to pass your kind comments to our housekeeping manager regarding the cleanliness of your holiday home, and also to our on site team members who will be very grateful that you have left praise for them, we all do work ever so hard to ensure that our guests have a memorable holiday. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Parks in the future. Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    597
    256
    129
    130
See reviews for
1,249
232
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The caravan was dirty and crawling with bugs!! There was a hole in the roof that we had to keep a bucket under the whole time. The Mattress in the children's room were all ripped and torn and our accommodation was based on a huge slope and we couldn't park. The parks have hardly any suitable places for wheelchairs which meant that a member if our party could not participate in certain activities and couldn't get into the cinema or into the soft play area to watch the grandchildren...We couldn't even access some of the restaurants with the wheelchair. The limitations on wheelchair users was like something out of the dark ages. The evening entertainers were more interested in entertaining each other with private jokes then keeping the crowd amused. They were also rather offensive when they did bother to interact with the crowd. The swimming pool has no lifeguard and no staff supervise it. I would certainly never return or recommend this place!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your response. I am so sorry to hear that you experienced some housekeeping and maintenance problems whilst you were holidaying with us, I do hope that you reported these to us so that we had a chance to rectify these for you.

We are lucky enough to be situated on the beautiful coast of North Devon, which is not completely flat, there are steep and hilly parts around all coastal areas, you can request to be allocated a caravan which is on a flatter part of the Park, with easier access to the site facilities and with parking for example, we try our very best to meet all requests made by our guests, and I hope you made us aware of your requirements prior to arrival, so that we could allocate a suitable position for you.

Our indoor swimming pool is not lifeguarded, and is not advertised as being so as this is not required due to the depth of the water, and all under 18’s have to be supervised by an adult. We do have cameras and emergency call points in the pools, which are also checked regularly by the Park cleaning staff as they maintain the changing facilities.

I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning. I will pass your comments regarding the entertainment team on to the entertainment manager to look in to. We value all feedback received, positive or negative, so thank you for taking the time to do so.

Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My daughter myself and my two grandchildren stayed in a two bedroomed caravan for three days, it was good value for money and the caravan was very clean and cosy. The staff were very pleasant and helpful we loved the outdoor pool as it was as warm as a bath!! I will go to this park again and may stay longer if I can get another bargain.!!!

Room Tip: We were at the back of the park very good if you have young children not too far too walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review. I an happy to see that you had a lovely stay on our site and that you felt you had good value for money. I shall pass on your kind comments to all the team here at Twitchen House. After the recent renovations last winter we now have a new splash pad and flume for the children, and yes, the pool is lovely and warm all the time.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you next year,
Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just spent 4 nights in a basic caravan which was fine. We were rather surprised that without Passes you cannot use the restaurant or take away, as we don't do entertainment we thought this rather mean, so we ate outside the camp. Grass needs cutting and a path to the caravans at the back would be ideal, save damp or wet feet. Good place to stay though and easy to visit lots of places of interest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We have to ensure that the wrist bands are used across all of the facilities on the Park and this does include use of the bistro and the on Park shop. This helps us to prevent non-residents of the Park and customers who have not paid for passes from using the facilities; unfortunately as these facilities are within the entertainment complex access passes are required to use them and this is advised in the booklet sent with your newspaper promotion confirmation details.

We to see you return next year,
Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed in main house, flat 4 - Generally good - clean enough spacious. Needs a little attention in places such as the bathroom - hole in the wall, but generally OK. Used maintenance for a leak which was dealt with efficiently. TV had remote that didn't work, reported and told the TV was not remote controlled?? Entertainments good, too loud most the time (kids with their hands over ears tends to suggest most agreed) and lack of tables and chairs. Staff all good that we interacted with. Café effectively a Chip shop. Camp next door had better café - more choices. Also the free session in the Spa (next door) was a nice touch. Buses often over crowded - did lay additions on when needed, but still busy. Saw reviews before staying and had low expectations - need not have worried - it was much better than expected. Park is well maintained and has good facilities, include other parks and it is very good. 8 people of all ages and something for everyone.

Room Tip: Flat 4 large but lots of stairs to get there. Over entertainments so some noise, but didn't aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I shall look into what we can do about the hole in the bathroom wall. I am sorry that you did not have a remote with the TV. We are currently trying to source some new remotes as we have great trouble keeping hold of them. We advise guest that if they do not have one with theirs to use the buttons on the sides of the TV. This is not ideal I know which is why we are searching high and low for some replacements instead of buy all new TVs.

Our club house will be much larger next year after the redevelopments so the problem of not enough space during peak season will be solved. I am glad that you enjoyed your spa session, a lovely chance to relax and chill out for an hour.

Thank you again for your time in leaving this review and I appreciate your comments,
Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Before booking we decided to pay extra and go for the 'Gold' package as we were wanting something a bit more than basic. First thing we encountered was where can we park the car to unload our stuff? Our caravan did not have a parking space and we had go back four caravans to park, so unloading our car with children in tow in the pouring rain was a bad start to our stay.
The caravan itself was clean as we would expect. But what we did have missing was that there was 8 of us in total yet there was only 4 glasses and only 4 sets of knives & forks. Next bone of contention was the beds. Fine if you are the sort of person who can sleep on a washing line but we were expecting a bit of comfort when it came to sleeping. The mattress on our bed was lumpy and very uncomfortable. Our friends who had the pull out bed said the same of their mattress.
On to the site facilities, after one day the four children needed more than what was offered at Twitchen so we travelled to the next site up which had the bowling alley and surf teaching. There was a 4 hour wait for the bowling. The soft play area was far too small and there was overpowering smell of body odour in there. Our children had won loads of tickets at the arcade over the two evenings and had spent lots of the money on these only for them to be unable to redeem them for toy rewards because the little office was only open in early evening when we were not on site.
The entertainment on the evening was the worst I have ever experienced in my life. The music was so loud that it was impossible to have a conversation with the person right next to you. I glanced across at all the other tables and it was full of adults just sat there with nobody talking. The compere was awful and his smutty innuendo totally inappropriate for family audiences mostly made up of young children.
There was one so called party game which was getting men up on the stage stripping off to the waist and having them do press ups and other ridiculous so called macho nonsense whilst the compere was commenting on their back sides. This behaviour is deemed unacceptable to women so why do it with men?
When we complained we told that parking spaces were not guaranteed and that there was no free caravans to move us.
We would never stay in any of the sites ever again. £500 for three nights was certainly not value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear that our site was up to your expectations.

Devon is well known for being a very hilly area and so we have only very small amounts of flat ground, because of this we are unable to provide parking spaces next to every caravan so we lay out the Park with frequent, small communal parking areas around the edges of every road around the site.

We are having a £2.5 million complex redevelopment over the winter with will include many more family activities meaning your will not need to travel to the other Parks. We are only able to keep our ticket redemption store open in the evenings because this is the prime time for the use of the arcade. We advise our guest to use the Golden Coast redemption store that opens from 10am if they need to exchange before 7pm when ours opens.

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the entertainment provided and I shall look into the inappropriate entertainment. Over the six week summer holiday period we were fully booked on all of our four Parks, therefore there would have been no opportunities for upgrading or even swapping caravans after arrival day. I am saddened to see that you feel that you did not get value for money.

We appreciate both positive and negative feedback as an opportunity to further develop our holiday product so I thank you for sharing your opinions with us.

Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Twitchen house in Woolacombe was a lovely site. very friendly staff who were very helpful. our Caravan was new and when we got there is was beautiful and clean. We had lovely weather while we were there so we didn't spend to much time on the site but mainly on Woolacombe beach. the beach is clean and it seems to go on for miles. the area around Woolcombe is beautiful, with coastal walks. i would recommend Twitchen house to anyone who wants a family holiday with plenty to do in all weathers. my family and i had a wonderful time there and i would book again.

Room Tip: we had a gold van but next time i would go for a platinum one. its worth the money and you get bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your new 2-bedroom Gold caravan. We will have more new caravans next year in various gradings, maybe you could try out one of those next year. The Park will also look quite different as we will be redeveloping the entertainment complex over this winter and there will be even more to do for the family. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our staff and we hope to see you return next year. Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.9 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
804 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
808 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
4.1 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twitchen House Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twitchen House Holiday Village

Property: Twitchen House Holiday Village
Address: Mortehoe Station Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its Edwardian manor house and situated on a sleepy Devon lane that meanders down to Mortehoe village, the park is an ideal haven for a leisurely holiday. Set in acres of picturesque woodland, you can easily walk down to the beach through the beautiful countryside or you'll find loads of fun facilities on the Park for all ages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twitchen House Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Twitchen Holiday Park Woolacombe
Twitchen House Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing